We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ladies weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Ladies weekend”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Spent International Women's Day 2014 weekend at Cedar Beach Resort, celebrating with 6 wonderful women! The resort is a real gem, tucked away under a lovely tree canopy, overlooking St. Mary's Lake. Between us, we occupied two adjoining cabins, which were charming and came with well equipped kitchens for our gourmet meals! The resort's hot tub was a great way to finish 2 perfect days. The management was wonderful, helpful and VERY accommodating. I would very much recommend this resort as a great place for couples, families or friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    46
    11
    9
    14
See reviews for
100
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cedar Beach Resort proved to be the perfect wedding spot even in the pouring rain. We first came to the resort in early march to meet with Mark and Mary and we were totally sold on the beauty of the area and the helpfulness of the staff. Mark answered all my questions and was extremely accommodating. He even hooked us up with Matt and Courtney of FAT BABY FOODS who ended up catering our event. Their food is a must while on the island, especially their gluten free perogies! Our guests were able to fill all the cabins and we had full run of the resort. It was a great spot for all ages and everyone was comfortable and content in their own space. Some of the cabins were a little more posh than other but the older ones offered a rustic and cozy atmosphere. We were also encouraged to use the canoe and boats that were at the dock. We did take them out once but the rain made outdoor activities a little scarce. Regardless, we weren't phased by the rain and instead took in the beauty of the vibrant greenery, fog tipped mountains and glistening lake. It was like a magical paradise where rainbows and sunshine randomly shone from behind the clouds. Originally we wanted the wedding outside so we could have the beautiful backdrop but then we changed to the beach house in front of the old stone fireplace. We lined the mantle with candles and family photos and it ended up looking perfect. The sun even made an appearance after the ceremony making the dock and beach great photo spots. We were able to fit all our guests inside the beach house comfortably but i wouldn't suggest a wedding bigger than 60 guests. Overall we couldn't not have been happier with everything at Cedar Beach Resort and we plan on coming back year after year. A very special thanks to Mark and Mary and their wonderful staff for making our dream wedding come true!

Room Tip: We really loved Cabin 3, it was a updated and cute one bedroom cabin with all the right amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed here for a week for the last four years. This is by far the greatest little resort if you like rustic cabins. Think log cabins, spiders, bugs and sand on your feet. Takes me back to my youth. If you want modern go look elsewhere these are old school log cabins. the lake is amazing, the managers are some of the nicest people you can meet, the other guests are great. There are always kids playing and swimming here so my son just loves it. The pool and hot tub are a great way to end the day also. The cabins are a bit more expensive than some of the other resorts but you do get a hot tub at this one and I love the cabins so it doesn't bother me.

Best place on Salt Spring in my books

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary_Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had decided to have my wedding at the same place we went to last year. The camp manager was very accommodating and lucky for us, there is a caterer and a photographer on site. So, the good; Mark is very helpful and friendly, photographer good, caterer very helpful, honest and friendly. They keep to the 11pm rule almost to the tee. First night with our big group and the manager was at our site at precisely 1101 telling us to keep it down. We did and all went well. Showers are clean and so is the bathroom. Camper sites are nice and large.
The bad; spiders everywhere, we had used the beach house for our wedding and were surprised to see webs and spiders all over the place and I mean everywhere! I had someone from our group go down and sweep the place before the wedding. My sister in law rented a cabin there and her cabin was full of webs, spiders were coming out of the sink and the windows were dirty. Our cabin was not too bad. Water was not potable and it stank. Having a shower in stinky water is not fun nor not being able to drink it or use it for cooking.
Its still a lovely location to stay, but it sorely needs some maintenance done on it.

Room Tip: dont rent cabin above pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cedar Beach cabins generally aren't fancy - it's fairly rustic, but the atmosphere is wonderful. The managers are great, very helpful and friendly. The pool is clean, the lake is absolutely beautiful, and guests do really quiet down in late evening, even on busy weekends in the summer. Great place for families, or a quiet mid-week retreat. This was our second stay here and we'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

we loved it here. The owners are so helpful and friendly. They were so accommodating. The sites are well kept. The wifi works. The lake is clean and warm. The hottub is actually hot. The sunsets are beautiful. The bathrooms clean. Glamping or camping - both happen here. The quiet time rules are for real. The family atmosphere is good for families and couples like us celebrating our 20th. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyandm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Do you remember the TV commercial where the man says, “I liked the product so much that I bought the company.”  We stayed at Cedar Beach Resort for two nights during the summer of 2011, followed by two more days in November.  We liked liked it so much that a month later we bought the cabin that we stayed in.

During 2012 we slept at the cabin 75 nights.  We are tracking at 80 nights this year.  I guess we think pretty highly of this place.

Sure it’s rustic, Sure it needs some TLC.  But, if you want a lovely spot by St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, including a safe, sandy beach, with free use of paddle boats, canoes, and row boats, come to Cedar Beach Resort (CBR).  CBR is one of the few family oriented resorts with a sandy beach access (reserved for registered guests only).  I believe it is the only resort on the lake with a swimming pool and a hot tub (everyone likes that).  

It also offers use of a Beach House with a large deck, overlooking the lake (often with beautiful sunsets).  Did I mention rustic?  If you are looking for a five star hotel, don’t bother.  If you are looking for a family oriented, fun in the sun vacation by the lake, here it is.

If you do not like rustic, spend few dollars more and rent one of the new or renovated cabins (that’s what we did).

Salt Spring Island has just about everything you will need or ever want (no IKEA, no Costco) (lots of things to do and see, fresh food and great eats galore). Hey, you will have to Google it to find out how great this island is.  Oh well, there goes the secret.

I almost forgot to mention that the office also doubles as a little shop. Licorice, marshmallows, bottled water, soft drinks and juices, coffee and even lattes for the older folks. Wood. Fresh made muffins and cookies, etc.

By the way, there is nothing in it for me to write this for the TRIP ADVISOR.  We come here too often to rent ours out.  I just wanted you to know how much this guy and his wife like this place.

Because we are here so often, we have observed, first hand, how much goes in to managing a resort like this.  The managers, Mark and Mary, and their staff do everything they can to make your time here as enjoyable as possible.  And their dog Roscoe, will welcome you too.

One last time, if you are looking for a pleasant time at a family oriented resort, come to Cedar Beach Resort.  With all due respect, if you are looking to make a lot of noise, partying well into the night, please go somewhere else.

Well, it’s time for my afternoon siesta.

P.S. If you like lots of peace and quiet, come in the off season, that’s our favourite time. The beautiful lake and trees are still here, and almost all of the cabins have wood burning fire places or boxes. Hey, and the rates are reduced.

Room Tip: Some cabins are nicer than others. Don't be shy. Some cabins are better protected from the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJCABIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#3 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#13 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Property: Cedar Beach Resort
Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing