We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Beyond Expectation on Every Level ...”

Prince Rupert Adventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 19 Tours in Prince Rupert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prince Rupert Adventure Tours can show you the most stunning and magnificent displays of wildlife in and around BC’s Beautiful North Coast! Grizzly Bear Tour Our Grizzly Bear Tours in the Khutzeymateen Valley will give you a chance to see these legendary giants in their natural environment! Our goal is to provide you with a safe, pleasurable, unique wilderness experience. We conscientiously avoid altering the natural behavior of these creatures. Whale Watching Tour Come and experience the greatest show on Earth! We can show you the most stunning and magnificent displays of wildlife in and around the North Coast’s sheltered Inside Passage. You may encounter Grey whales feeding around enormous kelp beds, Humpback whales flashing their unique tails as they dive to feed, Orca whales following the migrating salmon, or porpoises playfully gliding alongside the boat. As well, you may see Stellar sea lions, Harbour seals, eagles, Blue herons, and more! North Coast whale watching is acknowledged as one of the most accessible and predictable locations to see whales. It is truly an unforgettable adventure experience of a lifetime
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Aboard this very well-designed vessel and in the hands of such an excellent, knowledgeable and environmentally sensitive crew, we enjoyed a spectacularly close-up view of a grizzly pair and then mother with cubs, with Orcas, seals and the surprise of feasting eagles 'thrown in' to complete one of the best viewing tours we have ever taken. And we are from BC so are used to a little wildlife !

Capt. Doug and his crew have created a remarkable experience that we are sharing with and not hesitating to recommend to everyone. Visit the City of Rainbows and prepare to be wowed.

2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We really appreciate your kind words. We are always happy to hear from local British Columbians that come to share in the beauty of the North and experience the Khutzeymateen Valley. Please visit us again in the "City of Rainbows".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 213 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Saw 6 grizzlies, 3 humpback whales, a multitude of eagles, and a pristine wilderness valley! The boat-based tour was guided by friendly, knowledgeable guides and the boat was comfortable and clean. Straightforward sandwich lunch was much appreciated. WELL worth the money!

Thank NorthBCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

"Amazing" is how we like to describe the Khutzeymateen Grizzly Bear excursion as well. Wildlife in its natural environment is unpredictable however the North Coast of British Columbia has some of the best opportunities that nature can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As another reviewer has said... This was a highlight of our month long visit to BC, Calgary and Jasper. The trip to the Valley of the Grizzly started slowly with only a few bears out foraging amongst the magnificent scenery, however on the return trip we saw seals and whales, then we were treated to a show of aerobatic prowess as we watched the crew feed upto 6 eagles. The eagles would swoop in from all directions to deftly retrieve tidbits from the water with their talons and then straight to the beak as they regained height. A marvellous must see cruise.

Thank Gbc262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you consider your trip to the Valley of the Grizzly as the highlight of your visit to Canada. We are extremely lucky to be able to share this magnificent adventure with visitors from around the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a high point of our recent trip to coastal British Columbia. Owner/captain Doug Davis is not just an expert boat captain and an expert on the grizzly bears in the Khutzeymateen sanctuary, he's a serious wildlife photographer who, in positioning the boat, thinks about the direction and quality of the light and the background behind the bears, as well as their reactions to the boat. All of this was important too me as a wildlife photographer. He's extremely informative, personable, and kind. And he actually designed the boat himself. It's perfect for these grizzly bear tours. We saw four adult bears and two pairs of cubs. One adult male put on quite a show for us: eating sedge, taking a dip in the bay to escape the flies, and resting on the bank. We watched another bear -- an adult female -- digging for clams. On the return trip, as we neared Prince Rupert, one of the crew "called in" (chummed, actually) several bald eagles so we could see and photograph them at close range.

This excursion was worth every penny and every minute. If I should return to Prince Rupert, I would definitely do it again.

1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are happy that your visit to the Khutzeymateen Valley was considered the high point of your vacation. We are very lucky to have this pristine wilderness in our back yard and we love to share the experience with people from around the world. Please join us again whenever you return to British Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this tour through our cruise ship and were really impressed with the fact that our captain owned and designed the boat and had experience photographing the wildlife in the Khutzmateen Valley area. The seats were comfy, the staff very accommodating and knowledgeable, and the tour got us in close to the shore in some areas where grizzlies were sloshing around near the water. At one point I was on the outdoor stern area of the boat and ended up about 100 feet from a 27 year old crotchety male grizzly, huffing around unaffected by the boatload of tourists clicking their cameras. I could hear him - you could never get this close (safely) otherwise - it was a real privilege. At another point we stopped the boat for the staff to feed bald eagles, who clearly knew it was snack time. We stood at the back of the boat and tried to get them focused in frame on the camera as they swooped around about 25 feet from us - we've never seen so many at one time!

The only small issue was that with an hour left in the trip it was announced that they were running out of water for the washrooms, and that they could be accessed on an emergency basis by asking a staff member. This didn't present much of a problem for us, but that was a bit concerning in terms of the boat's ability to handle the needs of all of its passengers. I also noticed that the bathroom trash sometimes got too full, and the sink was designed without an edge around it (like on other boats) so when water got onto the counter of the sink it dripped onto the floor. These issues were surprising to me as the boat seems fairly new.

Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D, Manager at Prince Rupert Adventure Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are extremely lucky to be able to provide the amazing experience of viewing Grizzly Bears in the "truly wild" in a safe way. Captain Doug Davis put every effort in to building a vessel that would maximize the best wildlife viewing and have the least impact on the environment. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you had a great day. We did have an unexpected shortage of water that day however we feel that our staff responded as best they could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Rupert Adventure Tours also viewed

Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
Prince Rupert, British Columbia
 

Been to Prince Rupert Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing