We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice clean older cabin.”
other traveler has booked this property
Daffodil Cove Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Daffodil Cove Cottage
On the trail to the oceanfront Loft in Daffodil Cove Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Daffodil Cove Cottage
On the trail to the oceanfront
Loft in Daffodil Cove Cottage
Dining area, Daffodil Cove Cottage
Living Room, Daffodil Cove Cottage
Marine traffic
Ocean deck
Daffodils at shore
Deer on trail to shore
Forest setting
Sunset at the cottage
Guests arriving by kayak at low tide
Deer don't eat foxgloves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Companion...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean older cabin.”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a wonderful weekend in a great little cabin. No smoking or pets made it a great allergy free environment. The view of the ocean is amazing and the hosts are very nice people! Great library in the cabin too! I would highly recommend this as a weekend get-away
Steve

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Thank you for your nice comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne S
1 review
“A perfect, peaceful spot for our family to stay on the island!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was a great place to stay with our kids and grand kids. Our grand daughter loved to pick the blackberries from the deck! We also enjoyed the beautiful scenic area around the cottage as well as a number of beautiful hikes and kayaking in the area. We'd definitely love to come again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Thank you for your nice comments - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlenam...
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Living the Dream”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

You can't beat the Boathouse or its owners. Sabine and Harold are lovely hosts! The Boathouse has everything you need for a relaxing stay and views that are to die for. Ganges is easily accessible by car, but stock up on goodies before arrival, because you may not want to leave once you step on to the property!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turvis
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a quiet little cabin!”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from 5 days at Daffodil Cove Cottage. It's a lovely spot. Feels like you are at the end of the road have a beautiful view of the ocean and surrounding area. Windows all around give you a view no matter where you are and you can just sit with a book (or binge watch the last season of Downton Abby) and always look out at the beautiful view. Cottage has everything you need. We did a nice long hike down along the shore and saw seals, otters and eagles. Had some other hikes on the island and also did a whale watching tour and saw humpback and orca's and then returned to our quiet little hide away! Thanks Daffodil for a great stay....

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you for your nice comments! Lucky you to see humpbacks. Occasionally guests at our ocean cabin the Boathouse see orcas from the deck. A couple of weeks ago a pod came right up to the cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
283lesc
New Westminster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rustic. quiet, great views.”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed there with a friend over Christmas break. Had quite an enjoyable and relaxing time. Appreciated the modern amenities such as Wi-Fi and cable TV. The sulphurous smelling water is a bit offputting, so I recommend that you bring bottled water to drink and cook with. There's no paper towel, so I recommend that you bring your own cloth napkins to use. Kitchen supplies are very limited.

Salt Spring Island is on your doorstep, 20 minutes to Ganges which is very convenient. My only feedback is that the some of the furniture in the kitchen is quite well used, and should be replaced. I plan to return again soon.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you for your comments, feedback is very much appreciated. We don't supply paper towels as we are not permitted to put used ones in the garbage on this island and there is no green-bin program. Instead we supply you with cloth equivalents that will be re-washed. The troubling kitchen chairs have been repaired, thank you for letting us know about the problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MistChase...
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Daffodil Cove Cottage Was Taken, but the Boathouse is For Rent and is Delightful!”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had checked into staying at Daffodil Cove Cottage on Salt Springs Island in British Columbia, Canada, but it was already booked. But the owners also have a boathouse they've converted into a small, cozy and rustic magical place to stay right at the edge of the water. The deck is an awesome place to sip on a glass of wine while watching the sunset and the seals in the water. The Boathouse is small with only a dorm size refrigerator and a cook top - no oven. It is warmed by a wood burning stove (something we never needed). All I can think of to really describe the simplicity and beauty of this place is "magical"! Harold and Sabine were awesome owners who were fascinating to listen to. Beware of the deer though. A doe went onto our deck and we gave her full rights to it until she decided to move on! Magical, beautiful, relaxing, unforgettable . . . .

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The views, the comfortable bed, the solitude.
Liked least: Not a really easy walk down to the Boathouse.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
Thank you for your nice words and the story about the deer; we are very fond of them. The Boathouse does have baseboard heating as well as the glass-front woodstove.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TammyandJ...
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super private with amazing ocean view”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the boathouse for 4 nights. It is a perfect size for a couple with a bachelor suite type layout. The ocean view is spectacular. There is cable and wifi. It is on the rustic side but perfectly functional with a kitchen that has everything you need except for an oven. There is a bbq on the deck. If you are looking for a secluded and relaxing vacation right on the ocean, this is the place.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Thank you! We love it when folks enjoy our special little cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing