We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and delicious Breakfast . Gracious hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wisteria Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Grand and delicious Breakfast . Gracious hospitality”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have never had a better breakfast at any B&B. Beverly is a professional chef. The herbal and fruit accents perfectly complimented the varied egg dishes served each morning. I agree with other reviewers who have raved about this B&B.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YaletownTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was our first visit to Salt Spring Island and we found this B&B in a perfect location within walking distance (8 min) to Ganges, a small village with shops, restaurants, live music, market etc. The B&B used to be a nursing home and has been transformed into a very comfortable place with modern bathrooms and extremely comfortable beds. We were treated to wonderful breakfasts every morning by our gracious hosts Beverly & Len. Each time it was a joy to experience Beverly's unique recipes and taste the many healthy and tasty products this island has to offer! We were glad we stayed 4 nights and do many fun things, then coming back to this relaxing place and enjoy the beautiful garden and watch the hummingbirds. We met one couple who were there for the 8th time, how lucky can you get! Thank you so much Beverly & Len for making us feel so at home, your tips and advice and sharing your recipes. We have been to many B&B in the past, this one is definately a favorite, a view shared by the other guests we met.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private bathrooms, some are shared. Very comfortable beds, good size bedrooms and ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heinekengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This may not be everyone's experience, but we didn't see much of our hosts while we were staying at the Wisteria Guest House. When we arrived around 4:00 (check in is at 3:00) there was no one to greet us. We rang the bell on the door and no one answered. We tried the door and found it open, so we went inside and happened to find the housekeeper who checked us in. We chose to stay in one of the studios to have a bit of privacy and an ensuite bathroom. There was no walkway to the studios, just a foot wide plank of wood (difficult to manage if you have large suitcases or bags).

The suite was clean as was the bathroom, but was definitely cramped. There was too much furniture given the space (a rocking chair, a wicker chair, a table and two chairs) and the kitchenette was so small that you couldn't stand inside the alcove and open the mini fridge at the same time. There was also a placard stating that if you wanted to use the dishes in the kitchenette you had to wash them unless you wanted to incur a fee at checkout. This was never stated when making the reservation, and we have never seen this at another B&B or hotel with a kitchenette. The door was glass and facing onto the backyard of a neighboring house, so if you wanted privacy you needed to draw the rather sheer curtains which did not give you the feeling of privacy.

There was no documentation in the room or anywhere else in the house explaining how to access the internet, and there was never anyone we could find to talk to. We ended up having to call the office phone from our cell phone in order to learn how to connect to the internet. We finally got online, but some sort of documentation in the rooms about how to get in touch with them, access the internet, the tv channel listings, and the rules of the house would have been helpful.

We finally met our hosts at breakfast, they introduced themselves, gave us breakfast and then pretty much went about their day. When it was time to check out, again, no one was around, the private areas were closed, and there was no way to get in touch with them to thank them or anything else. Luckily we had paid at check in (odd) and so we left. Perhaps it was an off day for them, but we found it impersonal and not very welcoming, and if you are fine with that, then no problem, but if you like B&B's for the interaction and knowledge you gain from the local hosts then perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JandNTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenbrown, Owner at Wisteria Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
I'm sorry that we didn't give these guests the attention that they expected. You never know. We had 12 people for breakfast on the day that they stayed with us and everyone at their table was chatting happily amongst themselves. We don't interject when this is the case as we feel that our role is to bring people together. We announce the food as it's served and, in their case, we made sure that they knew we had taken their special diet (legume allergy) into account. Other than that, we usually speak to people after breakfast if they are so inclined. Since these guests were not staying in the main guesthouse, they probably did not stay around after breakfast with the other guests. When they checked out, we were probably cleaning rooms somewhere. Ringing the doorbell would have got our attention.

It seems to me that the problem started when these guests checked in and we weren't available. This rarely happens. We had to go off island for the day but our long-time assistant was here to check people in. As for the other issues, this studio now has one of our Welcome Books (a previous guest must have decided to keep it) and the short walkway will be completed as soon as the busy season starts to wind down. Some people may find the studio a bit crowded with furniture but it's easier to remove it than to add it. We feel that most of our guests like the studio the way it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have stayed at Wisteria House 3 times in the last 4 months and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on the island. The location is perfect - within comfortable walking distance of the town of Ganges and the harbour - and the grounds are beautiful. Everyone raves about the comfortable beds and the fabulous breakfasts and we agree that they are magnificent. We also, however, appreciate the smaller touches which demonstrate the care and concern which Len and Beverly, the very congenial hosts, have for their customers - touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms, bath salts and heated floors in the bathrooms, fresh water in copper vessels, original art on the walls, plentiful outdoor seating in the garden area, and a beautifully decorated and cozy common area/dining room. If you visit the island, plan to stay at Wisteria House - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldwingRiderCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed in the cottage for a week while I was on a course. The cottage was really comfortable, clean and quiet. Len went out of his way to make breakfast early for the other student staying there as well as myself which was really appreciated and delicious. I will definitely stay there again if I'm in the area and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylGreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We were not quite sure what to expect as I had not read the information thoroughly on the site for the Wisteria. This could have been a disaster as we were staying for two weeks but it turned out to be a memorable experience. The first morning we were presented with a gourmet breakfast and this continued with a different breakfast for each day of our stay. We have had wonderful breakfasts on the Queen Mary II and these were comparable. The only complaint with the breakfasts was that I was eating too much and put on weight!
We stayed in the small and charming cottage which is part of the complex and although it was not glamorous it was perfectly adequate for our stay. The rest of the guest house with a main lounge and dining area where we had breakfast was very pleasant and we felt totally relaxed and at home. We loved the three dogs who often came to visit and the cats although not as sociable were very much part of the ambiance. It was also lovely to see the many birds who came to the feeder outside the cottage.
Our only disappointment was that we were too early in the season to see the wisteria in bloom.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Len & Beverly are the perfect B&B hosts. Len was terrific making us feel at home & answered all our questions regarding things to do & places to go (including finding an illusive bagel maker lol). Beverly truly is a gourmet chef and the three course breakfasts were supurb, so make sure you are hungry. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming and the rooms were lovely and provided everything you could want for a good nights sleep! Already planning my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SurreyGal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
#28 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
194 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#10 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highgarden B&B
Highgarden B&B
#8 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisteria Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisteria Guest House

Property: Wisteria Guest House
Address: 268 Park Drive, British Columbia V8K 2S1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 B&B rooms, 2 studios & a cottage to choose from, the Wisteria Guest House offers a variety of accommodation to suit your needs. Each morning, join everyone in the lounge for a gourmet 2-course breakfast prepared by co-owner, Beverly Brown, former pastry chef of the Westin Hotel in Manhattan. Relax amidst an acre of country gardens just a short walk from Ganges Village, marinas & seaplane harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wisteria Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisteria Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing