We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Certainly Stay There Again”
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Friendly, very helpful front desk; very clean room; room quite spacious; adequate continental breakfast; central to many attractions; great view of the harbour; spend a few dollars extra to get the harbour view because it is well worth it; my wife loved the place and enjoyed just sitting and watching the changing harbour view; weather was beautiful but that part is not guaranteed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ckrooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Room: King Deluxe, top floor, ocean view, 2 night stay

The building itself is very 1970’s but don’t let that fool you. The rooms have been updated to a high standard.

Highlights

High standard of decor in the room. Good lighting that made the room feel cozy at night.

Very clean

Big picture window with a great water view and a comfy seating area from which to enjoy it. We really enjoyed watching all the comings and goings of the boats, seaplanes, eagles and islands beyond.

Bathroom was small but well formed, updated, clean and modern

Complimentary breakfast was above average and replenished frequently

Free Wifi

Lowlights

Railway sidings are located below the hotel. We didn’t find that this detracted from the view but we did experience a little bit of noise from train horns on the first morning of our stay.

Room was on the small side

Hallways do not seem to have been as sympathetically updated as the rooms. The hallway carpet is very worn and could do with being replaced.

There isn’t an elevator.

We had a really enjoyable and comfortable stay here and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is an "oldie, but goodie" . We had a big room overlooking the harbour and the hotel even provided binoculars! We found it comfortable, staff were friendly and the breakfast was included. You can walk to "CowBay" which is probably the most interesting section of downtown Prince Rupert. There is a cruise ship terminal, a waterfront walkway and many shops featuring excellent art and craft work.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyjazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

very small rooms, thin walls, in need of renovation, if you are staying here, get a room facing the ocean as the ones facing the car park, epic fail!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam_l_duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Was clean, had great views on the harbor side, good location and the staff were nice. However, the room and hallway were leaning to portside. Walls are thin though no rowdy's here. The showerhead is looow and the water was hot or cold. Most everything updated except the bathroom. Tad pricey because of this.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Need4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Welcoming, efficient staff when we arrived in the middle of the night after the long ferry ride from Pt Hardy. Nice comfortable room a little bit on the pricey side but about average for Prince Rupert. A bonus is the included continental breakfast which is self serve.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Loved the duvets and the just like home feeling. Continental breakfast was great

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.3 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Address: 720 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $114 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Harbour is situated on a bluff overlooking the busy Prince Rupert harbour. More than half of our rooms have a view of the Pacific ocean. Within walking distance of shopping, services and attractions, Inn on the Harbour is ideally located in the heart of Prince Rupert. We are steps away from the bus drop-off for airlines and Greyhound bus and just a short drive from ferry and rail terminals. We are pleased to offer a smoke-free environment for the comfort of our guests as well as free wi-fi and a complimentary continental breakfast. We have an elevator for the convenience of our guests. Tastefully appointed rooms in a number of configurations make us the ideal choice for families and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing