We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than Pub Food”
Review of Moby's Pub

Moby's Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Moby's Pub is a great place for gathering with friends! Enjoy the stellar harbour views, catch the big game, celebrate an event, or dance to your favourite band! Moby's Pub is perfect for any day!
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“More than Pub Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The last time my wife and I visited this pub we were with a large group and had a great time with typical pub fare. A recent visit to Ganges harbour found us stranded on our boat due to high winds and we revisited the pub for dinner. In addition to the regular menu we were also presented with a daily menu with some interesting features. For starters, to die for pork riblets which melted off the bone and a very interesting and tasty spicy tuna bites topped with shredded nori roll. I can't resist a good fish & chips and my halibut was firm and tasty. Saltspring after New Years is perfect, not busy, not touristy and you're sure to have attentive service, which we did. That said, Moby's had a good crowd in for dinner. We would definitely return. Also, there is new management, they were in attendance, talking to the diners, always a nice touch!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Well, any time you are stranded we are certainly happy to have you... I am appreciative of your kind words and will pass them along to the kitchen and other staff who are helping us create this great little pub. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    118
    38
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peachland, Bc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went with large group ( 24 people )”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Perfect location to open up and have a lot of fun with a large (or small) group. Better than average food. Everyone in our group was happy with their meals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the review... I agree, we are a great location for groups as we can handle the food as well as the drinks and entertainment as well. Glad you had a great time. See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

the food was good, friendly staff. Menu was limited....where's the meat & potatoes, bangers & mash. Little bit pricey, nice view on the water

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have a new chef who is really helping us with the "meat &potatoes". Currently we have added a brisket beef dip with a horseradish aioli which is quickly becoming the most ordered item for lunch. We have also added an 18 hour Brisket dinner which is also getting rave reviews. I know we are experimenting with bangers & mash so possibly that will make the menu or feature sheet soon. The newest menu is due out this Tuesday, so there should be many new options for your next visit. Let us know how we're doing when you come back - we like to know. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

There were four of us on a fact finding trip about family heritage. Went to Moby's the first night and ordered fish and chips. We were quite surprised with the quality. The batter was light and the fish was superb. Fresh cut chips (rare these days) which were great. It was a trivia night, so we joined in, everyone was so friendly and we had so much fun. The waitress and the owner were attentive without being overbearing, making sure that everything was good. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next evening and had equally as good food. We shared a chocolate torte as we were quite full. Excellent!! I would highly recommend Moby's, the staff, the food and the view!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I remember you! Thanks so much for the review. I'm really glad you liked the fish n' chips - we really like them as well. Glad you had a great time and we could always use another team for Trivia Night , so come back soon! I'll pass your kind words on to the staff in the kitchen who really deserve so much of the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff,great view”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner on our first night on Salt Spring as if was across from our hotel. Our waitress was so friendly, she really made our visit memorable. We both had the blue cheese burger, it was good but i found the cheese overpowering. The bar is very nice, lovely view of the marina. Prices were comparable to other pubs i have been too. Our second night we planned on going somewhere else for dinner but ended back at Moby's. Again we had exceptional service. I had the Moby salad which was very tasty. Loved the dressing. My partner had fish and chips. Batter was light. Tartar sauce was delicious. We finished the meal with banana cheesecake in a churro. Decident and delish! Would recommend this pub to anyone visiting SSI.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, Owner at Moby's Pub, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate that you care enough to let us know how we are doing. I'm glad you enjoyed your visits and very glad you liked the food & service... The staff have made a big difference for us as we head into the slower months of the year. Friendly personable people are important in this industry and we are fortunate to have several. The banana cheesecake churro is a local favourite; I love it too.
Come see us again on your next visit to Salt Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby's Pub also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Moby's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing