We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Harbour View ever ...”
Review of Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is the finest hotel in Prince Rupert, where due to the ferry-traffic a lot of over-priced but disastrous rooms in Motels and B&Bs are available. Crest Hotel is expensive, but worth the money. Choose a harbour view room, and you will get a clean and not very spacious room with a fantastic panorama-view to the harbour. You can sit on a bench o the window sill and enjoy nature. Right next to the window 4 bald eagles sit in a tree and circle the harbour. Binoculars are provided.
The restaurant is really good, but there are alternatives with more "flair".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanWilberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 478 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived at the Crest at 11.30pm after a long ferry trip. Staff were very helpful and our waiter in the bar gave us quite a few suggestions as to what we could do in Rupert the following day. The room was beautiful with great bathroom. On the second night we ate in the dining room and watched the sunset. The fish dishes we had were very well presented and cooked.We were blessed with very good weather on our first trip to Rupert and would certainly return to the Crest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Crest Hotel is certainly not a beauty from the outside, but inside it is very nice, and the view from the restaurant is fantastic. The rooms we had where very nice with newly renovated bathrooms. When it 'only' ends up with 3 stars it's because of the paper thin walls, making it difficult to ignore the activities in the rooms nearby and above, while the hallway works as a loudspeaker. But if you have earplugs it works fine. We would have liked having a in-room refrigiator as we we lucky to have splendid weather while staying there.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jens_Anne-Grete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here overnight on our fly/drive before catching the early morning ferry south.
Staff were very helpful and the room facilities were up to the usual Canadian standard.
The bar area was very nice and we enjoyed our evening meal.
We asked for a early morning call at 5:00am to catch our ferry but we didn't need it as our room was directly above the main entrance and we were woken by people under the entrance canopy smoking, coughing (profusely) and talking at 4:00am - hence the only average score.
The hotel should stop people congregating anywhere near the front entrance to smoke!

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the main entrance where early morning 'guests' have their firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_T2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

There's not a great deal of choice in Prince Rupert, especially if you need a location close to the ferry terminal/railway station which I guess is the main reason for any tourists being in the town. Our room was fine but at £108 for just the room, we had experienced far better deals at more attractive locations. As we wanted a prompt start the next morning we decided to have breakfast in the hotel which was a mistake. Thinking the continental would ensure speed as no cooking was required, the 20 minute wait for the cereal with yoghurt option plus toast in a practically empty restaurant was very disappointing and frustrating. Overall well down in our rating of accommodation during our 33 day tour of western Canada.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here before catching the ferry the next day. Good, clean room with good amenities. Excellent restaurant on-site. However thin walls, could hear everything in the rooms beside us and internet was sooo slow I was waiting for the dial-up noise. However the front-desk management was very understanding so all in all the best hotel to stay in Prince Rupert.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Porlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

What's to be done with a 50 year old hotel whose age and architectural shortcomings are not the fault of the present management or staff? Built in the 1960's it is neither modern nor heritage.
Despite this, it may however have been one of the better offerings in Prince Rupert and this dictated our choice. Tourism does not command top priority here nor should it be otherwise. In fairness to the good folks of Prince Rupert, it is a diverse community functioning as a freight and shipping hub along with other traffic, visitors and businesses. This is a kindly way of saying Prince Rupert is a destination at the end of the road, rail, seaway rather than a tourist magnet in itself. None the less credit where credit is due, I commend those who provide comfort, enjoyment and hospitality to the visitor regardless of their reason for arriving here.
We stayed at the Crest after concluding a less than memorable trip on the Skeena train (but that's another story). The Crest receptionist offered us a free upgrade upon arrival to a junior executive suite located one level above the outdoor dinning/smoking deck but with further views to the waterfront.
We did hear conversations outside and below our room, but weather and cold kept the 'smoking' deck relatively free of traffic. In the circumstances, it was not a problem, but may be in summer or at busy times of the year. Further past the aforesaid deck and it's 'eagle feeder' lay the appealing views of waterway, islands, mountains and forests.To the other window view, we looked out across unattractive roofing and cabling and building hardware and further to a more appealing view of the harbor.
The suite was spacious and comfortable with two large rooms and a spa bath.
We appreciated the gesture. It did not have to be offered but it was a display of goodwill. thank you.
However, shortly after entering the unit, we discovered a leaking air conditioner that had dampened the carpet having leaked for some time through the day.
I phoned reception to alert them of my concern for their carpet and equipment.
The response was rapid, and a bucket was installed to catch the leaking water.
I also laid a towel on the carpet to draw the dampness. None of this represented any personal discomfort to us, but we were offered an apology from the front desk.
This deserves credit for the appropriate response. Well done staff member.
The accommodation was to serve us well over two nights, and we dined in the bar at night, where the meal was satisfactory if not memorable. This always leads my mind to privately ask myself, ' In a 50 year old hotel, what modernity or upgrades might be found in the fifty year old kitchen? Could it ever be the case that staff are hampered by the lack of facilities in such establishments?' This is a frequent unanswered question I pose in many a similar situation? Perhaps rennovations have been adopted, or kitchen facilities have matched those demands of recent times, in each case, i cannot know. Service in the bar was most adequate.
In the morning,, we heard the spa operating in the room next door. This is not to say it was disturbing to our annoyance, but it does highlight the problem spa baths can present to guests in adjoining rooms here and elsewhere.
Our stay at the Crest provided us with two appealing experiences-
The 2pm afternoon guided tour to the museum of northern BC. With an excellent guide,
and later an embarkation point to the BC ferry route to the Inside Passage.
Prince Rupert is unlikely to make Gourmet Traveller's top 100 destinations any time soon, but the Crest served as an adequate and comfortable base, and they gave us the best of what they had on offer. We thank them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designmatters2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel

Address: 222 1st Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $130 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing