We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspired in the Garden of Eden with the genuine human touch guest experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Inspired in the Garden of Eden with the genuine human touch guest experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our stay at Hasting House (HH) has been very inspiring! We learn a lot, on top of our special relaxing time. HH is a small luxury hotel - well known for stunning flowery landscape and home-grown organic food. The hotel doesn't have a typical dinner menu for you, they just surprise you with "dinner of the day", as their best resource ...is available. We have met great staff including Shelley, the CGO (Chief Gardening Officer). Her job is not about merely growing flower and salad vegetable, but also working with the rest of the hotel crew to create "end-to-end customer experience". She designs the whole HH landscape, ensuring that the guests will be able to admire the nature at any moments and spots, given the seasonality constraint. She works very hard in autumn to manually plant her thousands of tulip and daffodil bulbs - as she knows they will burst like the "new year firework" the next spring. She works with the chef to plant the right vegetable at the right time, and report them the weekly available vegetable - so the chef knows in advance. Above all, she is gentle, kind and informative to the hotel guests. The only set back of the whole experience is that we find the dinner too expensive for a family with kids. We will never forget HH. :)))

Room Tip: Talk to Kelly, the GM, about your requirements beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaifamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    26
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
131
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed for the weeken in June. The grounds of the hotel are amazing and the view spectacular. We loved the separate cottages, especially for a family with the big rolling lawns. The staff were exceptional as well as the food. We could easily walk into town from the Hotel but it was the perfect distance so you were also removed from the tourist traffic. We would highly recommend this hotel for families (only thing I would add is that this is based on assumption that your children are not the chicken nuggets/hot dogs only type of kids).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpknw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Spectacular location overlooking the harbour. The grounds are beautifully maintained with the exception of some loose boards (a bit unsettling) on the stairs up into the forest where there are a couple of secluded and delightfully placed chairs for peaceful contemplation. We loved waking up to the sounds of the sheep in the meadow as well as sitting out on our deck in the evening unhampered by mosquitos or other pesky insects that we're so used to constantly battling at home.
The suite with its sitting area and fireplace was very comfortable. The bathroom was small and basic. Breakfast, afternoon tea and the picnic lunches were all delicious. Everyone in the dining room, on the room service staff and on the grounds was pleasant and accommodating.
Our only issue was that the wireless internet did not work except very slowly and sporadically both in our room and in The Snug. We select hotels based on their offering high-speed internet (we're willing to pay for it) as we run a business and need to maintain a connection when travelling. This was very inconvenient and unsettling to us. The office staff was quite unconcerned with the impact this had on us advising that "this is just the way it is on the island." This is not the case as we were able to search out alternative connections in town but this was quite inconvenient. As a result, we won't be staying here on our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spadogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyMcAree, General Manager at Hastings House Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for your comments, our historic buildings, built of stone and large timbers and our property's natural landscape of rocky outcrops and majestic forested areas create unique challenges for wireless service. We have wireless repeaters through out our small property in order to deal with these challenges but with the advent of wireless capable cell phones, tablets and other wireless devices competing for the same bandwidth at our busy hotel the signal effectiveness can be affected. We are in the process of a property wide systems upgrade but being on an island this process takes time. For those guests that have difficult we have a business centre in our snug guest lounge and we also have office computers we offer for guests to use. If our attitude was anything but understanding we apologize as there isn't always an easy solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights for our anniversary and it was lovely. My one hesitation about this review is that my husband arranged everything so I don't actually know the cost, but I will review the experience anyway and not talk about the value factor. We stayed in our own Tudor cottage, and it was like something out of an old English movie, with an ocean view from the front deck and windows. The bedroom was upstairs and aside from a slight mustiness, everything was very clean and comfortable inside. The grounds are nice to walk around, with sheep and a rustic sculpture garden.

The stay included breakfast and tea, and we went to dinner one evening as well. The little breakfast basket delivered early to your room is charming and nice for early risers like me, but a hot breakfast is later in the dining room. The afternoon tea is delicious and a chance to meet some of the other guests and chat. The only disappointment in the meals for me was the dinner, having seen the hotel had a large farm garden area, I thought that they might use more local/herb/unique ingredients, but the food was conventional and uneven. I had spot prawns which were overcooked and overpowered by the soy used on them. However, my husband enjoyed his dinner, so it may be a good idea to see what other people are ordering or what the staff recommends. in any case, there are many restaurants in walking distance of the hotel, since it is near the "downtown" area.

The housekeeping was excellent, with a radio system to let the staff know when you are at breakfast so they can clean the room then. And the staff were all friendly and helpful. The flower gardens are very nice, and the insertion of modern sculptures everywhere is an inspired touch, and of course being so close to the harbour area, there is lots to watch from the grounds of the hotel, or better still from your private porch. We went to the spa area and had massages, I would definitely recommend Terra, who was excellent. All in all, we had a lovely restful time and enjoyed our anniversary immensely. I was surprised that when we checked out, they suggested we review them on Trip Advisor, so they must be very confident about their hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. I booked it through Luxury Link, which made it a little more reasonable and included a four-course dinner at their acclaimed restaurant. I have to say everything was great! A morning "wake-me up" basket which included freshly baked muffins and coffee and tea started everyday for us. Everybody went out of their way to give us advice on what to do on Salt Spring Island. We stayed in the Essex suite which had a beautiful view of the harbor. The chef even prepared a Dungeness crab I brought in to have as part of our dinner. I would highly recommend staying here, it is a little pricey but you do get a lot of added benefits staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We chose Hastings House for a family reunion including 12 family members, various ages from 10 to 80. What a treat to stay at such a beautiful place with such caring, attentive staff. The rooms were gorgeous, each one with its own unique character and view. We loved staying in the Barn and my folks really enjoyed their suite up the hill. The staff and management were so helpful with our individual needs. (gluten-free diet for me; croquet tournament set-up for my Dad; pick-up in town for my niece, for example) We met a fellow who goes there several times a year and I can see why. We had a really enjoyable stay and I look forward to the next holiday there.

Room Tip: Woodland room for quiet and wood fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryarankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

A country paradise. Magnificent setting, groomed gardens, superb staff and service and excellent cuisine. Pricey but if you can afford it a magnificent place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC1451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Spring Inn
Salt Spring Inn
#5 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariner's Loft
Mariner's Loft
#6 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House Country House Hotel

Property: Hastings House Country House Hotel
Address: 160 Upper Ganges Rd | British Columbia, British Columbia V8K 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hastings House Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House Country House Hotel is a small waterfront luxury country resort, spa and restaurant sitting on 22 acres on the waterfront of Ganges Harbour, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. Enjoy luxury lodging, fine dining, wellness and relaxation in a casually-elegant atmosphere. Explore British Columbia’s natural beauty, Salt Spring’s mild climate and the warmth and creativity of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hastings House Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings Hotel Saltspring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing