We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a great few and an amazing room, ask for a deluxe room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbour House Hotel
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“If you want a great few and an amazing room, ask for a deluxe room!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've stayed at the Harbour House 3 times in one of their deluxe rooms. AMAZING view on your private balcony with a gas fireplace. Giant room with lovely bathroom and a HUGE jacuzzi tub. Beds are nice and comfy and the sitting area is cozy.

The restaurant is great...ridiculously delicious food and great service. Not cheap, but not expensive for what you get either.

Perfect place for a romantic getaway. If Saltspring Island wasn't so beautiful, you'd never want to leave the room!

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room. It's more expensive, but it's welllll worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    122
    113
    51
    56
See reviews for
92
207
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our recent stay at Harbour House was short, but very appreciated. It was nice to have a jacuzzi tub in the room. As other people have mentioned, the rooms have dated furniture/tv's/etc, however it did not lack in cleanliness, comfort, or size. Very spacious room and bathroom complete with his and hers sinks.

The restaurant was really the highlight for us. The food was so delicious at both breakfast and dinner. We had two different versions of the eggs benny (traditional and a mexican) with potatoes. For dinner, we ate the seafood pasta which tasted divine. Creamy tomato sauce, large pieces of crab, shrimp, and salmon, along with tasty homemade pasta. Incredible.

We will be back, there's so much more to see on the island. Lots of local artisans and farms. Can't wait!

Room Tip: We opted for the deluxe room and it did not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We hold our company Christmas party at the Harbour House Hotel every year and also stay in their rooms as well. Their staff have always been professional and very helpful. Their restaurant is fabulous and the food first grade. The rooms are a little cramped but you have everything you need. I love the view from the balcony! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My second visit to Harbour House so knew what was getting. They don't have much competition in the lovely little town of Ganges and it shows. It's a great location but for the price, would expect a bit more effort to be made with room. The decor, furniture and facilities are all very tired and cramped. We paid extra for a balcony this time and were really looking forward to sitting out looking at the view but surprised that there were just a couple of cheap, battered plastic chairs out there, very uncomfortable. Also, you're only separated from your neighbour by a low rail so no privacy; wondered why they don't put up a partial divider. Bathroom smelt damp and kitchen smells drifted in through bathroom vent which wasn't too pleasant. All in all, it's fine and very convenient for Ganges, but you just feel that with a bit of effort it could be really great. They're always booked out so guess there isn't a great incentive to make the effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trixie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall, the hotel is outdated and a bit run down although location and view were excellent The food and service at the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. A must do if visiting Saltspring. I would return simply to eat at the restaurant.
Walls between rooms are paper thin - can hear the ppl next door talking so if you are a light sleeper, may want to bring ear plugs.
Day front desk staff not overly friendly and certainly not helpful. The evening staff, on the other hand, were incredibly helpful, outgoing and "smiley".

Room Tip: Best views are the rooms on the second floor, 202, 219 or 220. 219 is quite a large room which woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location is very convenience. We can walk to town. The room is clean and I am very satisfy with their service. The front desk lady, the nighttime waitress at the restaurant is very friendly and helpful! The food is really good! The salad is so fresh and yummy! But the hotel is dated and need renovation!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW7715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came here for the first three days of our Honeymoon in the Gulf Islands. First let's start with the good: the food at the Harbour House Restaurant is amazing. We kept trying to go other places in the little village for our meals but there was always one more thing on the menu here that kept us coming back. Try the Quinoa Pudding for either breakfast or dessert. Trust me, it's not as healthy tasting as it sounds!

As for the hotel. We wanted the largest room we could book with a jet tub in it and a view of the harbor. For whatever reason this put us in an un-remodeled room that was dark, sparse and the air conditioner made a horrible sound. When we asked to have the air unit fixed we found out that being a small island community the repair man only came once a week, we were offered duck tape to try and solve the rattling. Not exactly the luxury we were looking for. They REALLY need to remodel that room and get some better light. It was practically a cave. The shower was wonderful and the little covered porch with gas fireplace was cozy, though. The front desk personnel was very nice (given their limited resources to help) and gave great advice and direction on the islands, transportation and food options. For the money (pricey I thought for what you get) - I think this place was just barely average. Next time we plan to rent a condo or house for half the price.

Room Tip: I think your best bet is to go with something on the upstairs level if you can (more natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelle1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Spring Island
0.1 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#5 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
88 reviews
9.8 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 121 Upper Ganges Rd, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour House Hotel offers year round accommodation on Salt Spring Island. The hotel is located at the head of the Ganges Harbour, overlooking the Marina, just walking distance to the Ganges Village area. Most guestrooms offer harbour views of stunning Gulf Island sunrises with fireplaces, patios or large balconies. Pet friendly; non-smoking environment; free wireless internet & parking. Local activities include hiking, kayaking and whale watching. The Marina is located across the street where bike, scooter and car rentals are also available. The hotel has an Audubon Society 3 GreenLeaf Eco Rating and is a Certified Green Accommodation with the Salt Spring Island Chamber of Commerce. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel, Restaurant And Organic Farm
Harbour House Hotel, Restaurant & Organic Farm Hotel Salt Spring Island
Harbour Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing