We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cusheon Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Visited this resort in early July. It's a nice family resort, but fairly basic. We enjoyed canoeing in the morning, swimming in the lake in the evening and sitting on the docks in the evening. There's not much in the way of beach access to the lake but there are several docks and rafts you can swim from.

The cabins are basic, but ours was clean and functional. We were in a 2 bedroom unit with fireplace and kitchen that provided everything our small family (3) needed for a comfortable stay.

The only drawbacks to this place were the traffic noise from the road across the lake and the limited beach access to the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuckal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Shared a 2 bedroom cabin (#16) with my wife and 3 others over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. We arrived late off the ferry and the managers were quick to get us settled and provided some suggestions for dinner. Cabin was clean and comfortable. The King size beds were great.
We all left feel a bit more refreshed and relaxed. Having limited cell phone coverage (or none if you're with Rogers) helped! Managers were very accommodating and accessible.
I'd recommend the resort for friends, couples and families looking for a comfortable retreat.

Room Tip: Looks like all the cabins are well placed with good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed over there in May. For the same price you are much better off staying in a bed and breakfast which there are plenty of.

While the staff are friendly on the phone and were helpful in helping us get into the canoe which was a very pleasant experience.

They refused to give us clean sheets, stating they are already clean and available in the cabin. The sheets imbedded in the pull out sofa and the single bed were covered in dirt and grass as you pull them out. The blankets were obviously never washed and covered in dust and smelled old.


I ended up with skin infections on my face which has not clear in over two weeks now which are not recovering. I wish I never stayed there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cheer_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

There must have been a misunderstanding. As on- site managers, we had no knowledge of any dissatisfaction on the part of the resort guests until reading this review. We are very concerned that a guest of Cusheon Lake Resort could have such an experience. Had we been made aware of any dissatisfaction, we would have personally done anything to rectify any lack of cleanliness or maintenance in the cabin(s). These guest were here for 2 days....

Cusheon Lake Resort has always prided itself on a high level of care with all guests in mind and will continue to carry on that tradition.

Sincerely, Tom and Judy,
Managers,
Cusheon Lake Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We went to Cusheon Lake Resort with another family visiting from the UK, totalling 3 children aged 6 & under & 4 adults & it couldn't have been more perfect. The cabin was a lovely comfortable size for us all to fit in, & the lake & woods around gave us endless activities on the water in the canoes provided, building dens & paddling in the waters edge. It was early in the year, so a little cold for swimming, but that would only add to the fun to be had. If you want to just get away somewhere quiet & incredibly friendly & accommodating this is the place. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My sister and I spent a lovely couple of days in March at this rustic, quaint, resort. The accommodations were clean, well kept, and cozy. The fireplace really added to the ambiance of the place and the wood was kept well stocked at our door. As an added plus, there was lots(and I really mean lots) of bright light to read, and cook by in the cabin as well. Our host was also very friendly and informative, and I would recommend a visit to this serene and peaceful establishment at any time of the year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week in Cabin #13 at Cushion Lake and loved it. We were up early every morning to catch the 2 beavers who were finishing up their work for the night to swim home early in the morning 10' from our porch. It was very thrilling to catch the beavers in their habitat. The bird watching was just as rewarding. A fresh wood pile greeted us every night which we enjoyed in our livingroom looking out on the lake. Cabins are comfortable and with a well-stocked kitchenette we enjoyed coffee and toast every morning on the porch. Great place to read a book and relax. SharonGreen

Room Tip: Cabin #13 is right on the lake and has two bedrooms. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmanCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

The reviews posted on trip advisor are true descriptions of this serene get away.We spent the weekend at Cusheon Lake and it was a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle.It's a holiday treat for all ages! Judy and Tom are generous hosts - welcoming all who visit and ensuring a comfortable stay.The cabins are clean,comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDBacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
447 reviews
6.0 mi away
Maple Ridge Cottages
Maple Ridge Cottages
#10 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
23 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#3 of 5 in Ganges
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
B&B at Salt Spring Apple Company
#31 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Highgarden B&B
Highgarden B&B
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
28 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach House Salt Spring
Beach House Salt Spring
#10 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cusheon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cusheon Lake Resort

Address: 171 Natalie Lane, British Columbia V8K 2C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Salt Spring Island
Price Range: $114 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cusheon Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lakeside getaway, situated on a peninsula on the second largest lake on Salt Spring Island, Cusheon Lake Resort offers rustic, lake-view log cabins with modern amenities. The resort is just a short distance from the Island's main village of Ganges. There are 16 one and two bedroom cabins - all carefully maintained for your comfort and enjoyment. Each cabin is a private retreat with a lake view, large deck, wood-burning fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, digital cable television and dedicated WiFi. This four acre vacation getaway is surrounded by the lake on three sides, and maintains two docks, a swimming beach with a raft and a boat launch for lake access. Guests enjoy year-round fishing, the use of canoes, stand-up paddleboards, kayaks and the outdoor hot tub. Cusheon Lake Resort is a destination - for couples and families, or for group retreats, large family gatherings and weddings. Cusheon Lake Resort is pet friendly except for the busy summer months (Canada Day through Labour Day). Give Resident Managers, Glen & Andie, a call to book your Salt Spring getaway at Cusheon Lake Resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cusheon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing