We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep It A Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hastings House Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Keep It A Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I hate to write about what a wonderful, relaxing time we had here, because I don't want it to change or be overrun. Just entering the property you experienced the peacefulness and serenity of the surroundiings, from the garden to the beautiful views it was amazing. Our room was lovely with a view of the harbour. Dinner was exceptional and the staff were charming. No question we will be returning.
Diana & Ray

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    26
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
129
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,180 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights stay at Hastings House. Our cottage was perfect with views of the harbour, cozy sitting area complete with a gas fireplace and wet bar. The robes and plush towels were appreciated. You do need to bring your own slippers. It is nice to return from dinner and have your bed turned down and room tidied. The freshly brewed locally roasted coffee and warm muffins was an added treat each morning. It was nice to walk to the main house where we were served a full English breakfast. I enjoyed the spa - Doris provided excellent treatments. Don't miss afternoon tea in the main house - the homemade baking is an added bonus. After tea take a walk on their sculpture path. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We shall return so that we can be spoiled once again!

Room Tip: For extra privacy stay in the Post suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were amazed at the attention to detail in every aspect of our stay. From the six course chef dinner to the fresh flowers placed on the mantel in our room. The staff was warm and accomodating. The property itself is beyond words in its English Country beauty. I would stay again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

In a unique way, we were transported back to several earlier visits in rural England, staying at luxury wonderful country house hotels we found in the past. This hotel was lifted up and placed down in the perfect setting on the lovely island of Salt Spring, overlooking the harbour and set upon a former farming hillside.

Having a bit of a "stair climbing" issue due to a bad knee, the manager immediately changed our suite to the gorgeous and charming Post Cottage, surrounded by gardens, and no major climbing to access the Manor House where meals are served. The cottage although over 100 years old, was fully updated with all the luxuries and amenities to make our stay magical: Frette linens, Molten Brown accessories, down comforters, a lovely warming woodstove for those chilly nights. Perhaps the only item I would add here would be towel warmers: we respected the environmental request of reusing our towels, only to find that they did not dry overnight!

With a big breakfast ahead of us in the Manor House (included in the room price), we had no problems with the early morning fresh muffins and pot of hot coffee placed outside our door at 7:30. How much can one eat at breakfast (asking a previous reviewer who groused)? There was a daily option, in addition to the 2 choices listed, and in traditional English style, the main dish included several items such as bacon or ham, potatoes and grilled tomatoes. Croissants, toast, yogurt, fruit, juices, were always available, in addition to the hot items. A tip to the disgruntled reviewer: ask, if there is something you really must have!

Dinner was perhaps the highlight of our 2 week trip to the Pacific Northwest. Our package included the 4 course tasting menu, and we were thrilled with every course, especially the reknowned Salt Spring lamb - the best we have had in years! Kudos to the chef - and, in fact, all the staff. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly, the setting was spectacular, and I have to add, the scones and cookies at tea time - scrumptious!

Room Tip: The Post Cottage and the Farmhouse suites, are both near the Manor house, yet still keep a modicum o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We enjoyed this very charming English Manor with a it's peaceful, friendly, accommodating atmosphere. We found the food excellent. If you have never had Salt Spring Island lamb, you are in for a real gourmet treat..as a matter of fact. The melt in your mouth scones at tea time are accompanied by the best marmalade and jams I've ever tasted. They are made in-house. We stayed in one the newer rooms (Hawthorne) located on the hill in the beautiful BC cedar trees. It is very private with a view of the harbour. The island is very picturesque and there a plenty of activities. Check out Mt. Maxwell for views. We had a very enjoyable 2 day getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Superb hospitality from Kelly McAree and his team - flawless stay in luxury house hotel suite - in the unique setting overlooking the harbour. Warm log fires, afternoon tea, and wine on the patio in the evening....sheer bliss. Highly recommend for any occasion. Best Breakfast in years.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlewislondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in a charming suite for three nights and enjoyed two fantastic dinners and breath taking breakfasts. Had a roaring fire each night with tons of dry burnable wood, perfect. ALL the staff were exceptional. Stunning setting with great food and perfect accomodation, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Spring Island
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
19.5 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Property: Hastings House Country House Hotel
Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing