We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Adventure Drive for Unbeliveable Views”

Mount Maxwell Provincial Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Adventure Drive for Unbeliveable Views”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been going to this park at least annually for years and always go back. It really is the quiet backwoods where eagles soar and the only noise is an occasional airplane. The adventure is getting there on 9 kilometers of road from the main road, about half paved and the last half gravel but often with significant potholes. They tell you not to try this with trailer in tow or in an RV but it is certainly doable in a regular sedan car. It is single lane in many places but no one is going fast and there are places to pull over. Once you are at the top there is a nice parking lot and clean pit toilet. The view is great and all fenced in to keep kids and dogs from going over the edge. some good climbing trees (oops are you allowed to do this now in provincial park). Just sit and look out over the islands and watch small boats like toys below and we saw four eagles the day we were there. Great place to take a picnic to and don't hurry the trip and the view are both the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliveMacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    68
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Hiking”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Explore the trails here often, very easy walking most places. Have gotten off-trail a few times and the brambles have been a bit of an issue. Scenery is amazing and the air is clean.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wayouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best view ever”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you want to feel like an eagle, that is the place. Hiking in the forest and on top of the world, what else can i say (don't forget your camera) and on a foggy day it is the place to go as you'll be above the fog looking at an ocean of clouds! Unforgettable!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Impossible to get to”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have a sports car and were told it would be perfectly fine to go up to this mountain. Turns out it is a rugged logging road straight up with mudslides, massive potholes and rivers running through it. My wife was so scared and stressed. We turned around half way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_Duizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“scary drive up but worth the view!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the road up is muddy and you almost need a 4x4 but the view is amazing at the top. a MUST do. HIking trails all around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Tarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Maxwell Provincial Park also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Mount Maxwell Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing