We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NEVER be back”
Review of Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will NEVER be back”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I decided to try out the infamous Crest in Prince Rupert, a decision we now regret. We checked in but our room was not ready and were told it would be 1/2 an hour so we wandered next door to the casino. We came back in about 40 minutes then sat in the lobby for another 20 minutes before finaly asking the girl at the counter if it was ready... "oh yeah I forgot"... "yes it is ready"

The room was ok... nothing special, the remote barely worked and had 2 be 6" from the TV to make anything happen. There is no water pressure for showering so instead we bathed in the YELLOW water.

In the morning we woke up to the delight of finding a USED feminin hygene product in the bed we had just slept in. Upon complaint to the front desk we were offered $20 off of our stay. A fair price for possibly conracting a deadly disease or hepititis etc.

Save your money stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott035, General Manager at Crest Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are extremely disappointed and embarrassed to learn of the incidents you have described, during your recent stay with us at the Crest Hotel. These events are certainly very unacceptable and not at all in keeping with our policies and procedures. We take considerable pride in our facilities and of the standard in which our housekeeping team maintains our hotel, and in particular, our guest rooms. As well, our front desk team is empowered to use their best judgment when dealing with a guest complaint. It would appear in your case, we have failed you, terribly.

We are very apologetic and regret the events as they have occurred. We have met with both our front desk team, and housekeeping team to review our policies and procedures, and to discuss this situation with them.

We would ask that you please come down again, within the next 6 month and enjoy the hospitality the Crest Hotel is famous for.

Scott Farwell
General Manager
Crest Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    158
    51
    22
    7
See reviews for
48
170
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I haven't been here for almost 3 years. It was a long travel day. Getting to Prince Rupert can take a long time. However, I got to the hotel and it was such a wonderful experience. Hotel was very welcoming and efficient to set me up and get me a room. I went to the lounge and they had a full "Seafood Festival" menu with tons of options for seafood. I can't eat meat, other than in very small portions, but tried the calamari. This place is always top notch. The restaurant and lounge were both full. Service was really good. Great wine selection too (not just "house wine" type of restaurant. If you're coming to Prince Rupert, stay at the Crest for a Full experience!

Room Tip: You need to book in advance if you want ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

You'll be hard pressed to find anything better in Prince Rupert. Both upon my arrival and departure, the front deck was cheerful & helpful. I found my room & bath to be VERY clean. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. I know of no better place to eat, than right there at the hotel. The view is also pretty hard to beat. I only wish they offered a shuttle service to/from the Train/Ferry terminals. I've stayed here in the past and I'll do so again in the future.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank mthoodlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
321 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We arrived for a 1 night stay at 10.30pm after a lovely full day inside passage cruise from Port Hardy.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and old fashioned but very clean so we had no complaints given that we were only staying for a single night.

Breakfast was very nice and overall this is a good stopover hotel but on the night that we stayed Prince Rupert was officially closed!!!!!! There is not a lot going on in this town during the day or the night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Having completed the Skeena Train two day journey we arrived late at the hotel. We had to leave the next morning at 6am to catch the ferry for the Inside Passage trip.

If possible book a taxi prior to your arrival in PR - there is only one company in town & since all transportation seem to centre on the ferry port area and requires a car journey to the hotel. Four adults shared a taxi which amounted to $10.

Very friendly reception staff. The room was large & well equipped.

We must of had a stunning view as there were binoculars supplied in the seated bay widow however, as it was dark on our arrival & departure we missed out on the view.

In summary a very clean & comfortable room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiggoryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in Prince Rupert as part of honeymoon tour of BC. On arrival we were upgraded to a crest 1 bedroom signature suite - really big with kitchen, dinning area and massive bed. Well appointed room in general. Nice hotel with a slight wiff of the 1970s. Really good hotel bar/restaurant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Crest hotel was on our Inside Passage tour - we had one nights stay. We loved the central location. A stones' throw from the museum, the fire house, a grocery store (Safeways), a petrol pump and the marina. The streets have lovely names of known personalities - ours was just off Bill Murray street & Stiles Pl (probably named after the comedian?).
Convenient car park, good staff, large airy rooms.
Good stop on a tour.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esnivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Hotel

Property: Crest Hotel
Address: 222 First Ave W, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing