We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So expensive, poor service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harlans Chocolates & Gelato

Harlans Chocolates & Gelato
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They've been there since 1980 and are one of the most popular places to visit but for some reason they don't come up in your listings.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So expensive, poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We took the family on a recent trip to the Island and thought this would be a nice place to stop for an ice cream. We overlooked the dirtiness of the place and chose our gelato's, and was amazed that it came to over $25, really? Come on. Owner was obnoxious when i questioned the total.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    20
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The very best chocolate ever ,very tasty ,a beautiful place to visit and enjoy a Gelato! very friendly atmosphere ,always greeted with friendlly staff and owner.
I would recommend this store to everybody who loves quality and delicious treats for everyone or to buy for gifts and enjoy the very best chocolate in the whole world and much more.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chocolate to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Friendly owner, shared unique history of the island (yes, movie stars own homes on Saltspring Island), recommended places to see, things to do, and we had the best Belgian Chocolate Gelato that his wife makes, to die for. Don't miss this little gem on SSI.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank puck45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream & Chocolates in the World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are so lucky to have Harlan's here. Hand made chocolates and gelato; favourite flavour is Salted Caramel and believe me it's to die for; the owners are super nice also!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltspringDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in the whole world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My favourite winter flavour is the salted caramel, in the summer i normally go for the blackberry gelato or the blueberry. I must say that everything about this place speaks of quality and care and the pure love of fine chocolate and the best ice cream i've ever had anywhere. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltspringDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlans Chocolates & Gelato also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Harlans Chocolates & Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing