We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This inn is totally in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt Spring Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Spring Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This inn is totally in!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome at Saltspring Inn. Jeremy, the owner, and Rita, his adorable cat, were there with smiles and purrs.

When we opened the door to our suite, we were delighted to find a beautiful, spotless, and cosy room waiting for us. When I say spotless, I mean spotless. It was also tastefully decorated and newly painted. We switched on the electric fireplace and enjoyed the complimentary chocolate provided.

After freshining up, we returned downstairs to the in-house restaurant. It seemed like a popular place, as there were many locals, families and friends, enjoying dinner. We took a table by the fireplace and enjoyed a lovely meal (pasta & pizza). After watching a bit of tv (on the many channels available), we had a comfortable nights sleep.

We highly recommend Saltspring Inn for these main reasons:

1. Friendliness of all staff (servers and owners)
2. Convenience of location (right near the centre of town)
3. Quiet
4. Delicious food (we had both dinner and breakfast while there)
5. Clean and well decorated
6. Reasonably priced (check hotels.com)

Last but not least...

7. Rita, the cutest cat ever!

P.S. Do check out the Island Escapes for a wonderful kayaking adventure.

Room Tip: We had room number 2, with a fireplace, queen bed, with in-suite bathroom (which had a shower only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grace h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello, Beatrice and Grace, we (including "Rita the cat") are so pleased that you enjoyed your Salt Spring Island visit and your stay with us.
We hope you will return and, of course, bring friends, too.
Cheers, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
58
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Everyone is so helpful and friendly. The rooms and shower facilities couldn't be more clean. I don't mind sharing a bathroom and I found the room bright and cute...perfect for me and my daughter to share a couple of nights together...especially since you're in the middle of town. It was also peacefully quiet!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deidre_mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my beautiful girlfriend came to visit the Salt Spring Inn. Even though we came in late after checkin, they were nice enough to accomodate us. We were greeted in the morning by the owner of the Inn who remembered our names and gave us helpful tips on where to go in town. The Inn also has a delicious restaurant below the rooms. Great for families and couples alike! The rooms were nice and comfy with a small TV.
Extremely friendly, great food and cute cat!

Room Tip: Try and get the room with the private bathroom. It's a bit more but is totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed in this charming little hotel twice now. Last Xmas there was our family of 4 and another guest. It is very comfortable and clean, and very charming. When my Mothers 80th birthday was planned it was the perfect choice of places to stay. It is located right in the middle of the little town of Ganges. The staff and the owners are all very friendly and helpful, which is an understatement when having hopped on the ferry and then realizing I had forgotten my part of the group dinner (butter chicken)at home. I went to the local grocery store and bought the ingredients for the dish,and asked the hotel if I could use their kitchen to make it in. They said it wasn't possible because of the "safe kitchen" rules, but they said they would be happy to do it for me!!!!! I was floored. I came down to pick it up before we went to the party, and it was sitting waiting for me in a perfect serving dish, with garnish! They had added some of their own ingredients and it was a perfect mango chicken dish. It was sooooooooo gooooooodddd!!!!!! They also didn't charge us anything. That was the icing on the cake to one of the nicest little hotels we have stayed at, and we travel allot! So, if you are looking for a very cosy stay in a nicely finished vintage hotel with a fireplace, and all of the service you could imagine, and then some, this hotel is it!

Room Tip: There are really nice rooms with bathrooms, but if you are on a budget there is very nice little roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I returned to the Salt Spring Inn for the second time in late October, 2012 while visiting friends on the Island. We love the Salt Spring Inn! The owner, Jeremy is always friendly and helpful. Our quiet room was cozy and had attractive furnishings and finishes. We enjoyed relaxing in front of the fireplace in the restaurant. All staff, including waiters, waitresses and cleaning staff are unfailingly helpful and friendly. Rita, the cat, who positions herself in her little bed at the reception desk, is a delight. And prices are very attractive. I'd highly recommend the Salt Spring Inn if you're looking for a homey, down-to-earth environment.

Marilyn Melville, Toronto

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Inn, to ensure a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontojourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stepped off the floatplane just a short stroll to Salt Spring Inn.......location location location.....just steps to all the shops & galleries. We were greeted by Rita who sets the relaxed atmosphere. This was our first stay at the Inn and we were checking in early, Jeremy made sure our room was ready and we were able to unwind and start our mini vacation with ease and sans all our luggage. Our room was quaint and immaculate. I am kinda a bed snob and these beds did not disappoint. Woke up well rested and really appreciate the upgraded mattress and linens. Thank you to the staff and a special nod to Miss Rita :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMomOfThree_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Salt Spring Inn for 2 nights and had no regrets about our choice of accommodation. In our group was 3 couples and we each had a room although with shared bathroom. At first we were a bit hesitant about the 'shared bathroom' deal but it worked without any hitches or waits or showers or toilets. There are also rooms with ensuites however they were booked already. The rooms were on the small side (as you would expect in an older building) but were comfortable and clean. Our room had a wash basin which meant we could brush our teeth, get a drink of water, etc without having to go down the hallway to the bathroom. We had breakfast in the inn and it was very good. We also had our Thanksgiving turkey dinner with all the trimmings at the inn. The service is excellent and friendly as well! The front verandah is a perfect spot for a pre-dinner drink..and the inn is in a perfect location for walking to other places in the village of Ganges. I would be very happy to stay at the Salt Spring Inn if I am every back at Salt Spring Island (the two other couples travelling with us would agree as well.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Good Morning and a big thank you for your feedback.. We always want our guests to be comfortable with every aspect of our Inn.
We hope that you will enjoy another Salt Spring Island holiday in the future.
Cheers, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Spring Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabreeze Inne
Seabreeze Inne
#2 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 19 in Salt Spring Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Spring Inn

Property: Salt Spring Inn
Address: 132 Lower Ganges Road, British Columbia V8K 2S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Salt Spring Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Spring Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Spring Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Salt Spring’s finest restaurants & inns. The restaurant serves globally inspired cuisine made with locally harvested foods (Open for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch & dinner). The Inn's seven cozy rooms situates guests in the heart of Salt Spring Island, BC - walking distance to galleries, shops, marinas, the seaside boardwalk and the famous Saturday Outdoor Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Salt Spring Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Spring Hotel Salt Spring Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing