We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Reviewed September 21, 2005

I had no expectations of this hotel having read the reviews.

Howver, we stayed for a night having arrived on the ferry from Port Hardy and have to say the rooms were much better than expected and of a very good size with all the amenities you could want.

Service was excellent at breakfast and overall we had a very pleasant experience at this hotel - I do agree it is an ugly looking building though.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan Viney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2005

We stayed here one night in August after arriving by train and leaving the next day by ferry to Vancouver Island. This place is ugly and a dump. We did not feel safe at all with all sorts of strange characters wandering the halls. The rooms were old and there was no air conditioning. The only window that we could open was the balcony sliding door which we did not feel comfortable with because of the people wandering around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2004

The Howard Johnson Highliner is an ugly sixteen-story concrete tower block that dominates the PR skyline – and that is the best thing about it, as on closer inspection it disappoints more and more. Every area of the hotel is worn and soiled, and the hotel is crying out for total refurbishment (or demolition). Amazingly, the bar and restaurant are closed every evening, even though this is the biggest hotel for two hundred miles in any direction. The hotel lacks any redeeming features, although it should be noted that it is home to PR’s only car hire office (National, who are expensive, which is not surprising given the lack of any competition) and is the terminal for the airport bus. YPR is on another island which is only accessible by ferry, and this airport bus has sole use of the ferry to Digby Island. An odd place, Prince Rupert.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC
115
Reviewed February 22, 2004

I don't want to waste too much time writing about this place. It was bad enough staying here. We were awake between 12am-4am as parties were taking place in the rooms above and beside us. We called the front desk twice to complain (we had to work the next day) but to no avail. When I went down the next morning to ask them for a discount or to let us keep our rooms until our flight left (5pm), they turned me down, saying that there was no "proof" that the partying came from within the 15-storey building. Other customers were bringing down dirty towels found in their rooms, since housekeeping hadn't gotten to them yet. Never again...

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemanagerw, Guest Relations Manager at Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: In diesem Hotel gibt es keine richtige Zimmerwahl! Einfach ein anderes Hotel buchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildWing1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutella_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 815 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $83 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, a 17 storey high-rise, has the following convenient features: Hair salon, car rentals, wireless high-speed internet access, 24 hour front desk, safety deposit boxes, automated wake-up service, guest room voice mail, complimentary newspaper, self-serve guest laundry facilities, free underground parking and pet friendly rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony with various views of the mountains and water. For your convenience our nonsmoking rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Prince Rupert whether this is your first time here or many returns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highliner Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing