We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December Business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“December Business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Undergoing major renovation and there is lots of work is being undertaken by the owners. Despite the ongoing work, the hotel and rooms were clean. The work that has been completed so far is very nice. The designer has done a nice job with design and colours. When the renovations are complete I think this will be the nicest hotel in town.

Room Tip: Definitely select a room on the harbour side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmytimtimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to pass along your positive comments about Inn on the Harbour. We are excited about our renovations and agree that our designer has done a first-class job of choosing colours and materials to showcase our property. We expect the project to be complete by the end of April and in the meantime are doing all that we can to minimize inconvenience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you to Inn on the Harbour in the near future when you can enjoy the finished project. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    104
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
82
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I were on a 3 week trip through British Columbia and Alberta.
After arriving via Air Canada late in the afternoon, we were dropped by the bus from the airport directly across the road from the hotel.

We had booked a room with a view over the harbour and it was a very pleasant view of the ships and trains.

When we arrived, alterations were underway to install a lift but we didn't mind other than when, on our last day, our view was partially blocked by scaffolding and planks. When checking out, they happily gave us a reduced price for that minor inconvenience.

The bed was comfortable and the room very clean and quiet and we slept well. We weren't disturbed by the trains operating near by.

The breakfast was not quite to the same standard of other hotels we had stayed at being mainly cartoned cereals, cartoned yoghurt, plastic spoons, etc.
However, the hotel was very conveniently located to go on the AdventureTours Catamaran, the Northern Pacific Cannery Museum etc.

The staff organised a taxi so that we could get to the VIA Rail train terminal early on our final morning.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EcclesAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed the harbour view and waterfront activity and that you weren't disturbed by the renovations that were taking place. Our new harbour side breakfast room which will soon be complete will have more space which will allow us to add more items to our continental breakfast menu. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I expected quite a lot from this hotel, mainly based on reviews here.
We arrived late in at night after arriving by ferry; staff was friendly at the reception.

Renovation works were going on; we had to carry our stuff through an unfinished staircase, full of working stuff. Our room was OK from size, and we slept really well, but it was clearly also in need of renovation. you could see some smaller fixes had been done, but still this place really felt "old" and "overused".
Breakfast was very limited and there are hardly any chairs available so we skipped it.

I guess if we would have paid a lower price, would have been there after renovation or in a renovated room, or maybe at least at check in they would have mentionned something about the works ongoing (like a "apologies, we are doing renovations but assure you they won't bother you") or maybe have given a discount because of this (which in my opinion really was needed given the situation), we might have been quiet happy with our stay. Now we were a bit disapointed alas.

When in Prince Rupert, do not skip a visit to the North Pacific Cannery in Port Edward, a very charming and special place, worth a little detour!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We're sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations. Our contractors have worked hard to inconvenience our guests as little as possible. We did have some challenges with space in our breakfast room during busy times. We're excited that our new harbour side breakfast room will be complete within a few weeks and, with the increased space, we'll be able to add items to our breakfast offering. Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was located centrally and was quite reasonably priced. Lobby and breakfast room are nicely updated and clean. Room was clean but dated and stuffy. We had to run the table fan all night to stay comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxster180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We are two Australians who travelled through Alaska and Canada for nine weeks. We stayed at Inn on the Harbour for four nights, based on the reviews here, and we weren't disappointed. We were expecting the Inn to have renovators at work, which they did, and, fortunately, didn't find them a problem when we were there. Compared with most places where we stayed, we found the breakfast here was pretty good - scones, muffins, toast, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea or chocolate. We found the staff always friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable, the inn well located and within easy walking distance to everything. As advised by other reviewers we booked a room with a harbour view. We turned the chairs to face the very large window and enjoyed the beauty of an everchanging view. The sunsets were spectacular - see our two photos. And the trains coming & going immediately below the inn, added to the interest. On our trip we stayed in many hotels and B&Bs with nice views, and this place had the best view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frodo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to appreciate the harbour view and activity from your windows as well as the spectacular sunsets we've had in the past weeks. Our contractors have worked very hard not to be disruptive so we are happy to know you didn't find them a problem. Our renovations will be complete by the end of the year and we are excited about the changes we've made in the property. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay and for your kind comments. Hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived late from the ferry from Port Hardy and as the lift had not been finished installing we had to carry our own bags up the stairs. The taxi transfer from dock to hotel was $10. We booked a harbour view deluxe room and I'm sorry but these rooms do overlook the harbour but also the rail container sidings. The view is nice but expensive. Rooms are small and not what I would call deluxe just a run of the mill reasonable hotel room. Good modern (but too small) bathroom. The toilet in our bathroom moved when sat on and the ventilation fan is not sufficient to clear the mirror. There is another mirror but the light above this did not work. I mentioned these to reception and the toilet was fixed but the light wasn't.
A complementary breakfast is included and only consists of scones,muffins,toast and yoghurt. Juice,coffee,tea or chocolate. No cereals !! Which I missed.
The hotel is undergoing renovations but even when all completed I do not think it warrants the prices - our room at the Fairmont in Victoria did not cost as much and was much bigger and provided bathrobes,slippers and much better toiletries and more tea and coffee facilities. Here you just get a one cup at a time coffee maker (no kettle I did ask for one but they don't provide) and only two sachets of coffee and one of chocolate.
Rooms are reasonably quiet but what spoils your sleep are the noisy doors shutting - it is very hard to close them quietly from the outside and as breakfast is from 5am - 10 am the doors start top open and close from then and when people come in late in the evening.
The other hotels in town did not look that great all a bit grim but I can't comment on the rooms. What did look good was the Pioneer inn hostel where you can book an ensuite room at less than half the price of a room here and a free station/ferry shuttle.

Room Tip: If you don't intend spending any time in your room don't pay for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsyanne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that Inn on the Harbour did not meet your expectations. Our elevator is now operating . . . unfortunately you missed it by just a few days. Most of our guests enjoy the view of the harbour and find the activity on the water and in the rail yard below interesting to watch. Once our new harbour view breakfast room is completed we will be adding some items, including cereals, to our breakfast menu. We're proud of our property and work hard to make our guests welcome and comfortable. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice property, still be renovated in some areas but our room was very nice, clean, comfortable and a good size. Elevator is not in use yet as they are waiting for it to be approved - so if you travel with a ton of stuff like we do, ask for a lower level room. WIFI is a little slow but no biggie. Would stay here again for sure. Front desk staff very helpful and knowledgeable about the area so if you have any questions just ask them.

Room Tip: Go for the waterview room, we took a mtn. view but it should really be called downtown streets and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrufgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay at Inn on the Harbour. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Prince Rupert. Our elevator is now operating so you won't have to worry about carrying bags next time you are with us. We're excited about our renovations . . . hope you'll have a chance to see them soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.3 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Property: Inn on the Harbour
Address: 720 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Harbour is situated on a bluff overlooking the busy Prince Rupert harbour. More than half of our rooms have a view of the Pacific ocean. Within walking distance of shopping, services and attractions, Inn on the Harbour is ideally located in the heart of Prince Rupert. We are steps away from the bus drop-off for airlines and Greyhound bus and just a short drive from ferry and rail terminals. We are pleased to offer a smoke-free environment for the comfort of our guests as well as free wi-fi and a complimentary continental breakfast. We have an elevator for the convenience of our guests. Tastefully appointed rooms in a number of configurations make us the ideal choice for families and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing