We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bake Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jana's Bake Shop

Jana's Bake Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specializing in handmade pies and cakes made to order. Visit our kitchen and taste our daily offerings. Jana's is a small batch bakery BIG on QUALITY!
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Bake Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Jana bakes delicious treats in her sweet bake shop. Her gluten free carrot muffins are a favourite for us. We recently had a Tourtiere Pie for Christmas Eve & it was so delicious! Her baking is amazing!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small bakery, big taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This tiny bakery may not have a lot of seating, it may be tucked away off from the main road, but man, it is just the best!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinersloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcr2015, Owner at Jana's Bake Shop, responded to this review, March 29, 2015
We will soon have seating. Check us out by mid April. Thank you for finding us. Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jana's Bake Shop Rises to any occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

When you enter Jana's Bake Shop you can tell by her warm, soulful smile that her baking will taste the same.
Happiness for all the senses can be found in this lovely little bake shop on Salt Spring Island.
The aromas are intoxicating and I witness the pies in the oven baking to bubbly perfection!
Jana's peach and apple pie is just sweet enough, with a hint of ginger and the lattice crust makes it so appealing.
Often, we order up a freshly made pie and invite our friends over a slice. Everyone loves the idea and the pies bring back memories that we share.
Can hardly wait to bite into another warm and toasty delight from Jana's Bake Shop.
In gratitude for this fine food.......

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcr2015, Owner at Jana's Bake Shop, responded to this review, March 29, 2015
Thank you Sam. I hope you are well. Visit again soon. Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best baked treats you can find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Jana has that certain something when preparing foods. All her goodies are of the best ingredients and are reliably satisfying.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheribee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcr2015, Owner at Jana's Bake Shop, responded to this review, March 29, 2015
We rely on the care and ingredients we use to please our customers. Seems like it's working.
Thank you, Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Baked goods beyond compare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Jana's delights are homemade , delicious baked goods that you will have a hard time finding anywhere, including your mother's kitchen! You can not find pastry better than hers. Cookies, cakes, pies or scrumptious meat filled pastries and chicken pot pies are beyond compare. Treat yourself here.....
This is a bakery. Eat your special treat outside as you gaze at Ganges Harbour. Life is Good...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jovan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmcr2015, Owner at Jana's Bake Shop, responded to this review, March 29, 2015
We do have a wonderful Harbour view at Jana's. So glad you have enjoyed your visit. Jana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jana's Bake Shop also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Jana's Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing