We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish & chips but go elsewhere for dessert”

Dolly's Fish Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips but go elsewhere for dessert”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fantanstic fish and chips here but the desserts are limited and the fruit pie we had was pretty awful. Definitely recommend it for the fish dishes though - wide selection, local, fresh, simply cooked and well presented.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    125
    46
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“First Rate Seafood”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a fish market and restaurant. The small restaurant is crowded with tables, occupied on the 2 occasions when we were there by many fishermen and boaters. I'm sure they know good seafood. No luxury or view here. Just a great menu of really good seafood. Worth every penny and worth the wait if there is no table available when you first walk in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best halibut ever tasted”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

As befits the 'Halibut Capital of the World', my husband's fish was exquisite – totally fresh and lightly cooked. My lime and chilli prawns were similarly amazing.

We ate here on two of the three nights we were in Prince Rupert; the second time we had to wait awhile, but the staff are well-organised and do their best with the tiny eating area.

They specialise in elegant, interesting tastes, and it's not too expensive; basically, they stick to doing one thing and doing it really well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteljunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Lucky to get a seat”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Ate:
Hallibut Fish n chips
Cream chowder
1/2 crab
Home made pie

Fast friendly service.
Casual atmosphere.
Few tables.
Call ahead for a reservation!
Don't forget to get some smoked salmon for the road.

Fantastic value for the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jellysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I"d like to rate higher bc it's such an institution, but...”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ordered the seafood combo...deep fried halibut, fries, deep fried scallops, deep fried shrimp smoked salmon Caesar salad. Great price at $22 as this would have cost more anywhere else. But way too much grease....if you live and die by the deep fryer, it limits creativity and innovation. Could they not have pan fried the shrimp and scallops?
Cosy atmosphere, fantastic reputation, wish we could have tried other things, but this was enough food for 2. More is not better, though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolly's Fish Market also viewed

Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 

Been to Dolly's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing