We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic week with some great people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Red Cats

Big Red Cats
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic week with some great people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

6 of us spent as many as 6 straight days skiing with Big Red Cats in February. Great snow! Some challenging skiing! Excellent guides! Some injuries and exhaustion, but Paula was very willing to work with you. This is a great organization all around.
Definitely recommend it! Hope to get back again in the future!
Choose expert or uber expert if you are looking to really rip and do quick changes in/out of cat.
Choose lower levels depending on how much more "leisurely" you want to be about it. We did both expert and advanced/expert and did very similar terrain. It definitely works best if you can get with a group that is really similar to your interest/speed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaulfamily, Owner at Big Red Cats, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
So glad that you had a good trip!
As you say, we do try to manage ability levels as best as we can, but there is often significant overlap between Advanced, Advanced/Expert, and Expert groups, as it is often hard for people to decide where their friends would fit in. The very best way to know exactly who you are skiing with is to bring your own group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great guides, fantastic boarding and skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Despite not having fresh snow for a week, our guides found powder stashes every day. Guides were very professional and knowledgeable, and gave our groups a lot of free reign when hitting the slopes. Overall a great experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day of skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Took a day away from skiing at Red Mountain to go out with Big Red Cats. Great day of untracked snow. The guides (Cory, Zowie & Karen from New Zealand) were very patient and they even helped us get all of the snow away from the bottom of our boots. Lunch and snacks were provided and they stretched the day to 9 fantastic runs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyDiver2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaulfamily, Owner at Big Red Cats, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your day - It's been a challenging snow year, and the guides are working really hard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great time.... we'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Came out to BC from Tri state area where there is currently NO skiing. Everyone we met in Rossland told us we shoulda been here last year, but honestly, for a bunch of skiers who are used to skiing ON snow, not IN snow this was a great first Cat skiing adventure.

An initial mix up allowed us to take a day trip to Whitewater thanks to some organizational help from Keiren (sp?) and his crew. That actually worked in our favor as some snow came in for our cat skiing day later in the week.

The guides were all personable, professional, and light hearted, but it was obvious that safety was their no. 1 one concern. I've never had anyone cater to my needs as a skier in this manner before. While conditions were a bit thin, the crew found us plenty of good lines and having Johnny photo along gave us awesome bragging rights when we got home.

Munchies in the cat were plentiful... sandwiches, home made cookies, apples, granola bars, water... even our vegan was taken care of!

Our day ended with one of our crew screwing up her knee, but thanks to the team a sled was there 1-2-3 and she was not only brought down the mountain safely, but was escorted to the local hospital.

I'll be back for sure!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank garetanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigRedKieren, Owner at Big Red Cats, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your day - and we look forward to having your group back in a more normal year with more regular snowfall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kicking Cat Skiing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

So much terrain, great tree skiing, fantastic snow, especially compared to any ski hill! Get out there and give it a try - you won't be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Red Cats also viewed

Rossland, Kootenay Rockies
Rossland, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Big Red Cats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing