We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-brainer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A no-brainer”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Clean, quiet, and cheap. Why go anywhere else? I stayed here a few days in April waiting for a ferry to Alaska. I stayed in a shared dorm and it fit the bill perfectly. Bed was comfortable. Sheets were clean. Kitchen was small but reasonably well-appointed. I want to stress how well-kept this place is. Everything was immaculately clean and the furniture and appliances were modern and well-maintained. Free wifi. Average price for a hostel and cheaper than anything else in town. Check this place out if you have the misfortune to be stuck in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
18
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very nice owners, clean, comfortable and safe. A lot of room options, especially for families. Parking is available and the neighborhood is very nice and peaceful. This is not a crowded place like the Pioneer. Also, the owners let you store gear for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celestino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Black rooster guesthouse this June during Prince Ruperts seafest weekend. I enjoyed the location, only 5 min from down town and the water front. Owners were very friendly and accommodated my friends and I with all our needs. It's a cozy comfortable stay, well maintained with a tasty interior design! The price was reasonable as well. I would visit the rooster house again:)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsogiannou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Comfortable, clean and adequate. Stayed there three nights with a group that were fishing in the area. Rooms were a bit small, but very clean. Kitchen and sitting rooms available for the using. Quite at night no problems. Wa very leery abot staying at a hostel, but ths was a geat experience. Parked the boat and other vehicles and had no problems. Staff was great and very helpful and accommodating to all of our needs.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd154921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Black Rooster exceeded our expectations. The guest house was spotlessly clean and had newly decorated rooms and bathrooms. The rooms (including our bathroom) had heating throughout and our bedroom was very secure. We were picked up from the ferry terminal at no charge. We had an exceptionally comfortable stay and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We thank the management for providing an outstanding quality of accommodation for us to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This place was great-you get a private room with phone and TV. There was internet, coffee shop and met some great people. It did get a little noisy at night with some drunken young people outside (not at the hostel).

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanneleannadanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Very good location. It is a simple cheap accomodation. We liked the kitchen where we could make breakfast. The manager and his son were helpful and friendly - they've renovated the place by themselves - hard work.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senorafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Prince Rupert
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rooster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rooster Guesthouse

Property: Black Rooster Guesthouse
Address: 501 6th Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1Z7, Canada (Formerly Black Rooster RoadHouse)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Rooster Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rooster Roadhouse is a traveler's paradise: comfortable lodging at an affordable price. We are minutes walk from downtown, college, hospital, golf and swimming. Our high standard accommodation and uniquely designed building is sure to please. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Black Rooster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing