We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Rooms are small but adequate and have had fairly recent updating. They are unusually warm however, which I don't understand. Views from the restaurant are spectacular, though what is truly disappointing is that they do not serve fresh fish. The chef should be ashamed to live in a location with fresh fish available within a 15 minute walk & serve frozen fish on the menu - the prices however are fresh fishg prices. Would stay again at the Crest but will venture out for dining.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott035, General Manager at Crest Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your post, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your recent stay with us. Our menu does offer a selection of fresh local fish, we are currently featuring fresh Skeena River sockeye salmon, fresh local halibut filet, fresh local red snapper, however our king crab is frozen as we are unable to purchase fresh as the season is very short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    158
    50
    22
    7
See reviews for
49
165
21
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a night in the hotel before the Inside Passage trip. We had a room with Ocean view which was nice. The room had modern comfort and a a quiet recently refurbished bathroom. The beds however were very small and the noise insulation between rooms was not terrible. The hotel's restaurant was OK, although quiet expensive for the quality provided.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott035, General Manager at Crest Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel. I have passed your comment regarding the quality of your dining experience on to our chef and food service manager. Unfortunately your travel plans provided only 1 night in Prince Rupert as we have fantastic sport fishing, whale watching and Grizzly bear viewing opportunities, along with some world class cultural experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel lived up to it's reputation as the best in Prince Rupert. Good, friendly service and good food. We booked a superior harbour view room and was not disappointed with the view! We were a little disappointed by the size of the room which, with two Queen size beds, was a bit "cosy" and not very well designed. Unfortunately, the tea and coffee making facility took up most of the drawer space, which we needed since we were staying four nights. We therefore spent our stay virtually living out of our cases. However, the beds were extremely comfortable and provided an excellent nights sleep. This hotel is a must for a comfortable stay in Prince Rupert.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Brief... Great hotel with a good ambiente. A pity to stay only one night because of the ferry. I would book it again. Great view over the port. Nice restaurant and cool people sitting at the bar. Nice rooms big and clean. So near to Alaska, I could nt believe it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanoSwiss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a find! Service was exceeding of excellent - you must upgrade to an ocean view, you get binoculars and a window seat. Bald eagles in the tree outside and hours of watching the view. We also ate in the restaurant anditwas excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jem7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is the finest hotel in Prince Rupert, where due to the ferry-traffic a lot of over-priced but disastrous rooms in Motels and B&Bs are available. Crest Hotel is expensive, but worth the money. Choose a harbour view room, and you will get a clean and not very spacious room with a fantastic panorama-view to the harbour. You can sit on a bench o the window sill and enjoy nature. Right next to the window 4 bald eagles sit in a tree and circle the harbour. Binoculars are provided.
The restaurant is really good, but there are alternatives with more "flair".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanWilberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived at the Crest at 11.30pm after a long ferry trip. Staff were very helpful and our waiter in the bar gave us quite a few suggestions as to what we could do in Rupert the following day. The room was beautiful with great bathroom. On the second night we ate in the dining room and watched the sunset. The fish dishes we had were very well presented and cooked.We were blessed with very good weather on our first trip to Rupert and would certainly return to the Crest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel

Property: Crest Hotel
Address: 222 First Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing