We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hike through the forest....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butze Rapids Park and Trail

Butze Rapids Park and Trail
BC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quiet hike through the forest....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

An easy hike of about 5 km with some up and down, the trail winds through seond and old growth forests and along Fern Passage. It's within 10 minutes of Prince Rupert so easy to access. The Rapids were in between tide changes but the view was beautiful. The trail is well maintained and many parts have boardwalks to protect the surroundings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did the walk in the pouring rain and while we couldn't take as many pictures as we would have, it was still a wonderful hike in a west coast rainforest. The rapids themselves were hard to really see well but the hike along the lower water areas were beautiful. The walk itself had many different terrains from the rainforest look to a more tundra type of terrain. You felt like you were walking on two different hikes. Very well conditioned trail and we saw 3 joggers even in the wet conditions. Not a tough hike at all but long enough that someone with limited endurance or mobility would definitely be quite challenged.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SportsFanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Easy and enjoyable walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great little enjoyable rainforest walk with some excellent views. The rapids can only been seen during tide changes which were weren't fortunate to catch but we would still do the walk again rapids or not.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great walk through temperate rainforest. Have to pick your time for the rapids to see the change in direction.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice little walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well groomed trail that forms a loop and is very scenic. It's a bit noisy at first as it follows along the highway, but then descends into the rainforest and goes along the water. When we walked it it was very busy, and we could see why as it is an easy walk of about 5 Kilometers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank caramello51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butze Rapids Park and Trail also viewed

Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 

Been to Butze Rapids Park and Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing