We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absoultely Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absoultely Fabulous”
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Great view, great location, quite, peaceful environment, and wondeful food. It's not cheap but worth it. You feel like the resort is there for you personally, mostly due to it's small size, and the staff is very attentive. Thye menu for dinner was magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    26
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
135
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We were there for 2 nights over Labor Day weekend. Stayed in the Hayloft room. Great, spacious-only problem was that one side of room faces parking area(a little less private than sea loft room). The grounds are spectacular and the included breakfast was delicious. We were disappointed with dinner: A very high priced meal with a very small prix fixed menu. Very good food but overpriced.

Helpful?
3 Thank tatabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2005

It's been a while since we stayed at the Hastings House but I wanted to let other travelers know about this delightful inn. Salt Spring Island is special and a true getaway. I always like finding this unique lodgings in out-of-the-way serene places. We stayed in one of the cottages and had a wonderful room. It was so comfortable. The grounds of the Hastings House are beautiful, just so green and lush. Dining here was a real treat! The food was wonderful. This is a place I'm hope we get a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed June 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, Fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2005

My wife and I spent three nights in the hayloft room. We travel extensively and if you are looking for a romantic,quiet get away,there is no question that this cannot be matched. Afternoon tea and breakfast are fantastic and they deliver coffee and mufins to your room before you get up. I stongly recommend the packages that will include dinner. THe grounds are beautiful and service is impecable.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2004

We spent several nights in August. Beautiful grounds, staff couldn't be more accommodating. Our room which had been recently renovated, was spacious and overlooked a field of sheep and geese. Main building which houses dining room was elegant. Ask to dine in the main room (which is small) because the back room has no ambiance. Breakfast and dinner was excellent. Perfect location.

Helpful?
5 Thank SCMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 5, 2004

We were travelling to Vancouver, Victoria, Tofino and Saltspring Island to look for property and all our accommodation was researched thoroughly beforehand by me, looking for some fab places to stay during our trip. In Vancouver we stayed at the Listel and then to the Granville Island Hotel. Then over to Victoria where we stayed at the Rosewood, up to Tofino staying at Longbeach Island Resort, down to Saltspring Island staying at Hastings House, then final 2 nights in the Aerie Resort in Malahat region. In each place we booked the best rooms we could, penthouse or equivalent.

I've written reviews on all the places we stayed at and Hastings House was very nice. With a Relais and Chateaux rating you expect alot and it didn't let us down. The setting is truly charming with lots of different style accommodation around the grounds. They kindly showed us other room types to give us a feel of what was available but we stuck with our email booking in the Hillside Suites which have deep views down to the marina through the trees. There is a nice outside sitting area which is cosy and the room was fully provisioned and comfortable with a fireplace and sitting area.

The "pre-breakfast" snack (juice, tea, scone) was greatly appreciated, just what you need to get stirring. There was a CD player by the bed with a selection of CD's available (mostly artists on Saltspring Island which was kind of novel).

The staff were very helpful. They remembered our names and were friendly and attentive. Two specific instances come to mind. One where, at our dinner I mentioned apple pie for dessert which wasn't available. The next day, for tea, they had it available specially for me. However, we were out and about so missed tea BUT what was waiting in the room for us that evening? Yup, a fresh slice of apple pie. That was truly thoughtful and I thanked the chef and staff. Also, one of the waitress' got talking and found out we were looking for properties and found out the number of a couple she knew hadn't listed their property but were selling. Excellent service!

The dinner was enjoyable (barring those pesky fruit flies) and service was excellent. The tea room always has a cosy fire going and is a grand place to relex for afternoon tea and meet guests.

Treat yourself and stop by. I couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Rooms
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 17, 2004

When we arrived at Hastings House we were given VIP treatment straight. We were shown to out room and WHAT A ROOM - views over the harbour - huge soaking tub etc. The food was exceptional as was the service -a special thanks to Michael who was so friendly and efficient. Pre breakfast muffins and coffee in your room - what a great idea.
We will definately be back for another romantic break.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#5 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Property: Hastings House Country House Hotel
Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing