We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery”
Review of Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our room (like most?) in the Crest looks out upon the bay at Prince Rupert where we have been watching a bald eagle fishing for breakfast right below our window. The hotel has great views of the harbor and cruise ship terminal, and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset last evening. The hotel is well-decorated, both public spaces and room. The bath is tiny but well equipped.

On the down side, there is no air conditioning and the temperature in our room reached nearly 80 yesterday. There is, surprisingly, no electrical outlet accessible from the desk (a very heavy piece of furniture conceals it). Fortunately we travel with a long extension cord, so we could plug in our lap-top for use and charging. Same problem with the bed: the electrical outlet is hidden behind the headboard, so a long extension cord was needed to plug in things on the night stand.

The hotel has a very nice restaurant (reviewed separately) and helpful staff. Would we stay here again? You bet!

Room Tip: The "best" rooms are on the 4th floor and on the 3rd floor on the corners, where they enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 472 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Perfectly positioned overlooking Prince Rupert harbour, the Crest Hotel delivered us an overall very good experience for our two night stay. Our room overlooked the harbour and provided wonderful views including sightings of the many bald eagles that frequent the area. The service was very good throughout our stay - front desk, housekeeping - all very friendly and efficient. When we arrived the front desk had a different (higher) rate than we had agreed but this was quickly rectified without any fuss. Our room was very well appointed, clean, comfortable and with wonderful views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our way through (to catch the 0730 AM ferry) and stayed only one night.

At arrival, the first thing that is remarkable is the very friendly staff receiving us at the front desk. We booked a room with city view, but were upgraded to a room with harbour view without extra charges. In our view, a very nice extra for this hotel, as you can easily spot bald eagles and some other small wildlife from your hotel room. On rare occasions even killer whales may appear in the harbour, but we were not able to spot them during our stay. The complimentary to use binoculars in the window are a nice little detail.

The room and bathroom are clean, both a little small for this price and kind of hotel though. Both double beds are clean and quality is very good. We were positively surprised by the presence of a large waterfall shower. Other room facilities worth mentioning: little fridge, large LED tv with complimentary movie channel and an electric fan.

However, rooms (our room) have no airconditioning. Not too comfortable at warm days at nights. Rooms were very noisy as well. We could hear every word and footstep from the people staying in the room on the floor above. Not to mention that others will be able to hear a lot from our room as well - especially since we had to get up early to catch the ferry!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnitFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

though this was a bit more expensive than others in Prince Rupert, I had a very pleasant stay.
Location is close to walking distance to shops and other food options. Watch for Eagles right out your room on the harbor side.
Beautiful views.

The restaurant has excellent food. Try the French Onion Soup!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning if its hot outside.Rooms on the east side may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brussjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This week I had the opportunity to stay at the Crest for the first time. It was a great experience. The hotel has good amenities, is well-located and is very clean. I stayed in a room on the third floor, overlooking the north harbour, with a picturesque view over the water and mountains in the distance. You could sit on the window seat and watch the bald eagles flying back and forth all day long. But as good as this property is, the staff is even better. Each person I encountered was very friendly and helpful, but two stood out particularly.
One was Nikia, who was working the front desk most times when I had a request or question to ask. He was always pleasant, even when faced with juggling multiple tasks and dealing with groups of tourists expecting immediate attention. Very professional and competent, and always having a concern for the guest's needs with a smile on his face.
The second staff member who really exceeded my expectations was Bonnie, from the Dining Room/Lounge. On the evening of my initial flight home, my coworkers and I were unable to fly home because of fog. The airline, AirCanada, was unwilling to do much of anything to help those stranded, and by the time we were able to get back to town from the airport some five hours later, there was almost nothing open and we were very hungry. My coworkers and I made our way to the Crest, hoping the kitchen would be open, but sadly, when we arrived at 11:15, the cooks had already gone home. Bonnie told us not to worry, and to get a seat. She then brought us a menu for a pizza place, and she ordered the pizzas we had chosen, for delivery to the restaurant/lounge. What other restaurant is willing to order from the competition, so that their guests can eat? This was a first for me, and truly amazing. Even more significant - there was no room at the Crest that night, so we weren't even guests at the hotel anymore. When the pizzas arrived, we paid and began to eat dinner at 11:50pm. Bonnie assured us we could take our time, even though they normally close at midnight. As the staff did their closing, we enjoyed a good meal and conversation. There was never any pressure to hurry. Bonnie and the other servers were awesome.
Thank you all at the Crest - it was a memorable stay and I hope I have an opportunity to stay there again!

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonAMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Recently stayed at the Crest in Prince Rupert and enjoyed dinner as well as breakfast in their dining room - surely one of the best dining room views in British Columbia. I had a low budget room which was perfectly adequate but looked out over the front door so was occasionally noisy. If you can, spend the extra money and get a harbour view room.

Check-in was fast and efficient. Desk staff friendly and helpful. The hotel seems to have been updated since I last stayed there and the room was nicely appointed with comfy beds and sparkling bathroom. The room needed an adequate lamp for readling and the ironing board was broken.

Room Tip: The Crest is really the only place to stay in Prince Rupert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a lovely room the first night we stayed there, then after spending the weekend in Haida Gwaii, we stayed another night, the room we had on this occasion was much less value, but more expensive, I don't understand why but it is so, still have the bill to prove it. So I can't say I was very impressed.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jacalyn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel

Address: 222 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $120 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing