We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My family and I found Cedar Beach Resort to be a great family getaway. As other reviewers have mentioned, the camp sites and cabins are all very close together, but we spent the whole day at the pool and lake anyway. I appreciate that the very friendly managers were strict about the rules as it made the close proximity tolerable. While many of the facilities could use a little fixing-up, the pool and hot tub are very well maintained. We had a wonderful week here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

Cabin # 1 rocks! My family and I have been going to this resort for several years and we appreciate the consistency in cleanliness, friendliness, safety and fun that this resort has to offer. We usually rent one of the cabins but this year noticed that cabin #1 had been renovated so we requested it. Renovated isn't the right word...rebuilt from the ground up is more appropriate.It is be-a-u-ti-ful! The owners added an extra bedroom and an extra bathroom so we had a luxurious stay. This cabin is right in front of the lake and has an unobstructed view from the dock all the way to the pool area. Lots of extras like a great shower/tub, new fridge and stove and the sink in the island is amazing. I wish my house looked like this cabin! Worth every penny. If you're booking this cabin ask the Managers of the resort for cabin #1's website (has loads of pictures of the cabin and some info on the resort/island too). Also contrary to what some have said, the Managers of the resort are wonderful. They are helpful, they keep the place spic and span and they gently keep the rules that ensure everyone is respected and respectful. Remember...the resort is a wonderful family resort...kids love this place and this place was made for frolicking kids and happy parents enjoying their wine, the fishing and a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blink09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We just came back from a few days at this resort and at first I was a bit apprehensive after reading a lot of the reviews that spoke of maniacal rules and such.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that no rules were given to us and there were signs to said that dogs are not allowed on the beach. Fair enough.

The cabin we stayed at was just unbelievable. It was recently renovated and was as cute as a button. There was just enough room for 5 adults to stay in without feeling overly cramped. Absolutely everything you could need (and more!) was found in the cabin along with personal artistic touches from the owners.

Our cabin has a view of the lake and was literally a 1 minute walk to the water.

We borrowed a row boat two days in a row and had no problems at all. We even borrowed the row boat after we had checked out and they allowed it to us, and we even spent a few extra hours at the hot tub and pool.

We were able to stay up past 11pm chatting quietly (no music) without anyone coming around to order us to sleep.

The caretakers were polite and accommodated us for our needs and granted us late checkout.

Beautiful scenery and amazing new pool and hot tub. I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHawaii8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My family and I have been staying at this resort for a few years now, and we find it relaxing and very family oriented. The lake is warm and great for kids, either for swimming or doing some fishing. Canoes are available, and there are no motors allowed on the lake so it is calm and peaceful. The facilities have been a bit dated, but each time we come, something else has been upgraded. The pool is fantastic.

Some of the RV sites are a bit crowded/small near the main road, but we stayed down nearest the lake, in Site 23, and it is very large, private and has a view of the lake through the trees. There is even a little patio to sit on. Great. Go for this one if you can as there is nobody else around you.

The cottages are cute and all being upgraded, but they cost more than the RV sites. People are friendly and the managers are helpful and are always trying to make your stay enjoyable. My kids always find other little friends to play with.

The resort is clean, and I especially like the fact that the Managers make sure to keep things clean, quiet and respectful. Quiet time is at 11pm and dogs are to be kept on a leash and not allowed at the beach.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time, in a safe environment, for a reasonable cost on a BC Gulf Island, this is the place. Close to town and yet far enough that you don't get the rowdies. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday by the lake. A great time at a very reasonable cost.
The forested RV areas are cool and the beach/pool/lake get hot so its a nice place for everyone.

Michelle and Steve are great and really act like hosts welcoming guests into their "back 40"! Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmtree_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

After arriving to the island later then planned, we booked a campsite over the phone after seeing a local brochure featuring this "resort". We arrived late, but management greeted us politely and helped us to switch our originally booked campsite (that was abut two feet away from a huge party of campers- and to the road) to a more "secluded' campsite with a little fence around it and a wooden platform for us to set up our tent on. The place looked nice enough, but not ideal for us considering we'd left our son with his grandmother to have a romantic weekend away, and this resort is packed with small children- but that was fine. The problem arose at 2 am when my husband had recently returned from the washroom and was just falling asleep when we were awoken by footsteps RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR TENT! We could hear footsteps circling our tent as it was on a wooden platform and were pretty sure somebody was going to open our tent door. I wasn't sure if it was an animal at first, but it became clear quickly it was a person. We couldn't sleep for a long time after the person walked away because we were too creeped out that somebody had come out of their way to come onto our platform and come into our personal space like that. After reading other reviews we are kind of assuming it was management coming to see if we were talking in our tent, as they may have seen my husband coming from the washroom , but we will never know. All we know is it was very creepy. In the morning, we complained to management and were told it was probably just deer, but we know it was a person, we could see the shadow from inside the tent. To top it off we asked for a late checkout since we had arrived so late and got no sleep, and that was granted, but when we tried to use the pool we were told we couldn't use it because they were about to "douse it with chemicals and scrub it" , even though you'd think they'd have done that in the hours before the pool opened, (it doesn't open until 11 am). Then we asked to use a boat and were told all the boats were taken (when there were six boats sitting on the shore, unused). We just got a feeling that we were no longer wanted there and the fact he told us we only had 10 minutes until it was check-out time after denying us use of all amenities pretty much confirmed that. Overall, we were not satisfied that we dished out fifty dollars to pitch a tent, get creeped out and not get to use any of the amenities that made the place worth staying at in the first place. This place might be great for families with kids, but if you want privacy, forget about it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank irisandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I have a feeling that the first page of reviews were not by actual campers because I agree with the page two campers the most. This place was terrible. No privacy what so ever. It was like a permanent RV park - we were sandwiched between two BC Ferry Workers who left at 4:30 am each morning. The bathrooms were filthy, and I could barely breathe in there - smelled like old paint. The campsites were littered with small garbage as to say they were never cleaned after use. We didn't have a problem with management, except when they came around and has up put out our tealight candle.

You, no matter how much you fluff up a review, CANNOT call this place paradise. Far from. I am sure kids would love it - pools, lake, playground but I don't think many adults could get over the uncleanliness, cramped & privacy lacking environment. Save your money - camp elsewhere.

PS: Then there was the Rooster.... this thing was across the fence and loud from 5 am to dark. It was almost unbearable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grahetti_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights at Cedar Beach Resort on St. Mary's Lake on Salt Spring Island.
We felt like we were in a commercial of your fantasy lakeside 1950's resort with only the sounds of laughing children, water splashing, and birds calling. There were no radios or power boats, no automated anything. The resort offers camping as well as an assortment of cabins. It's small enough that it is easy to meet your neighbors and for your kids to come away with new best friends. The management allows free use of 2 canoes and 2 rowboats complete with life jackets. There is a lovely little beach about 20 yards wide yet it never got crowed. The lake is so clean that residents use it for their drinking water. It's also very warm, as warm as the swimming pool on the resort. All the facilities: pool, hot tub, playground, horse shoe pitch, beach, and dock are small so that it is easy to get to know your neighbors if you so choose. We camped and the grounds and washrooms were very clean as well as spacious.
I would rate this as one of the very top campgrounds I've ever stayed at over my 57 years. We didn't even leave the campground for the first 2 days as there was so much to do and enjoy. Even our fussy teenager met new friends and was very happy to just hang out at this campsite. Oh, fishing is also great on this lake.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet campground yet with lots of activities so you really don't need to leave the campsite to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank doublehiplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
1.5 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Springs Resort
#20 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#9 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
24 reviews
3.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar
#17 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing