We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Answer to Walden's Pond complete with Major Comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cusheon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
“Canadian Answer to Walden's Pond complete with Major Comforts”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Salt Springs Island is a delightful vacation retreat...

Cusheon Lake Resort is located so close to so many special experiences...The Day trail on Bourgogne Bay, Piccolo's Dining, and the quiet solitude of watching a Mother Duck Shepherding her young on Cusheon Lake. Diddee's beach down the road for sea shell collecting.

A fresh supply of fireplace wood, complete with the best starter you will experience...one match!

A delightful experience and so good we want to come back.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was recommended in Trip Advisor...with a Red Maple on your door step, and a swimming float...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We absolutely love your analogy to 'Walden's Pond' and are happy to say that each cabin has indoor plumbing unlike back in the day. So, "Goodnight Tom and thanks for the firewood and the best fire starter brick around!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    35
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have been going to Cushion Lake Resort for years. We always have a great time. Tom and Judy are wonderful hosts. The resort is always in tip top shape. We have stayed in a number of the cabin and like all of them. The setting of the resort is lovely. The lake is fun to play in and the views are beautiful.

We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Tom and Judy are so pleased for you to take the time to write this review. And we do work hard to keep things 'in tip top shape'. If you ever think of anything that could be improved, changed or added to the cabins or the resort in general then please let us know by phone or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago, and love this place. It has rustic log cabins but they have everything you need, ie full bathrooms & kitchens. Everything is very clean and well maintained. The people that run it, Judy & Tom, are super nice and when asked gave lots of good advice on things to do on the island.

We'd come back here for sure (and plan on it)!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
'Outstanding' is a great descriptor for the guests of Cusheon Lake Resort, as well as the resort itself. It is such a pleasure to greet the cheerful, respectful and appreciative people who choose to stay here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Cusheon Lake Resort is one of those very special places. It is a modernized version of those throwback cottages that you stayed with when you were a kid. Back when you could swim in lakes, stay in a cottage, play badminton and croquet and sit on the dock at night and watch the stars without any city light to diminish the experience.

You can use their hot tub, paddle out into the very swimmable lake with one of the resort's canoes, and even swim from the sandy little beach (perfect for toddlers!) out to a floating dock in the middle of their "arm" of the lake where you can dive and sun yourself all day long.

Cusheon Lake Resort is a hidden gem on a hidden gem of an island. It is perfectly situated on a gorgeous freshwater lake (you can catch trout and bass if you want to fish!) and is only 10 minuted from the main town (Ganges) which has everything you need including the world-famous "Saturday Market".

Many families book their stay at Cusheon Lake Resort for the following summer and carry on traditions of visiting the place--I often bump into families there who have been coming for 10, 12, 15 years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaTravelBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for the great overview of the activities available at Cusheon Lake Resort. Of course, all activities are included in the cabin rental rate (except for charcoal for the BBQ - please bring your own)! It is true that many of our guests return year after year. In fact, in July & August between 65 & 70% of the people enjoying this 'hidden gem' are repeat guests. Some folks have even been coming for over 30 years!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I watch spring arrive from the lake shore. Beautiful cabin on the lake with flowers and leaves all magnificently blooming just at the right time. The weather was sunny and beautiful except for the last 2 days of our 2 week vacation.

Very relaxing - beautiful cabin, Really enjoyed it - would recommend for any couple or family with kids. The hosts were terrific.

Room Tip: All the cabins were nice - but would definitely recommend cabln right on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
It is so wonderful for you to point out the how magnificent the surroundings are at Cusheon Lake Resort. Earlier in the spring the daffodils were blooming in the garden and along the lake shore. Now the wild yellow iris are blooming amongst the reeds at the lake's edge and the cat mint and lavender are bursting into colour in the garden. The tall daisies are waving in the breeze around the grounds and the flowers of the little daisies light up the lawn all around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

First of all Cusheon "lake" is more a pond and "resort" is a bit of a stretch... Nice people. Quiet but crowded setting. Accommodations were basic but adequate and pleasant. Okay place to spend a few days.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Well, maybe in the big, wide world Cusheon Lake could be viewed as a pond, but on our little Salt Spring Island it is the second largest lake. At one kilometer in length and several kilometers in shoreline, Cusheon Lake is enjoyed by paddlers and swimmers; and bird and animal life and it provides much needed fresh water to many homes in the area. The 16 cabins occupying Cusheon Lake Resort's 4 acres were thoughtfully built for lake views and the natural landscape. The resort will remain this way without further development for the enjoyment of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location of the resort is truly idyllic, nestled between the trees right on the lake. The chalets look rustic, but once inside are warm, comfortable, and have everything you need (including Wifi). We had a wonderful stay with friends. The best part of this resort is the customer service provided by Tom and the others at Cusheon Lake Resort. We became snowed into the resort so were unable to get one of our vehicles out as the road leading to the resort wasn't being plowed. Tom gave us so many options to help us out and was more than open to us leaving our car at the resort until the following weekend. It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely stay at the resort again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Well, there is no chance of snow now at Cusheon Lake Resort. In fact, it is time for swimming. The lake is serene with 'no motor boats allowed' so you may choose to swim from the beach to the raft or around to one of the docks or to the other end of the lake. Thank you for reviewing the resort and we look forward to seeing you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
437 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#14 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#10 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highgarden B&B
Highgarden B&B
#8 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
25 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cosy Woodpecker Cottage B&B
Cosy Woodpecker Cottage B&B
#11 of 21 in Salt Spring Island
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusheon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusheon Lake Resort

Property: Cusheon Lake Resort
Address: 171 Natalie Lane, British Columbia V8K 2C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cusheon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lakeside getaway, situated on a peninsula on the second largest lake on Salt Spring Island, Cusheon Lake Resort offers rustic, lake-view log cabins with modern amenities. The resort is just a short distance from the Island's main village of Ganges. There are 16 one and two bedroom cabins - all carefully maintained for your comfort and enjoyment. Each cabin is a private retreat with a lake view, large deck, wood-burning fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, digital cable television and dedicated WiFi. This four acre vacation getaway is surrounded by the lake on three sides, and maintains two docks, a swimming beach with a raft and a boat launch for lake access. Guests enjoy year-round fishing, the use of canoes, stand-up paddleboards, kayaks and the outdoor hot tub. Cusheon Lake Resort is a destination - for couples and families, or for group retreats, large family gatherings and weddings. Cusheon Lake Resort is pet friendly except for the busy summer months (Canada Day through Labour Day). Give Resident Managers, Glen & Andie, a call to book your Salt Spring getaway at Cusheon Lake Resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cusheon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing