We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel does have a nice view of the harbor, albeit the harbor doesn't have much going on and there are railroad tracks between you and the view. After that it's pretty much downhill.

We had a room on the first floor, which is actually down a flight of stairs from the lobby area. The room's furniture and bedding had been updated but that's about all you could say about it.

We have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years and have never been in one where the carpet was so dirty. It was an absolute disgrace. There is no air conditioning, not that we needed it, but the window opens. The problem is that the last guest had opened it and the crank was broken and there was no way to close it. Reported the window problem to the front desk and 2 days later it as still not fixed. I'm sure the floor sank at least an inch or more from the door to the window across the room. My wife thought we were going to fall out on the railroad tracks. You could see whether the lights were on in the room from the hallway because the door fit so badly. The breakfast was probably the most basic one we've ever seen. Toast, muffins etc. with coffee and juice displayed in a very small room that was so small the muffins had to be placed on a coffee table by the window.

Now to be fair the place is under some pretty major renovations which include the installation of an elevator, but it's going to take a lot more than putting an elevator in to get us back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: May want to stay away from this hotel until the renovations are finished. Don't take a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rj494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stopped over at the Inn on the Harbour from the ferry before catching the Skeena train. Very comfortable beds, newly renovated rooms. Every thing you need for an overnight stay. Staff are really friendly. The ocean view rooms are brilliant - you could just sit by the window all day with binoculars.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingernutcooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arrived on the ferry at 2 a.m. We had the family mountainside room. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here twice now going to and from Alaska and would recommend this hotel. A good choice for a hotel in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from weekend with another couple. We had an ocean view room (great), they had a "parking lot" view. Their room was nice BUT the heat would NOT turn off & if they opened the window it was too noisy to sleep so they roasted all night. Told staff at the desk in the morning but on our return late afternoon it was still an oven (thermostat was "off"). Went back to desk where a different staff member moved them to an ocean view room and they had a good sleep! Staff at the desk is generally very pleasant & efficient. Continental breakfast is very basic (toast, yogurt, muffins) but will do....I'm a cereal person but was OK. Tim Hortens is just up the block:) Rooms are nicely furnished & linens etc. very nice. Noise does travel from upstairs rooms...would probably ask for the next floor up next time.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ocean-view. Check your heating system before settling in! I would go to upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our harbour rooms do have a wonderful view and I'm glad you were able to enjoy it. We have had some issues with the heating in a few of our rooms and are working to correct that. I'm pleased that we were able to upgrade your friends to a harbour view room where they were more comfortable. As part of our renovations, we are completely redoing our parking lot and landscaping so that the cityside rooms will have a more pleasant view in the future. We are also moving our breakfast room to the harbour side of the building and adding a deck so that all of our guests will be able to enjoy the view that we are so proud of. Once our new breakfast room is complete, we will be adding some additional breakfast items to the selection . . . one of them being cereal. We look forward to welcoming you to Inn on the Harbour again the next time you visit Prince Rupert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Hotel is excellent for the B.C. Ferry connection, which was the reason for or stay. On arrival we were met with the sound of building work, but the room was ready early and had a great view out to sea. It was not long before we realised we had no heating, called reception who kindly organised a maintenance man. After he declared it would not be fixed today and that he would ask for us to have a change of rooms, we we're a little surprised to be just handed a tiny fan heater by a friendly lady. The room was cold, the view was lovely, but for the money we would have hoped for a little more attention, it was 5 degrees and windy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Thank you for telling us about your experience with our property on your recent visit to Prince Rupert. I'm sorry that you experienced problems with the heating in your room. Unfortunately, we had an unexpected malfunction in our heating system that affected a number of rooms. Although we do try to relocate guests to other rooms if there is a problem of any kind, we were very busy while you were here and were unable to move you. I'm glad that you enjoyed the view of our beautiful harbour from your room. We are in the midst of renovations, but our contractors are sensitive to the comfort of our guests and make every effort to confine the building noise to the time period of 9am to 6pm. We're excited that we'll soon have an elevator and a new and larger breakfast room with a deck on the harbour side of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us at Inn on the Harbour. We hope to welcome you again some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Friends and myself spent three excellent nights at the Inn on the Harbour in Prince Rupert BC. the service was 5 star as well as the rooms. The hospitality was second to none.. The continental Breakfast was excellent. Both the room and the hotel were spotless. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. Dodie From Prince George BC.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are excellent. If you want a room with water view you will pay a little more but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such great comments about your stay with us at Inn on the Harbour in Prince Rupert. We're proud of our property and of our people and we're always pleased to hear that we've provided guests with a positive experience. Nothing nice than to earn an 'awesome'. We hope to be able to welcome you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights between arriving by ferry and departing by train. They are renovating the entry area putting in a lift but it didn't impact on the experience. The room was spacious with separate chairs and table by the expansive window so you could utilise the provided binoculars. The included breakfast was a nice bonus.

Just one issue for us. It was very cold while we visited and our rooms heating did not work. As it was Easter the was no maintenance to take care of it.

While there is no in house restaurant the staff recommended a couple of options which was perfect. We walked to the shops, waterfront and Cow Bay. All good.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnHar, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn on the Harbour. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased that our renovations did not detract from your positive experience here. We're excited that we'll soon have an elevator to add to the comfort and convenience of our guests.

I'd like to apologize for the problem with the heating in your room. I have followed up with the associate who assisted you and with our maintenance department and have arranged to have the problem corrected. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Inn on the Harbour on a future visit to Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.3 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Address: 720 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $116 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Harbour is situated on a bluff overlooking the busy Prince Rupert harbour. More than half of our rooms have a view of the Pacific ocean. Within walking distance of shopping, services and attractions, Inn on the Harbour is ideally located in the heart of Prince Rupert. We are steps away from the bus drop-off for airlines and Greyhound bus and just a short drive from ferry and rail terminals. We are pleased to offer a smoke-free environment for the comfort of our guests as well as free wi-fi and a complimentary continental breakfast. We have an elevator for the convenience of our guests. Tastefully appointed rooms in a number of configurations make us the ideal choice for families and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing