We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great temporary home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great temporary home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Pioneer's Inn has been a great temporary home for two nights. Very lovely from the outside already; rooms are simple, but very clean and just "right". Laundry and kitchen facilities were great, and we met a nice and diverse group starting from younger backpackers to older couples. If we had to wait for the ferry to Alaska in Prince Rupert again, we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelOlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    72
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
76
106
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Traveled solo around BC. My stay at the hostel was warm and friendly. Met some great folks from all around the globe. Within walking distance to town thus we had several brekfast options in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tarcrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I did not stay at the Pioneer Backpackers Inn due to a medical emergency the day I was to arrive. I was not able to call the front desk. I was traveling alone. The next day I received a phone call from the front desk staff very rudely informing me that I would be charged full price for the night. I tried to explain to her that I had had a medical emergency but all she did was to be so insistent that I had caused the hotel a great inconvenience and that my punishment was to pay for the hotel night. I felt very very bad about this situation, and I will never, NEVER stay there, nor will I ever recommend it to anyone I know who is passing through Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marye214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy A, Owner at Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Customer,
A reservation is a contract between a guest and an accommodations provider whereby a guest guarantees payment for the night booked, and a hotel guarantees that the room will be available when the guests arrives.

We ask for a minimum of 48 hours cancellation notice. Even a phone call that same day to advise you weren't able to make it would have been a courtesy, as we would of been happy to sell the room to another customer - of which we turned away many for that night.

We had to contact you directly the following morning. It was a courtesy call from us to find out why you had not arrived, and if you would be requiring your second night - which we did not charge you for.

You informed me during our telephone conversation that you had meant to phone the day before but had simply forgotten. So you can imagine my surprise at seeing a very unhappy review claiming a medical emergency the day of your reservation...

Please be aware that any hotel would have done the same thing and held you accountable after turning away many guests. Travel insurance is always an excellent choice when traveling, as your insurance can re-imburse you for any valid medical emergencies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for about 3 weeks. It was always clean and tidy. They staff were all friendly and helpful.
And it's walking distance to restaurants, cafés and stores. Everything you could want really. I have no complaints at all. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 322Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Two "quite-senior" seniors, travelling light, on two backpacks, have now spent two three-day visits at Pioneer BP. in Prince Rupert AB. Highly recommend it. This is an older property in the historic Cow Bay area, close to downtown. It is ingeniously set up and maintained for the back-packing traffic. Rules are in place and enforced gently; e.g. The free computer access has a maximum of 20 minutes if some is waiting. Note "free". Suzanne and Christie have been extremely helpful in every way, from handling cancellation and re-booking to giving local directions. Also have arrangements for discounts for residents with local restaurants (try Cowpacino's coffee shop for lunch), and tour operations (whale-watching - that's great, too).

Satisfied guests, Gordon and Eveline..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I loved my stay here at the Pioneer Inn because its cozy, very nice renovated with lots of colors and charm, very clean, a dorm where everybody has its own single bed, lots of bathrooms, every of them is private (WC included), a nice and spaciously back yard. The kitchen is very well stuffed, coffee and tea are complimentary. The hostel is placed very near to downtown, Safeway and Cow Bay. Greyhound is a 10-15 min walk away, a taxi is only about 5$. If its to rainy you can watch DVDs, TV, read or go to the library which is only a 5 min walk away. Laundry costs around 5$, washer, dryer, detergent included. If you have something to storage ask for the basement, not every staff member offered it by himself but it is no problem if you ask for it. In my case I wasn't informed by this and had to handle with wet stuff what was the only thing which was a bit a shame because it brought additional work and a lost of time to me. But as I said it is a really nice place to stay with lots of comfort and very helpful staff members. Try it out!

Room Tip: Dorm: In my opinion the two beds close to the door are a bit less comfy in case you like to stay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelsmile2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived into Prince Rupert from Vancouver later than expected as the airport was closed due to poor visibility. We were flown into Terrace, waited 45 minutes or so for the bus with outgoing passengers to arrive, and then were bused to Rupert (a two hour trip along the Skeena River with great views. So really--a bonus!)
I called Pioneer and they made arrangements should we arrive later than their closing hours.
The walk from the airport bus drop off point at the Highliner Plaza is longer than one thinks, so if not young and fit then definitely call a cab!
Can I just say that the bed in our private room was one of the most comfortable I've had in all my travels. Amazing!
WiFi access was no problem.
We were so late into Rupert that everything had well and truly closed for dinner, but there is a great pizza shop (Panago) almost opposite the Pioneer. A lifesaver and tasty to boot! We had enough left over to heat up for breakfast. That with my trusty coffee press and coffee carried everywhere, and we were good to go. We ate breakfast out in the backyard along with the deer and fawn that were munching grass.
After breakfast we were able to leave our luggage and explore the area.
A hidden gem is the Sunken Garden just down from the Pioneer. Entry is alongside the goldsmiths that shars a wall with the Pioneer (unfortunately closed but I did manage a visit on our return to Rupert)
Cow Bay which is so very close can be approched out through the Sunken Garden tunnel and down the hill with grand views all the way. We looked at the Port Interpretative Centre, and later stumbled upon Dolly's Seafood Restaurant (tiny but well worth waiting for delicious seafood)
The Pioneer Backpacker's is a great experience. Clean and comfortable! Our private room was super and modernized. The shower was excellent and I've already raved about the bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyes2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.2 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Prince Rupert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Black Rooster Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse

Property: Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse
Address: 167 3rd Ave E | Cow Bay, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1K4, Canada (Formerly Pioneer Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bright and cozy guesthouse is located in the premium tourism district of Cow Bay. This colorful area is the tourist hub of the city, where Wildlife Tour companies, coffee shops, pub, restaurants, and boutique shopping will be found. We are only one block from the waterfront and ATLIN terminals, conveniently located near the Tourist information center, museums, and the Port Interpretive center/Tourist Information Center. Private en-suite bathrooms, private rooms with shared baths and dormitory style rooms are all available for every budget. We offer a safe, clean, and family oriented environment with international flair for travelers of all ages. We would love to share tips of what to see in the area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cow Bay Pioneer Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing