We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful get-away from the big city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Peaceful get-away from the big city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

My partner and I recently spent a winter weekend at the Quarrystone and it was the tranquil mid-winter escape from the city that we were hoping for.

The guestrooms are located in a building separate from the main house which afforded a real sense of privacy. Our room was large and clean, the king sized bed was firm and comfortable, and the Jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace made it very cozy on a wet winter weekend. The large fenced yard provided a safe place for our dog to run and play and he got along great with the 2 resident dogs, as well as the cat and family of goats which live on the property.

Kelly, the owner, was a great source of information on places to hike and which artist studios to visit . The location is only 5 minutes from the Visuvious Ferry and only a 15 minute drive to the main town of Ganges for shopping and restaurants. Speaking of food, the breakfasts Kelly provided were delicious and included fresh baked pastries and muffins, followed by eggs benny the first morning, and a spinach omelette the second. Everything was fresh and featured mainly locally sourced ingredients. For a great dinner I also highly recommend the Oystercatcher in Ganges.

If you're looking for a quiet weekend get-away from the city, this is a great option and we would definitely recommend Quarrystone and plan to come back ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-NorthVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    4
    9
    2
See reviews for
10
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We spent a ton of time researching places on the island and this place impressed us. We are a couple in our 30s from Ontario and were looking for - and found - a well cared for, beautiful-surroundings space in which to unwind and cosy up, with breakfast included. The room was lovely, bed very comfortable, a great big soaker tub, incredible views from 3 directions. The gas fireplace warmed the room well. They have separated the balcony spaces appropriately so guests won't trip over one another. Breakfast is in the main house - the meals were gourmet, delicious and comprehensive. We were able to consult the owner on all our questions about the island. Met their sweet goats and other easygoing animals. Well organized and a taste of good things. A feeling of being personalized (unlike the bigger hotels etc) but not invasive. The price was very good for the value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LC087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Quarrystone house B&B was the perfect little peace of paradice we could ever hope for! We have never been to Saltspring before and we will come back to Quarrystone when ever we can! The rooms were amazing, they were cozy yet modern and lovely. The breakfast is unique, amazing and will keep you full for the whole day! Thank you Kelly and the whole crue! The horse, goats sunshine, Jack and Charlie made us feel really comfortable like we were on a paridise farm. We will definatley be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed here for just one Sunday night, but it was a great one. Nestled in the North of the island with views over to Vancouver Island one one side and overlooking a sheep farm on the other. On arrival we were upgraded to the Treetops room which was roomy and well maintained. The most remarkable thing about the place though has to be breakfast...fresh based muffins and cinnamon rolls, a platter of fruit that could have fed five people, fresh team and coffee, juice and (just when I thought I couldn't eat anything else) a full cooked breakfast including one of the best omelettes I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blakeonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The price of a night's stay at Quarrystone House creates an expectation of well appointed accommodation competitive with hotel rooms of similar price. Instead, Quarrystone's appointments are a hodge podge of furniture and decorations, some of which appear as though scavenged from the side of a Saltspring Island road.

Privacy is only achieved by drawing all the blinds as the wrap around balcony is in plain view of several main house windows and shared by the Stonecutter's and Treetops rooms. It is up to guests not to cross the invisible line delineating their portion of the balcony.

The bathroom smelled sour and had a very small standing shower. The balcony was littered with debris from the surrounding trees. The view from the balcony is partly spoiled by the Crofton pulp mill.

Climate control is a challenge as the natural gas fireplace or stove depending on room is the only source of heat and the outdoors the only source of cool.

Breakfast was good though the bacon would have benefited from being fried in a clean pan.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

My wife and I stay there for our fifth time in three years. We personaly thing it gets better each time! Stay Here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselleHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The best B&B to stay in on salt spring, We came for 5 nights from calgary and have never been to salt spring before. The food was amazing we didn't eat till dinner and the rooms were super clean! We brought our twelve year old twins who also had a fantastic! Thank you so much for running such a great place, well be back for sure! Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica-temple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
6.1 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#8 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
6.4 mi away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#5 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1340 Sunset Dr, British Columbia V8K 1E2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quarrystone House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing