We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem”
The former manager homes of Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now self-catered Guest Houses.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The former manager homes of Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now self-catered Guest Houses.
Porching is a great way to spend an afternoon watching the world float by out front All the Guest Houses have large waterfront decks made from cedar we milled on site.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
The former manager homes of Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now self-catered Guest Houses.
Porching is a great way to spend an afternoon watching the world float by out front
All the Guest Houses have large waterfront decks made from cedar we milled on site.
Wee one bedroom Coho House is perfect for two!
Living room of three bedroom Halibut House
Deck of Halibut House
Cassiar Cannery is known for having very comfortable beds with plump mattresses and luxury linens
The sitting room in Halibut House with TV/DVD.
Three bedroom Halibut House
All the Guest Houses are well equipped with full kitchens and full sized appliances
Three bedroom Sockeye House has a nice water view from the master bedroom.
The living room of three bedroom Sockeye House is the best for lounging and looking outside
Two twin beds are the middle bedroom of three bedroom Sockeye House
Each Guest House has its own bathroom wihth
Two bedroom Steelhead House can sleep six in with a queen bed in the front and bunk beds in the back
We host a number of experiential programs at the Cassiar Cannery and this building is the event base
Cassiar Cannery - Steelhead House - porching
Did you know the Cassiar Cannery is a train stop with VIA Rail!  Book direct!!
Cassiar Cannery is the longest consecutively operated salmon cannery on the West Coast.
Cassiar Cannery - zen view towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - dawn
Cassiar Cannery - Port Edward Marina - where guests keep and launch their boats - 10 minutes away
Restored, former manager homes from Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now Guest Houses.
Prince Rupert is a gateway to Canada's first grizzly sanctuary and Haida Gwaii.  Excellent wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Prince Rupert, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sam W
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at the Cassiar Cannery in March of this year, the weather was cool but the cabin was nice and cozy. The cabins are well-appointed with stove, fridge, dishes and utensils, and if you were to knock on the door of the proprietors who live on site in a cabin of their own, they are more than happy to share different things and make sure you're comfortable. I loved sleeping so close to the ocean! It is right outside the front door, and beautiful views of the Skeena meeting the Pacific. Will definitely be back, perhaps when tourism season is over, because for me a lot of the appeal was the fact we had the whole beautiful place to ourselves! Peaceful & serene, exactly what I was hoping for! Thanks Cassiar Cannery!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivian D
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time in the middle of Port Edward natural landscape”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This August I had my second fishing trip to Beautiful British Columbia. And since first time we visited Port Edward we enjoyed our time @ Cassiar Cannery, we decided to visit them again...and it was a good decision.
This is why:
If your hobby is beautiful landscapes and great hospitality, Cassiar Cannery is your place. In the middle of nature but with easy access by car (be careful, drive slow, road has quite some shoulders), facing the channel to the ocean, clean location with all needed accommodation facilities, great barbecue next to the sea front...magic!

People there, it is a pleasure to meet them:
Justine, Mark and their young son Nicholas are there to make you feel like home. All you need is to ask them and solution is there.

We stayed in Sockeye house that is great, has a nice dining room, a nice living room on the the water front, great & comfortable beds.

Should you need some more details, feel free to write me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanlines, friendliness of owners.
Liked least: Lack of Internet & mobile phone coverage - it is the situation in the entire region, not only there.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARK_4943
Victoria
1 review
“Great oceanfront houses with beautiful views!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Amazing place to stay! I had a great time. I really liked the oceanfront houses with a great deck and amazing views of the ocean and mountains in the Skeena River estuary. Amazing to stay at this historic salmon cannery in Inverness Passage. It was really nice having a BBQ on the deck overlooking the water and a well equipped kitchen to cook my own meals. Beautiful place to watch nature right at your doorstep! It was amazing watching the eagles soar and lots of salmon jumping. The house was nice and clean and had a nice bed and bathroom.The owners are really great too. Definitely recommended and I look forward to staying here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPhi...
Norman Wells, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing little water-front cabin!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the Steelhead cabin at the Cassiar Cannery for 4 nights. Originally it was going to be 3 nights but we extended our stay as long as we could!

The drive out to the cabin was down a narrow winding road that was safe enough but a bit bumpy, so take your time! But there's no need to hurry - the road follows the scenic channel, graced by big trees and views of the ocean. We saw porcupines and bald eagles and some incredible historic sites (a cannery museum) on the way to the Cassiar cannery, which has it's own interesting history.

Justine and Mark, the owners, were so nice and helpful! They were there to help or chat if you wanted, but never invaded our privacy. And they were really interesting and fun to chat with.

The cabin had the most beautiful yellow cedar plank floors I've ever seen. Interior of the cabin was rustic, yet beautiful and had everything required! The huge deck over the water was nice to sit out on and cool off with a beer, and just watch the salmon and porpoises jump as they went by. Even had a little propane BBQ! We had friends over for a quick dinner BBQ, and had lots of room with 7 of us.

There is a train track just a few yards in front of the place, and the train comes through once or twice during the night - it was a bit loud and shook the ground a bit - but for some reason it didn't really bother us - it was never an issue. I would be a bit cautious with really young kids because of the water and the train.

All in all the place was amazing!

Phil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waterfront
Liked least: train
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is our 3rd trip to the Cannery...... Without a doubt the most gracious people welcome you and accommodate our every need.
Peaceful picturesque , unspoilt surroundings make you feel so peaceful and truly
Tranquil while taking in all the beauty.
Cabins are clean comfortable and well maintained .
All we have to do is show up and enjoy.
Oh and the fishing is GREAT .
Will without a doubt we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and accommodations
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMB000
Beaverlodge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Justine and Mark were great hosts,the Sockeye house we stayed in was everything and more than expected,we were greeted and shown around upon arrival, the house was immaculate and the beds and bedding were first class! There were games and movies for the kids, as well as a well manicured yard for space to run and play.The location of Cassiar is very quiet and quaint and you will definitely never sleep closer to the water unless you're in a boat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the house
Liked least: It was perfect
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing