We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location to get away - work retreat.”
Cassiar Cannery - iconic Guest Houses looking towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cassiar Cannery - iconic Guest Houses looking towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - Steelhead House - porching Cassiar Cannery - zen view towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Cassiar Cannery - iconic Guest Houses looking towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - Steelhead House - porching
Cassiar Cannery - zen view towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - Cassiar 56 at sunset
Cassiar Cannery - heritage houses
Cassiar Cannery - porch on Sockeye House
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - kitchen to second bedroom
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - kitchen
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House living room
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - living room
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - master bedroom
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - Eating Nook
Cassiar Cannery - Sockeye House - middle bedroom
Cassiar Cannery - sunrise towards the Skeena
Cassiar Cannery - Coho House (1BR) extremely comfortable bed
Cassiar Cannery - Coho House (1BR) kitchen
Cassiar Cannery - sunset over the docks
Cassiar Cannery - rainbow - beautiful in any light
Cassiar Cannery - clubhouse and houses towards the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - VIA Rail pick up
Cassiar Cannery's neighbour - North Pacific Cannery Museum, A National Historic Site
Cassiar Cannery - Osland Pass
Cassiar Cannery - Osland - an old Icelandic community
Cassiar Cannery - dawn
Cassiar Cannery - Port Edward Marina - where guests keep and launch their boats - 10 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Prince Rupert, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Erin A
Kitimat, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic location to get away - work retreat.”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the minute we arrived for our work retreat Justin and Mark were fabulous hosts - the setting and layout were absolutely stunning - perfect to get away for 3 days and have a relaxing, peaceful stay with co-workers. The beds were more comfortable than a high end hotel which created restful sleeps. Would certainly consider this for family reunion or a get away with my husband. Stunning views of the beautiful nature of Northern BC were amazing the entire time we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the postive interaction with the owners.
Liked least: Our time was too short there.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review! We really enjoyed being included in your company retreat. For us, the time went very quickly and we loved listening to all the laughter! Thanks so much for coming to the Cassiar Cannery and we hope we see you again! Justine and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunnaMi...
Terrace, Canada
1 review
“A perfect weekend getaway.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Owners Mark and Justine are stewards of what can only be described as a magical place. The warm and welcoming environment was greatly appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2015
There is something remarkable about this place! Mark and I are so pleased to be included in your weekend escape! Perfect weather and new friend - can't get better than that. See you next time! Justine and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake S
1 review
“Step back in time”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this place at that last minute while preparing for some work I had to do in the Prince Rupert area. The alternative would have likely been a motel in Rupert which I am sure would have been fine. But in my experience picking the place that is slightly removed and has some character is generally the better way to go. That was most definitely the case this time around.

Cassiar is like a little time capsule at the end of the road (it is quite literally at the end of the road). I do not know the exact dates and history of the cannery, I probably should have asked Mark or Justine, but after a hard day of work it was just nice to put my feet up in the beautiful cabin and look out at the beach or fire up the BBQ and make some dinner.

The cabins are spacious, immaculate and well outfitted with anything you need. If there is something you don't find Mark or Justine are more than happy to help. Time and time again they both went far beyond what is expected to help out. Yes this is the north coast of Canada and you kind of expect to find nice people but Mark and Justine....well I probably can't say enough so I will just leave it at that.

I will definitely be back to Cassiar. If you are looking for a place to stay in Rupert I suggest you head out of town a little and check it out. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people....Mark and Justine
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wilderness.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam W
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at the Cassiar Cannery in March of this year, the weather was cool but the cabin was nice and cozy. The cabins are well-appointed with stove, fridge, dishes and utensils, and if you were to knock on the door of the proprietors who live on site in a cabin of their own, they are more than happy to share different things and make sure you're comfortable. I loved sleeping so close to the ocean! It is right outside the front door, and beautiful views of the Skeena meeting the Pacific. Will definitely be back, perhaps when tourism season is over, because for me a lot of the appeal was the fact we had the whole beautiful place to ourselves! Peaceful & serene, exactly what I was hoping for! Thanks Cassiar Cannery!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivian D
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time in the middle of Port Edward natural landscape”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This August I had my second fishing trip to Beautiful British Columbia. And since first time we visited Port Edward we enjoyed our time @ Cassiar Cannery, we decided to visit them again...and it was a good decision.
This is why:
If your hobby is beautiful landscapes and great hospitality, Cassiar Cannery is your place. In the middle of nature but with easy access by car (be careful, drive slow, road has quite some shoulders), facing the channel to the ocean, clean location with all needed accommodation facilities, great barbecue next to the sea front...magic!

People there, it is a pleasure to meet them:
Justine, Mark and their young son Nicholas are there to make you feel like home. All you need is to ask them and solution is there.

We stayed in Sockeye house that is great, has a nice dining room, a nice living room on the the water front, great & comfortable beds.

Should you need some more details, feel free to write me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanlines, friendliness of owners.
Liked least: Lack of Internet & mobile phone coverage - it is the situation in the entire region, not only there.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK_4943
Victoria
1 review
“Great oceanfront houses with beautiful views!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Amazing place to stay! I had a great time. I really liked the oceanfront houses with a great deck and amazing views of the ocean and mountains in the Skeena River estuary. Amazing to stay at this historic salmon cannery in Inverness Passage. It was really nice having a BBQ on the deck overlooking the water and a well equipped kitchen to cook my own meals. Beautiful place to watch nature right at your doorstep! It was amazing watching the eagles soar and lots of salmon jumping. The house was nice and clean and had a nice bed and bathroom.The owners are really great too. Definitely recommended and I look forward to staying here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing