We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Always a treat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Spring Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sky Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast
vancouver
1 review
“Wow! Always a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

I have stayed at many B & Bs, some good, some not so good. This B & B is what I always thought one should be. The rooms are private, immaculate and charming. Nice touches include your own bathroom for every room, beautiful decor and comfy beds (the sheets were even pressed!) I have had the pleasure of staying here more than once, and I highly recommend this B & B. And the food? To die for! I've had the blintzes, the eggs benny, the souffles, all amazing. The Master Ivy Suite is so comfortable I didn't even want to come out! I loved the coffee at my door in the morning, and the port bottle in the room!

This is by far and away the best place to stay on SaltSpring!

  • Liked — The hosts, the food, the rooms: everything!
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to complain about!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miabvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

Fabulous accomodations, outstanding hosts, utter tranquility and the best nights sleep I have ever had. Watching the deer graze in the evening was most relaxing. What a wonderful get away.

  • Liked — quality and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take an extra day
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

Sky valley Inn on Salt Spring Island exceeded our expectations. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and beautifully decorated. It overlooked the pool., which was also spotlessly clean. The breakfast was fabulous, a three course homemade feast featuring their prize winning jams and fruits from their garden. The breakfast room overlooks the ocean. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful with information about the island. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — The pool was unheated and a bit chilly, but still refreshing on a hot day.
  • Tips/Secrets — We have stayed at several B and B's on Salt Spring, and this was by far the best!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

As a repeat customer, I was just as impressed as the first time.
The owners are friendly, funny and wonderful hosts
The breakfast is home cooked and creative, hot coffee outside your door in the morning is an unexpected kindness from the owners.
Slept like a baby - its quiet and very comfortable at the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2005

We just had the pleasure of spending two wonderful days (and nights) at this lovely B&B on Salt Spring Island. SSI is all about relaxing in a comfortable island setting and that is what Sky Valley Inn is all about -- Richard and Cornelia are excellent hosts and they truly seem to enjoy making their guests comfortable and based on the other couples we shared the Inn with during our too brief stay(or I should say Richard and Cornelia's home since that's how it felt) they manage to attract an interesting and diverse group of guests -- the breakfasts were excellent, as were the stimulating conversations at brreakfast and during the delighful wine and nibbles we had our second evening.....We had chosen the maginificent Ivy Master room with it's spectacular views of the sea and other islands....an altogether wonderful experience that will stay in our memory bank for quite awhile.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

This is a wonderful Bed and Breakfast at Salt Spring Island. The home is amongst lovely gardens with beautiful views at the breakfast table. The hosts hospitality are warm, generous, and sincere. In addition to the generous gourmet breakfasts, special touches are added - such as coffee/tea served to the room in the morning, wine and appetizers one evening, and a lavendar sachet for the bed.


I have been to many B&Bs and I am happy to rate this one of the best places to stay at the Gulf Islands.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our yearly visit to British
Columbia. We tour Vancouver and Vancouver Island each August
to take advantage of the delightful weather, fresh and delicious
food, and beautiful arts. This year we decided to take the ferry to
Salt Spring Island to tour the artists' studios and attend the
Saturday market. We were not familiar with the island or any of the
accommodations. How lucky we were to have discovered Sky
Valley Inn!
Your first impression as you come down the drive is that you
have arrived somewhere in the South of France. All one's senses
are overwhelmed --the scent of lavender, the view of mountains
and sea, the soft sea breezes rustling through the orchard trees,
the quiet broken only by the chirp of crickets, then wine and hors
d'oeuvres too pretty to eat. When I allowed myself to lie down on
the inviting hammock, I almost missed taking the studio tour. The
serenity is so captivating that you have to be strong to pull yourself
away to all the activities the island offers- kayaking, hiking, sailing,
touring artists' studios, and the Saturday market that is famous
throughout the province. Although the pool and patio acts as a
social gathering place, the inn also offers alternative private sitting
areas in the gardens, on the rear deck, or in front of a stone
fireplace. Views from the deck overlook the coming and going of
the ferry. The inn lends itself to being a perfect spot for a romantic
getaway or making new friends.
Because we were only staying a few days we had reserved the
smallest room. Though small, the room seemed bigger because of
the large windows and abundance of light. The bathroom was
new and roomy with locally made soaps and fresh picked flowers.
There were even fresh homegrown lavender sachets on the down
duvet and linens. A thermos of coffee is placed by the bedroom
door first thing in the morning so you can enjoy your morning
coffee on the deck or sitting by the pool, in anticipation of the
gourmet breakfast to come. As the innkeepers brought in course
after course of tarts made with local yogurt, blintzes with freshly
picked berries, and home baked scones with prize winning
preserves, we enjoyed the conversation around the table in the
bright dining room. The innkeepers' hospitality is topped only by the
two Wheaton terriers that lay happily by your feet at the pool or under
the breakfast table.
Next year we have booked the large suite that has views of both
pool and sea. The hardest decision will be where to sit to enjoy
that first cup of coffee--garden, pool or deck.

Helpful?
1 Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#5 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.6 mi away
Celtic Place Bed and Breakfast
Celtic Place Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Armand Heights Bed and Breakfast
Armand Heights Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
Fulford-Dunderry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Fulford Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.3 mi away
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
Skipping Stone Beach B&B
#4 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sky Valley Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 421 Sky Valley Rd, British Columbia V8K 2C3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet French country retreat, outstanding views, private entrances and ensuites, swimming pool, fireplace, gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing