We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too noisy to be R&R” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hastings House Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“too noisy to be R&R”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

The grounds are nicely manicured, the room was clean and thoughtfully decorated, the bed was comfortable, the dining staff were attentive...
BUT the hillside suite was very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights during this summer weekend. The advertised "wellness and relaxation" didn't apply in the evenings. A bar is located within a stone throw of our Heather suite and other suites with live music at night. Not the type of music to induce relaxation at the end of a day. Even with an apparent noice bylaw of 11PM, which is little consolation, the music went until 12AM one night & 12:30AM the next. Impossible to sleep. There was also dueling loud music coming across the water in the inlet from a café from about 7-10PM. When we mentioned this to the waitressing staff at breakfast they indicated this is a known problem so surprised it hasn't been mentioned by anyone in a review. Live entertainment is at both places all summer on Friday & Sat. After the music was over and when the bar closed we could clearly hear the inebriated patrons leaving. My perception was management at checkout weren't too sympathetic.The clock alarm went off very early in the AM our first morning, even though we didn't set it, which compounded the sleepness night. Housekeeping should check when preparing for new guest. Couldn't wait to get home to recover from the weekend retreat of R&R.
AND overall is overpriced. We have stayed at several Relais and Chateau establishments before and another B&B on Salt Spring Island as a reference. The dinner, $85 for 3 course meal was good but also overpriced. A glass wine from a local winery was $15 and the same glass at another first class restaurant (Piccolo) down the road the next night was $9. Didn't appreciate being charged for a latte with breakfast ($6). Not becoming of a Relais & Chateau place.
Lastly for those staying in the Hillside suites be aware there are over 30 outside steps to get to the manor where the food is served.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Brian,

Thank you for your comments. We are certainly aware of the issues you have brought forth and are taking measures to get them sorted out immediately. Just this week, in the two days since your stay, the Moby's Pub which is just below us here in Ganges Harbour has mounted a number of new defenses to protect our guests from their noise. They have put in soundproofed panels all along the side wall nearest us, and onto the ceiling near the stage as well. We are continuing to monitor this issue and, if this proves not to be enough, we will fund an insulated wall to be placed on the side of the pub nearest us. We are also working on a few ideas to help move noisy patrons away from the parking lot. I will be sure to update this commentary as developments continue.

We are so sorry your visit to Hastings House was not as relaxing as you would have liked. Please look for a Gift Certificate from us in the mail. We would love to have you back for a stay in one of our charming historic suites on the lower property.

Best Regards,

Adrienne Parks,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    26
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
129
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

but worth every penny! You feel like you are in the English countryside maybe the Cotswolds....perfect for weddings, anniversaries, any special occasion including quality time alone. You will love charming Salt Spring Island .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchpoodle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a positive experience at Hastings House Country House Hotel. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the value for our guests, so please feel free to e-mail me any feedback you may have to improve the value offered at Hastings House. My e-mail is sales@hastingshouse.com.

We hope to welcome you back to the property soon!

Best Regards,

Adrienne Parks,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had our wedding rehearsal dinner in The Verandah (hastingshouse.com/dining/the-verandah/) at Hastings House on June 14, 2013, and it was absolutely perfect. We are finally getting up our reviews after our first anniversary. :)

Hastings House communicated professionally with my mother-in-law throughout the planning process, and were a delight to work with. They made up a menu specifically for our event, and everyone was very happy with the food and the wine. It was so special to look out on the harbour through the glass windows surrounding the room, and have our wedding party and family celebrate with us. We could not have been happier or felt more blessed at our rehearsal dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back for your next anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I highly recommend a stay at Hastings House. Although the rooms may not be 5-star, the setting, service and experience certainly are. The restaurant has excellent food and an impressive wine list. We visited in July, at the beginning of their summer. Kayaking on pristine water, afternoon tea, long walks, visits to artisan farms. Altogether, it was an idyllic setting--an experience we hope to repeat soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDL515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in to process of updating our suites at the moment, and hope that you will be able to visit us again and see the improvements!

Warm Regards,

Adrienne Parks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

When decor is a little old and tired in a big-city hotel, it can be off-putting, but at Hastings House, it somehow feels just right in its authenticity. We stayed in the Farmhouse and found the setting idyllic and very, very charming. Loved sleeping with windows open and thin drapes billowing in the breeze. Adult children stayed in other rooms which were perhaps less interesting because they did not share the view. The grounds were beautiful, and it helped that we enjoyed picture-postcard weather during our stay. Breakfasts were fantastic with a daily special of unique but appetizing dishes. Dinner was delicious and exquisitely presented, but service was oddly distant and disengaged which unfortunately was a bit of a damper on an otherwise outstanding meal. Similar at breakfast though not as markedly. Hotel staff worked hard to accommodate despite some snafus in booking. Also tried (and really enjoyed) Harbour House Restaurant across the street. Town was nice but not as "upscale" at Hastings. Booked at a 3-for-2 special which helped the value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that the service was not to your satisfaction. Given that you were a larger dinner party, our server felt it best that she allow you to engage amongst yourselves and did not wish to interrupt your conversation. We strive to provide perfect service to each of our guests, which is an art unto itself. Unfortunately we must have misread your needs. We hope you will be able to join us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrienne Parks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a beautiful spot on a lovely Gulf Island (Salt Spring). Magnificent and tremendously well tended grounds - here at the height of lilacs and spring bulbs. Staff very nice - although surprising that almost none knew anything of hiking trails on the island. Restaurant quiet, excellent if traditional food. Hard to beat for a quiet relaxing spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have recently hired a number of new team members for the summer season who are becoming acquainted with the island. We are enjoying exploring the island as tourists in our own town! Rest assured we will soon know be as knowledgeable as we should be about the trails and other attractions on the island. We hope you will be able to join us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrienne Parks,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a lovely three days at Hastings House. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, the food was delicious, and the grounds are charming and beautiful. We were very happy staying in the Sealoft; it's bright yet cozy, the bed was comfortable and the chairs lovely for curling up and reading. We loved the location, too - a short walk to Ganges and just down the road from the delicious Harbour House restaurant. We didn't eat dinners here as a 3-course meal felt like too much after munching our way through Ganges but heard positive reviews from other visitors.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drcatherine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrienneParks, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be able visit again in the future. We are now offering a lighter patio menu and cocktails, so hopefully you will be able to enjoy our dining experience next time you come, even if a three-course dinner isn't on your agenda!

Best Regards,

Adrienne Parks,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Spring Island
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
19.5 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#5 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Property: Hastings House Country House Hotel
Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing