We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little resort on Salt Spring Island”
Review of Cedar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend 2012 in our RV. What a fantastic little spot! A diamond in the rough amongst tall cedar trees. Great resort with a few cabins right on the lake and a great beach house with pool table and pingpong and space to relax. Year round hottub was a bonus! Mark and Mary the managers couldn't have been anymore accommodating. Free use of the boats, free showers, and heated washrooms was yet another bonus! And very clean! A box of firewood comes with kindling, paper for only $5...steal of a deal! I wouldnt believe other ungrateful campers and their shady comments! See for yourself! :) Can't wait to go back for some winter camping, and am definitely booked for next summer with the whole family!! Thanks again Mark and Mary....see you soon!! J & B

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hi, we can't imagine a better time for us and our 2 children age 13 and 7, they spent most of their days in the pool, or on the lake, beautiful setting and safe. We all made teriffic friendships which will continue on for years to come!

Our mom (granny) rented a cabin, we stayed in our motorhome, it was a great opportunity to have family time with granny, while having our own spaces. The kids would run off to granny's cabin for special times and of course treats!

Having a have an open fire in the designated pit was a big bonus, we have many marshmellow memories! In the mornings people were respectful of each others spaces and quite time, the smell of cooking breakfasts filled the air. The nights were very quiet and we slept wonderfuly.

Great location with Ganges close by (good restaurants, grocery shopping, shopping etc), there is even a city bus close by.

The management were very gracious and kind!

This is a place for people who are friendly and looking for fun and relaxation.

We had such a good time we booked for the same time next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We like to camp close to our home in Victoria for the last week in August before school starts and have had so many unsatisfactory camping experiences for this week over the years. Until now. Cedar Beach Resort is an absolutely awesome place to camp for families. Yes families. There are kids everywhere (exactly what we've been looking for). We camped with 2 other friends and a total of 4 kids. There is so much for the kids to do and everything is in close proximity to the campsite.

The resort is not fancy but clean and really well thought out. Down at the beach there are lots of chairs and tables so you don't have to lug your entire campsite with you to spend a day there. There is an on-the-lake patio attached to the beach house complete with tables and chairs - perfect place to feed the kids lunch. The beach, pool, hot tub, dock, and boats provided our kids with an endless array of things to do. We met a lot of other families who were there for the first time as well and we are all coming back next year. A bunch of us are aiming to book the same week so it should be a big reunion.

The staff was absolutely amazing. Judy, Mark, and Mary made us feel so welcome (even though one of our group changed her reservation and campsite about 12 times). They were so friendly and helpful and always around if we needed anything. Unlike in other reviews, I liked that they were around in their golf carts. In no way did we find that they were militantly enforcing rules. Our kids roamed freely - laughing and playing without anyone chastising them for being too noisy. And they were noisy. Kids are. Especially when they're excited. The pool was a gong show - cannonballs, swan dives, races, snacks, hot tub warm-ups. And not one person told them to simmer down. They were free to play and they loved every minute of it.

As for the fire - I made a fire every morning around 7:30 and every night. Not once was I asked to extinguish it - even on the night that one of our friends arrived late and the adults were up late. By the time you get through the marshmallows, s'mores, popcorn, songs and teeth brushing it is always at least 10pm, after which the adults need a couple of hours to themselves. And we always had that time to ourselves without anyone bothering us. On the nights that we went to bed early and others didn't - no big deal. Nothing wrong with the sound of campfire conversation and laughter.

I would recommend Cedar Beach to any family. The kids made friends fast and were safe and happy. We had a fabulous time and will be back next August and every August after. A giant shoutout to the staff - they really made our stay memorable and are a huge part of the reason why we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently stayed here in cabin 11 with my wife and two daughters aged 8 and 5. Cabin 11 is a two bedroom that is one of the closest cabins to the lovely little sand beach and pool area. The cabin was very rustic old school style, wood inside and out with small deck, small kitchen, small living and dining room area and small bathroom. This is a real cabin/cottage that was small and not luxurious by any means but clean and well equipped, but no TV, which was nice. Beds were comfy and the kids play area, small beach, pool and hottub were great and at our doorstep. The kids loved it! The beach house on the edge of the lake was also fantastic with ping pong, pool table, tvs and lots of chairs, sofas and loungers and nice big deck on the water. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked the more luxurious and near new two bedroom cabin 1 for next summer. The resort is also within 5 minutes of downtown Ganges which has many excellent restaurants, stores and other services. Great family lake getaway destination! The lake is absolutely sublime as well -- no motor boats permitted, calm warm water, good fishing and great vistas! Wow! Cabins 1 and 6 are both the newest and most luxurious units. At $160 a night for our cabin and about $200 a night for the newer bigger and more luxurious cabins in this location, I consider to be excellent value.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 and 6 are newest, biggest and nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyluvsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been renting 3 to 4 cabins every summer at this resort for several years. We can't say enough good things about the location, the cabins and the current management and staff. Management went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and that everyone had a great time. Great family friendly place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

we went there for a family reunion in aug and the water in the lake was wonderful, the campsite for our trailer was adequately spaced and the bathroom was clean and so was the shower. I had absolutely no problems with the management, they were helpful, friendly and had a great sense of humor. We did have to pay for the kayaks and paddle boats but brought our own firewood. The cabin that one of the family members stayed at was not comfortable for them but the other cabins were wonderful. suggestions are to have a ladder on the raft in the lake, couldnt climb up that thing to save my life and some rope for climbing into the paddle boat not easy to do if youre in the middle of the lake. other than that, the kids loved the lake house, (need more ping pong balls and paddles) and we loved the group campfire. thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: you do have to pay for fire wood but everyplace charges, bring your own and you do have to pay for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ok I have read the recent reviews on Cedar Beach Resort, and to be fair I have never stayed in a cabin there, but my family and I have camped in the campground on the August long weekend for the last 5 years, this year included. We had an amazing time, again this year, we caught and released a few fish from the dock, spent tons of time at the beach and in the water. We took advantage of all of their free services, including the canoes you can sign out for free and the free BBQ with propane at the gazebo. I did not see the management staff patrolling in a heavy handed manner or anything like that, they appeared very friendly and helpful to me, they even have free hotdog sticks you can borrow from the office!!

Anyway, I didn't see any of the problems that other people have written about, maybe it is different staying in the cabins or maybe they just had different expectations, but as far as "camping" goes this is very easy with free hot showers, a swimming pool, a hottub and even free wifi!!!

We will return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
1.5 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt Spring Island
Green Acres Lakeside Resort Salt...
#5 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Fulford Harbour
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Beach Resort

Address: 1136 North End Rd, British Columbia V8K 1M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Beach Resort is located on beautiful St. Mary Lake on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. At our 5 acre resort, we have 17 cabins and suites as well as 23 fully serviced RV and camping sites. We have our own private, sandy beach right on the lake. Our heated, outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September) and hot tub (open year round) offer fabulous lake views. The adjoining Beach House offers indoor and outdoor recreation space for our guests' enjoyment and is also suited for large group gatherings. An outdoor barbecue, bonfire and lakefront picnic tables are very popular features. The Resort offers an exceptional venue for family reunions, friends gatherings, and small group weddings. All of our cabins and suites are fully furnished, with cooking facilities. Some units offer such up to date amenities as televisions with cable or DVD players and propane BBQ's while others retain the feel of a rustic cabin in the forest without all the urban elements. We have a men's and a ladies' washrooms in the RV / campground area with complimentary hot showers. A fully equipped handicap washroom adjoins the main washrooms. All of our sites have water, sewer, and power (30 amp service). As a family oriented resort, you can enjoy the frivolity during the day and the peacefulness of the night. We are OPEN year round,come and enjoy the Island during the off seasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Beach Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing