We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cusheon Lake Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Seabreeze Inne(Salt Spring Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Vista Resort(Mayne Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayne Island Resort(Mayne Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
182
40
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
40
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boardinghot tubbedroom cabinthe managersevery summerget awaydry woodcharcoal bbqwonderful fireplacefamily get togethereverything you could possibly needfloating docklake resortpicnic tableswood burning firelong weekendrented cabins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 234 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My sister and I have been coming to the Resort for 4 years for our annual getaway. We love the rustic, clean, spacious and cozy log cabin. Each cabin has a good view of the lake. If you want to get closer, have a seat on the dock, get out on a row boat or dive in for a swim (in the summer of course). The serenity of the lake makes you forget everything in the city. The Resort is easily accessible from the ferry terminal and close to downtown Ganges where we can dine out or get grocery to cook our meals in the well equipped kitchen in the cabin or BBQ by the lake. The friendly hosts, Judy and Tom, always make us feel so welcomed. It is the perfect getaway destination for us. For sure we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelindaNSelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love the way you have described the resort and the experiences that you have enjoyed. Many others may enjoy such experiences too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Resort is located right on Cusheon Lake. There are a number of log cabins on the property at varous distances from the lake shore. The cabin we were in was clean and had the basics- a fridge, stove, microwave, good bed, table and institutional chairs. There was a wood fireplace and a full bathroom. The only foodstuffs in the unit were packets of sugar and there is tea and coffee available at the office. There is Wifi but no television. The one thing we would have liked was some facial tissue as this was not provided. There are also canoes you can use on the lake which adds to the enjoyment of the stay. The Owners were very friendly and accommodating. The one issue we did have was that our unit was close to the hot tub. There is a motto of ' listen to the silence' .In our case it was listen to the people in the hot tub. All evening we could hear various groups using the hot tub and their conversations which was very disappointing and annoying. I did ask one group to leave as it was after 10:00 when the hot tub area was supposed to be vacated.

Room Tip: Stay away from the hot tub area.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and for staying at Cusheon Lake Resort. There is a notice posted in the hot tub area reminding parents and other exuberant guests to monitor their activities. We will post an additional notice to remind everyone that voice levels also need to be monitored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I love, love LOVED Cusheon Resort! I was a bit hesitant to stay somewhere quite so "rustic" because I am a frequent business traveler who typically stays at 4 and 5 star hotels. But let me tell you, this place was 5 star in my mind! You do have to be prepared to bring more stuff than you would to a hotel (hairdryer, lotion, food - like olive oil and spices for cooking, etc.) but who cares...Tom and Judy provide you with wood to burn a fire, amazing board games (YAHTZEE!) and much more in such a serene setting. I can only imagine how wonderful it would be in the summertime to jump in that lake on a hot day. Definitely an escape from the hustle and bustle of city living.

Ganges is easily accessible by car for buying fresh food at the market, wine at the liquor store (always important!) and fresh fish from the ocean! Don't forget to hike/drive up Mount Maxwell for the most amazing views of the Gulf Islands.

I recommend Cusheon Lake Resort to anyone who wants to stay in a real log cabin and indulge in all of the spoils of Salt Spring Island. Thank you Tom and Judy for a most wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 10, which had a partial lake view due to all of the lovely trees but it was perfect -- nice and close to our vehicle. If you want better lake views, cabins 11 and 4 seem to be good ones. We scoped them all out for our next trip to Cusheon Lake!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateVancouver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay so completely. We'll always be sure to have a Yahtzee game available for you to borrow whenever you are here! Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Cusheon Lake Resort is so relaxing! It's the perfect place for any occasion!. It is only a 20minute ferrie ride from Victoria....yet you feel so far away. I have stayed here numerous times. I first came here with my siblings for a weekend, then with a group of friends for my 34th birthday and is the.perfect destination for a romantic weekend. It has a cozy fireplace, ihot.tub, it is right on the lake with row boats for your use, a huge bbq pit to roast Marshmellows and bbq your favorite dinner.

I highly recommend this place!. I have stayed at other cabins And cottages on the island and nothing compares to Cusheon Lake Resort!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomeosandJuliettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judytom, Manager at Cusheon Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Just like you, many other guests have told us how wonderful it is to arrive at the ferry terminal on Vancouver Island knowing that in less than one hour they will be in their favourite cabin at Cusheon Lake Resort. Thanks, Tom and Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have made Cusheon Lake Resort our 'go to' place to getaway from our busy Vancouver life. As soon as we get to the resort we have the feeling of peaceful serenity and of coming home.
As we watch the ducks on the lake in the morning with our coffees we quite often ask each other "why we don't come here more often?'
The log fireplace (which daily is full of new logs and starter) is great to get lost in while we relax with a glass of wine & some of the local delicacies.
The cabins are spotless and completely well equipped. Tom & Judy (the managers) feel like old friends now as they welcome us back.
This place has a bit of magic as it restores & rejuvinates us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews