We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest hotels in town.”
Review of Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the finest hotels in town.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and have always been impressed with the friendly, helpful front desk staff. On the latest stay, my room fronted on the parking lot on the main level. You can see the mountains but the foreground was not so impressive with the grille of an F-150 staring at me. The waterfront view is much nicer if you can get it.

My room was neat and tidy, although the heating seemed slow and inefficient. On windy nights I could feel the wind as well as hear it -- as if the weatherstripping on the windows was absent. On the plus side, there was a nice bay window seat bench to sit and read at with the mountains in the background.

I had requested a fridge for my room so I could store some breakfast provisions, and there was no problem fulfilling my request. 40" flat screen tv, armoire, and ultra modern bathroom with luxurious dual shower heads.

Bathroom amenities were by Aveda, loved the soap. Decent selection of TV channels.

The gym included a steam room and outdoor hot tub with a priceless view of the harbour. There was a treadmill, stairclimber(couldn't seem to work I properly), elliptical, 2 kinds of stationary bike, rowing machine, some free weights and a couple of weight machines for muscle work.

I frequented Charley's Lounge, the pub part of the restaurant, where the food was always well made. A selection of local seafoods is always part of the menu and the wait staff are very cheery.

The hotel is situated on a hill right next to the Chances Casino. There's a liquor store and Safeway market across the street. About a ten minute walk away(NW) is Cow Bay, a touristy area with some great little boutiques and restaurants/pubs.

If you fly in via The airport, the airport bus drops you off at the Highliner Hotel, a ten minute walk to this hotel, or 2 minute cab ride.

All in all, a great place to stay while in Prince Rupert.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nebulaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    158
    51
    22
    7
See reviews for
48
170
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been tastefully updated, and the only place I like to stay in Prince Rupert. The walls and doors are solid. I have stayed here many times over the years, and never had an issue with noise (important to me, as I tend to be a light sleeper). My room included a king sized bed (extremely comfortable), desk (free wireless internet), a large flatscreen tv, and a windowseat which overlooked Prince Rupert Harbour. Binoculars are provided in every room, so you can watch the ships or wildlife in the harbour. Toilletries are Aveda products. Downstairs is a lounge & restaurant which also overlook the harbour. Hotel neighbours are a fabulous museum, and a casino. The grocery store, Tim Hortons, the movie theatre and Cow Bay are all within easy walking distance. Prince Rupert can get lots of rain; fortunately, the hotel also provides umbrellas. My breakfast (1/2 grapefruit, scrambled eggs & toast) was excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbour View! The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very noisy...you can hear the showers going,bathtub jets,doors slamming..glasses and wine glasses not clean..on the good side the restaurant food was excellent and the front desk were helpful, but as a 4 star (not so sure).

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor..no sound proofing if you are down below
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The only accommodations in Prince Rupert to stay at if you want legacy class, amazing seafood and text book customer service. Being in PR on business it is a gift to have a hotel stay where you want to come back. In fact I did …..With my wife!

I stayed in a special room with a view of the Harbour & in spite of the rain it was great. The wood finishes coupled with the artwork and comfy bed is a real winner. The dinner offers are very reasonable in price but high in quality. Pick the seafood soup. And at breakfast get the granola with fruit.

Try the fitness facility and steam room to wind down a day. Otherwise there are some great walks on the waterfront in PR. The offerings of world class fishing, wilderness tours and even a museum.

Thumbs up for the Crest Hotel

Room Tip: Pick a corner room harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stay here every time I visit Rupert, that is if I can get a room. It has been difficult in the past when the ferry is departing so I would recommend booking in advance. Check in is always pleasant and quick. Rooms are awesome for northern BC, certainly on par with better hotels. The beds are superb with gorgeous comfy quilts.

In the rare occasions when it's really warm, the rooms can be extremely hot. The exercise room is well equipped with views of the harbour. The dining room or pub is a definite must. Dinners are fantastic, highly recommend the Dijon salmon or any of the seafood with prize winning views of the harbour. Breakfasts are amazing too!

If you have time, take a dip in the hot tub. It's a bit awkward to get to but it's on the deck overlooking the water. Spotting eagles is never difficult, they are as common as pigeons.

Don't forget to go for a walk into Cow Bay.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those on the water (obviously). It's always disappointing to get a room with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExhaustedTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott035, General Manager at Crest Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Crest Hotel. This past year we completed guest room renovations throughout the hotel including the addition of air conditioning to a number of rooms for those sunny Prince Rupert days we can experience from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Great service, nice rooms, extremely clean, and right on the water. The waterfront restaurant and pub have great food at a variety of prices, so everyone can enjoy. The rooms are immaculately cleaned everyday and they have been updated to include all the modern features, housed in a character hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here 4 times and loved it every time. Can not wait to go back. Make sure you use the mens bathroom in main lobby. . . the hot tub is just great position , make sure to use it. Best breakfast I have ever had, and have it every time i go is the smoked salmon north coast benny. The waterfront is amazing and the Eagles are everywhere. If you want to see an amazing amount of eagles then go in winter, Jan/Feb, the interior birds all fly to the coast to eat the fish in the winter .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHowittPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel

Property: Crest Hotel
Address: 222 First Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing