We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Prince Rupert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Arriving at Tall Trees (which was very easy to find) was like arriving back home. It had a great feel and it was easy to put your feet up and relax. We were greeted by the host Jaimie with a big smile and questions about our drive up. We stayed in the South Suite, it had a very comfortable king sized bed (I wanted to take it home) and a lovely soaker tub. Jaimie offered us a cup of tea and a homemade blueberry muffin and then we unpacked our things for our three night stay. We explored the area (the awesome trail, right in the backyard!) the Cannery and the Museum of Northern British Columbia. The quirky shops in Prince Rupert kept us busy for hours, and with the delicious breakfasts that Jaimie made us (she makes killer French toast!) we had all the energy we needed to explore all day! I will be back to Tall Trees again and would definitely recommend it to friends, family and anyone looking for a home away from home. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassiopeia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tall Trees B&B for one night before heading on to Alaska - what a special treat. We stayed in the North Suite (which we highly recommend) The room was enormous with King sized bed and a very large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub that was excellent after a busy day full of hiking and taking in the sites of cow bay.
The host Jaimie was wonderful, and full of helpful information on things to see and do on our very short stay in town. She directed us to a trail just behind the house that was outstanding, and later sent us to Dolly's where we enjoyed all the fresh seafood we could eat. For the rest of the evening we relaxed and enjoyed a movie from the large movie selection which was located just outside of our room.
For breakfast in the morning she spoiled us by making belgian waffles with berries and syrup. We had such a wonderful stay that I do not feel I need to point out any faults - however I will say that the television was rather far from the bed, and the room would benefit from adding a couple of chairs to be closer.
We will definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to stay at a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My friend and I had planned our child/husband free getaway months ago and were really looking forward to our stay at tall trees (given the reviews); however when we arrived we were VERY disappointed. Our host, while very nice, was not there to greet us so we let ourselves in. Our first impression was the place had a musty smell and was not clean. The photos of the room were deceiving (much smaller) and as we have both stayed at b & b's in the past, and had amazing experiences to compare this to, we were also very disappointed with the breakfasts. Jamie, the host, was very helpful however she was not around very much and as a result we ended up having to greet guests a couple of times, once was at 11pm at night (and we were already in bed). Tall trees was in a great location but given what we paid and our dissatisfaction we would not recommend tall trees to anyone and we certainly will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamarmstrong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My stay at Tall Trees was my first bed and breakfast experience and I wasn't sure what to expect. When I travel for business I am used to rather high-end accommodations. If Tall Trees is typical of a bed and breakfast experience, this will be my preferred accommodations in the future. This place is a little gem! And Jaimie is an amazing hostess! I was given a warm greeting and a complimentary glass of wine. She showed me to my room where there was a mini-fridge with drinks and snacks (no extra charge) and plenty of toiletries. Very clean and roomy. I did a little hike in the forest directly behind the house (easy access by a path directly beside the house). This is a lovely location. It's also an easy walk to "town" for stores/restaurants (and Jaimie was spot-on with her suggestion for dinner - wish I could remember the restaurant). Jaimie prepared a great breakfast the next day. She is very friendly and the place is warm and cozy. I would highly recommend Tall Trees to anyone looking to be a little spoiled on their trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lori m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We really really wanted to like this place, the pro shots sold us, as well as the reviews. It was to have been our splash-out within 17 nights on the road and ferry.
This review is based on a 1 nite stay.
Regrettably, to call this elegant with luxurious touches emphasizing fine dining and wine is a stretch.
We travel BnB for the personal service and intimacy with the neighbourhood. This requires staff to be on site and or available, especially at check-in. Jaime was out of town for a dental so we were left a note with instructions, apparently this is not uncommon. That meant we had to find our own way around town (pretty easy), pick out a food joint (Dolly's Fish Market---great if u like grease), figure out the wifi and TV (a rare luxury for us), none of which we could do despite 4 uni degrees between us.
The east suite was indeed large, perhaps over-sized. It lacked a chair or two, and dressers or luggage stands as all our gear had to be left on the floor. Towels were past their shelf-life, bathroom lacked space to lay out your toiletries (though they incl some), no bathrobe, king bed with thick cottony sheets (after the ferry it was great).The build of the home isn't so much eclectic as it is uneven in design, repair and upkeep. Anywhere else this can be overlooked and not even noticed.
We regret we didn't have time to check out the nearby trail.
But for $120 after such a professional website, reviews and photos, one should expect and receive more.
Jamie did come through and assist with our exit strategy, and she is nice. Homemade muffins were plentiful and yummy, and she directed us to a community bottle of wine. Her breakfast was made to order and superb. But even she could not save unrealized expectations and an over-priced, over-rated BnB.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived late off the ferry so maybe that and being from the UK, made ours unlike the very favourable reviews of other travellers! Being offered a decent cup of tea would have been very welcome(and I am sure the very pleasant lass in charge would have made us one had we asked but with two other couples arriving at the same time, it seemed a bit unfair) but being offered a bottle opener and popcorn! was just bizarre!! Some kind of building work was in process from our room, we could not make no sense of TV or air conditioning despite instructions - but it was only one night. Breakfast produced a very unusual scrambled egg, more fried and scrunched, but very friendly...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerwoodChurchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the large upstairs Jacuzzi room for 2 nights before taking the ferry to Haida Gwaii, then for a night in another upstairs bedroom with a balcony over the back yard when we returned from Haida Gwaii. As others have said, the outside does not hint at the modern design and amenities inside. The Jacuzzi room had a large bed and a huge bathroom. There were all kinds of lotions and potions, aroma oils, candles, robes and snacks waiting for us when we arrived. Jaimie was super helpful and accommodating. We ate twice at a seafood restaurant she recommended. On our return we found a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room, which we enjoyed on the balcony. The rooms are spaced in such a way that you really don't get any sound from other rooms, at least upstairs. There are so many extra amenities and Jaimie is so accommodating that I don't want to criticize anything. So I'll just point out a few things to know. The large Jacuzzi room also has bunkbeds. These apparently replaced a dresser. So despite the size of the room, you can't really unpack. We ended up using the bunkbed for clothing "shelves." The bathroom with the Jacuzzi tub is huge and luxurious. It also has a separate shower. The pedestal sink is elegant, but leaves no place to put a toilet kit. The toilet is in a separate alcove at the end of the bathroom, but has no separate door. So it would have seemed weird for one of us to use the toilet while the other was using the sink, shower or tub. Also, the bedroom is so large that the flat screen t.v. is very far away from the bed, yet there is no chair in the room to sit and watch t.v. other than the desk chair. One side of the large bed lacks a reading lamp. When we stayed 2 nights, the room was not serviced. The waste basket was still full when we returned the second evening. The owner, heavily featured on the web site, is off pursuing other business interests. We never met her. Jaimie has been hired for a year to run the place. She is amazing, doing everything including cooking whatever you want for breakfast at whatever time you want. When we had to catch a very early ferry she baked muffins the night before. She didn't just leave them for us. She got up at 5:00 a.m. to give us fully packed goody bags to take with us and see us off. But she is a one-person operation who cannot be everywhere at once. After a very long drive in the rain to get to Prince Rupert, we were expecting the usual warm B&B greeting when we arrived. There was only a note taped to the door. After awhile we called Jaimie's cell phone and she immediately returned to the house to help us. But on our second stay my wife encountered a guest who was also befuddled at not having met any owner or manager. There's also none of the cutesy B&B touches, pitchers, or serving pieces at breakfast. If you want milk or creamer, it will be grocery store cartons on the table. So yes, the place is incredible in many ways. While so much thought has gone into all the extra amenities, we would have appreciated more attention to the basics, like a personal greeting when we arrived in the early evening, a reading lamp next to the bed, a place at the sink to put a toilet kit, and a dresser to store clothes. But don't get me wrong. It's still a great value with uncommon amenities and service in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laborman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.7 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle Bluff Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Pillsbury Guest House
Pillsbury Guest House
#6 of 12 in Prince Rupert
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast

Address: 412 8th Ave E, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 2M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $80 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique spa inspired bed and breakfast nestled alongside the beautiful British Columbian rainforest. A must stay location for all wine and food enthusiasts and wilderness lovers. We are a pet friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing