We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room with a great view”
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Big room with a great view”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

In many ways it beats the major local competition (The Crest Hotel) with spacious rooms and more reasonable prices.
*Small fridge in the room
*Flat screen TV
*Dated bathroom
*Cozy bed with a great duvet
*Fabulous scenery from harbour view rooms
*Complimentary breakfast snacks including muffins, scones, toast, yogurt, and coffee.

Room Tip: Close to airport shuttle service
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    104
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
82
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Arriving late because of train delay, we had to haul cumbersome luggage down a flight of stairs to a tiny, dreary room with sink and fan not funcitoing and carpet soiled. Next day we were moved up a floor to a refurbished room that was still tiny but finished and with a view of the harbor and train yard. Staff were often absent at the desk and seemed annoyed that there were guests checking in and asking questions etc. Minimal "breakfast", furniture dirty and un- inviting. very noisy as floors and walls are not properly insulated. An elevator is being installed for better access and top floor might be quieter and have better view but the Crest Hotel is the better place to stay in Prince Rupert.

Room Tip: try third floor, harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

On a quick call the staff acommodated our needs. They made special effort for us to have an eaelu breakfast @ 4:30 am. We had bookef a fishing trip and needed an early breakfast. I was impressed with their hot coffee, chillef juice and nice pastries. Thankyou staff!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyR538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The waterfront rooms have a nice view and the rooms are being greatly improved when I was there. I stayed in an older room and then got moved to a newer one, both were clean but the newer renovations are significant and the service is excellent.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast is too basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonsmoker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Finding a hotel to the standard expected elsewhere in Canada is difficult in Prince Rupert. The Crest is overly expensive and has iffy reviews. The Inn on the Harbour appears to offer the 'best of the rest' option at a much lower price. On our stay we could see that the owners are uprating the facilities, including adding a lift (elevator to our transatlantic friends) and other enhancements which will make this hotel an even better choice.
We had a harbour view room, would recommend requesting a room on level 2 or 3, as in ours on level 1 there was creaking as the guest upstairs got up early at 4pm to go fishing on both mornings. Many guests get up at 5pm to catch the ferry or go fishing. However, the view was brilliant and worth the premium charge especially as we were able to watch the Canada day firework display from our bedroom window. The barge was placed in the harbour in front of our bedroom.
The staff were friendly and appeared genuinely helpful, even at 5pm when the buffet breakfast is made available for guests leaving to catch the ferry.


.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Superb view on the Harbour on one side and the Tim Horton on the other.
The ladies at the desk were very nice and helpful.
Prince Rupert is a tiny city, not much to offer but the nicest landscape on earth (when not raining!).The Inn is walking distance to everything you must see.
The airport shuttle stop is in front on the other side of the street, perfect when you got lots of luggages to carry.
We had a very good stay,compare to the Hotels around there's no hesitation go for this one and forget about the big cement blocks.

Room Tip: Harbour view for a few more $...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NG_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I frequently travel to Prince Rupert for business and have stayed at many of the local hotels. This is by far my favorite hotel in Prince Rupert for business travel. The rooms are cozy, beds are super comfy and there's an assortment of pillows to choose from. The management and staff has always been incredibly helpful and accomodating.
The continental breakfast is good but I wish they'd serve more fruit.
The mall, shops, and downtown are within walking distance.
I have never had an allergic reaction to the room because of detergents, cigarettes, or animals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraFehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Property: Inn on the Harbour
Address: 720 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Harbour is situated on a bluff overlooking the busy Prince Rupert harbour. More than half of our rooms have a view of the Pacific ocean. Within walking distance of shopping, services and attractions, Inn on the Harbour is ideally located in the heart of Prince Rupert. We are steps away from the bus drop-off for airlines and Greyhound bus and just a short drive from ferry and rail terminals. We are pleased to offer a smoke-free environment for the comfort of our guests as well as free wi-fi and a complimentary continental breakfast. We have an elevator for the convenience of our guests. Tastefully appointed rooms in a number of configurations make us the ideal choice for families and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing