We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty owner and loud guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty owner and loud guests”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The wife half of the couple who runs this place is one nasty piece of work who wouldn't put my prize fish catch in their large , empty deep freezer as she claimed it "is only for commercial catch:" , while her husband had no problem putting it there. When I asked her why, she threatened to throw me out. Not to mention, they allow guests in at 5am with hyper kids running around and screaming with no respect for other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
17
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the new two bedroom apartments. Everything is new and comfortable, clean and spacious. Other than street noise the place was excellent, would definately recommend it. We fished when we were there and attained access to the on site freezer to help with the fish every night.

Room Tip: For larger groups the 2 bedroom apartments are excellent. Choose the lower level as the stairs and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd154921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at. Very nice facilities, including wonderful showers and a pleasant deck full of flowers in front. It appears they are expanding and will have more private rooms in the future. Less than a 5 minute walk to a grocery store, restaurants and coffee shops. I will definitely stay there again when I'm in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyJohn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port vila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our BC tour and it was a gem find! We had a cosy basement room with a super comfortable bed and plush furnishings. All amenities were available including a great coin operated laundry and a huge downstairs kitchen fully equipped for cheap and easy home dining. The location was quiet and safe and within walking distance of the town and harbour. All in all this was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebellePortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a wonderful and very well priced private room with an ensuite too! It was furnished like a hotel, not a hostel, with a fridge, TV, desk, but at hostel prices. The place was very quiet. The only drawback was the messy (but clean) and under supplied kitchen - there were very few bowls and no oven trays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Clean, quiet, and cheap. Why go anywhere else? I stayed here a few days in April waiting for a ferry to Alaska. I stayed in a shared dorm and it fit the bill perfectly. Bed was comfortable. Sheets were clean. Kitchen was small but reasonably well-appointed. I want to stress how well-kept this place is. Everything was immaculately clean and the furniture and appliances were modern and well-maintained. Free wifi. Average price for a hostel and cheaper than anything else in town. Check this place out if you have the misfortune to be stuck in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very nice owners, clean, comfortable and safe. A lot of room options, especially for families. Parking is available and the neighborhood is very nice and peaceful. This is not a crowded place like the Pioneer. Also, the owners let you store gear for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celestino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Prince Rupert
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rooster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rooster Guesthouse

Property: Black Rooster Guesthouse
Address: 501 6th Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1Z7, Canada (Formerly Black Rooster RoadHouse)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Rooster Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rooster Roadhouse is a traveler's paradise: comfortable lodging at an affordable price. We are minutes walk from downtown, college, hospital, golf and swimming. Our high standard accommodation and uniquely designed building is sure to please. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Rooster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing