We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly”
Review of Totem Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Totem Lodge Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pet friendly”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The staff were very accomodating and friendly but we had to cancel a reservation because of the number of pets at this establishment. They weren't able to supply a room that hadn't had a pet in it which won't work for someone with allergies.

However it's centrally located, easy to access, and the folks were nice. The decor is dated and the rooms a flash back to the 80's but it's priced accordingly. If a pet friendly place is for you...this may be it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked based on location, and outside pictures... and the fact this is an AAA rated hotel.. but... it was VERY rundown.. and worn, and OLD. That being said, the room itself was clean, and we stayed, and some places in Prince Rupert looked worse! But it was not what we expected.. or paid for...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trigger019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

As the others, stayed here because it is very close to the ferry (where you may come in late and have to leave quite early). Room was clean, had a nice kitchenette and the counter people were very friendly. They aren't open all night but they do stay open until reservations show up when the ferry is coming in late.

For the disabled, there are about 10 steps to get up to get to the lobby, and then a few more steps from the lobby to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler98761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Very clean, friendly establishment! The rooms are a little older, but had little kitchenettes that were great. The staff was very helpful and the location was okay, easy to get down to Cow Bay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Older hotel, but very clean and fantastically friendly staff. Pet friendly, kid friendly... we look forward to coming back. Continental breakfast - I recommend the scones :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan293926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correggio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

THe location is strategical: very closed to the port (and very suitable when you had to leave very early in the morning for the ferry) and closed to the center.
The room are very spacious and clean with also a kitchen.
Staff very courteous.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mareluna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Chose this motel to ensure quick access to the BC Ferry terminal - one must be there two hours prior to the 7:30 AM departure. This motel is located very close and that proximity accounts for a substantial volume of their business.
Greeted by friendly reception clerk (owner-manager?) and assigned a large room. Clean , comfortable and non-smoking. We were concerned about their smoking available rooms down the hall, but there were no noticeable fumes at all. Place was quiet and well managed. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Lodge Motel

Property: Totem Lodge Motel
Address: 1335 Park Ave, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totem Lodge offers comfort, quality and value. We are located only minutes from downtown Prince Rupert and from the BC and Alaska Ferry terminals. Totem Lodge features kitchenettes in most of its 31 rooms and a completely smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Totem Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing