We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful locale, great services, rustic lodgings”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful locale, great services, rustic lodgings”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location of these wooden cabins on St. Mary's lake is spectacular for sure. The amenities here are also plentiful, including free boat rental, pool and hot tub and the lovely warm lake itself. The lodging we had (cabin 12) was rustic at best, and somewhat dirty at worst. We did note that several other cabins appeared newer and bigger and we will try them out next time.

Room Tip: Go for the larger more modern cabins if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank room101studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    48
    11
    9
    15
See reviews for
104
30
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bragg Creek
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Ok. I was hesitant to stay hear after reading some of the old reviews. Mark was great, the site is quiet and safe for families. The lake was open when we were there. Overall, I would recommend this site. The RV sites were trees and more spacious than most. The showers are dated but clean with lots of hot water. Things to improve? The RV sites need more thorough cleaning between visitors we had an old kids sock and other junk left on ours. The beach house needs some investment, in equipment. Also for dog owners, you cannot take your dog either on the beach, which I think is fair enough, or in the lake anywhere AT ALL, which is a major pain. I'd visit this site again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I must admit that I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews. Wow I'm glad that I was not deterred. Firstly, let me say that the resort is located on a beautiful piece of property with old growth trees and the beautiful lake provides amazing views all day long.

Secondly, Mark and Mary, the onsite property managers could not have been nicer or more helpful, telling us all about salt spring and the fun things to do while we were here. From what I saw, they ran the place incredibly well considering all the people there and amount of work it would take to manage a resort of this size.

Also, who knew, but there is a food cart on site that provides amazing food. We each had a homemade burger from the cart and it was the best burger I have ever had! The owner makes them from scratch and it was amazing. Next time We will definitely pack less food now that we know there is great food on site!

Also, I have to say based on reading some of the negative reviews that:

$5 dollars for a box of wood is a great deal considering the price of wood
The resort is a family oriented place, and if you follow some pretty basic rules then there is no need the managers to take any action. We did see a group who were super rowdy and drunk for 3 days straight not respecting the rules of the resort and they were dealt with appropriately.

Bottom line, we loved this place, and will be back next month.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wawwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Camped here for 4 days. Did not stay in the cabins (some looked nice and new, some looked old). Did not go inside.

Positives
1. Salt Spring Island is fantastic.
2. Plenty of open spots as it was mainly empty while we were there for 5 days.
3. Hot showers - free
4. Pool/hot tub.
5. St. Mary Lake is nice and there were two bald eagles we saw on a frequent basis.
6. Great cycling around the island.



Negatives
1. Water is not drinkable. Something about mold in the water being hepatotoxic. Their website advertises "Full hook-up (water, hydro, and sewer)". Camping here without fresh water is not acceptable. They need to put this on their website.

2. Can't swim in the lake. Same as above. A local told me development around the lake has caused significant pollution problems in the lake. Again, something that should be on the website.

3. Club house needs renovation. Was probably nice when it was built, but doesn't appear to have been renovated since. The club house has a musty/mold smell to it.

4. Sewer problems. A toilet in the main bathroom backed up on the second day we were there and waste covered the bathroom floor for 3 days without being cleaned. About 1/2 of the sinks don't drain properly, so I'm guessing this is a sewer problem.

Summary
- They do not appear invest much of their profit into maintaining their facilities. Do not camp here. Go over the San Juan island to Lakedale resort to see how a camping facility should be run, besides it's 25% cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend 2012 in our RV. What a fantastic little spot! A diamond in the rough amongst tall cedar trees. Great resort with a few cabins right on the lake and a great beach house with pool table and pingpong and space to relax. Year round hottub was a bonus! Mark and Mary the managers couldn't have been anymore accommodating. Free use of the boats, free showers, and heated washrooms was yet another bonus! And very clean! A box of firewood comes with kindling, paper for only $5...steal of a deal! I wouldnt believe other ungrateful campers and their shady comments! See for yourself! :) Can't wait to go back for some winter camping, and am definitely booked for next summer with the whole family!! Thanks again Mark and Mary....see you soon!! J & B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hi, we can't imagine a better time for us and our 2 children age 13 and 7, they spent most of their days in the pool, or on the lake, beautiful setting and safe. We all made teriffic friendships which will continue on for years to come!

Our mom (granny) rented a cabin, we stayed in our motorhome, it was a great opportunity to have family time with granny, while having our own spaces. The kids would run off to granny's cabin for special times and of course treats!

Having a have an open fire in the designated pit was a big bonus, we have many marshmellow memories! In the mornings people were respectful of each others spaces and quite time, the smell of cooking breakfasts filled the air. The nights were very quiet and we slept wonderfuly.

Great location with Ganges close by (good restaurants, grocery shopping, shopping etc), there is even a city bus close by.

The management were very gracious and kind!

This is a place for people who are friendly and looking for fun and relaxation.

We had such a good time we booked for the same time next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We like to camp close to our home in Victoria for the last week in August before school starts and have had so many unsatisfactory camping experiences for this week over the years. Until now. Cedar Beach Resort is an absolutely awesome place to camp for families. Yes families. There are kids everywhere (exactly what we've been looking for). We camped with 2 other friends and a total of 4 kids. There is so much for the kids to do and everything is in close proximity to the campsite.

The resort is not fancy but clean and really well thought out. Down at the beach there are lots of chairs and tables so you don't have to lug your entire campsite with you to spend a day there. There is an on-the-lake patio attached to the beach house complete with tables and chairs - perfect place to feed the kids lunch. The beach, pool, hot tub, dock, and boats provided our kids with an endless array of things to do. We met a lot of other families who were there for the first time as well and we are all coming back next year. A bunch of us are aiming to book the same week so it should be a big reunion.

The staff was absolutely amazing. Judy, Mark, and Mary made us feel so welcome (even though one of our group changed her reservation and campsite about 12 times). They were so friendly and helpful and always around if we needed anything. Unlike in other reviews, I liked that they were around in their golf carts. In no way did we find that they were militantly enforcing rules. Our kids roamed freely - laughing and playing without anyone chastising them for being too noisy. And they were noisy. Kids are. Especially when they're excited. The pool was a gong show - cannonballs, swan dives, races, snacks, hot tub warm-ups. And not one person told them to simmer down. They were free to play and they loved every minute of it.

As for the fire - I made a fire every morning around 7:30 and every night. Not once was I asked to extinguish it - even on the night that one of our friends arrived late and the adults were up late. By the time you get through the marshmallows, s'mores, popcorn, songs and teeth brushing it is always at least 10pm, after which the adults need a couple of hours to themselves. And we always had that time to ourselves without anyone bothering us. On the nights that we went to bed early and others didn't - no big deal. Nothing wrong with the sound of campfire conversation and laughter.

I would recommend Cedar Beach to any family. The kids made friends fast and were safe and happy. We had a fabulous time and will be back next August and every August after. A giant shoutout to the staff - they really made our stay memorable and are a huge part of the reason why we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#5 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
11 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Springs Resort
#16 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Property: Cedar Beach Resort
Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing