We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience!”
Review of Aleeda Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aleeda Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of a three month trip and will remember the Aleeda Motel for all the wrong reasons!

1. We were greeted with an empty desk despite pressing the buzzer numerous times. It turns out the motel, is not 24/7 check in but pretty much 24/7 doors open, anyone can wander in, which they did, often.

2. Like a previous reviewer, we were overcharged! We reserved a room in the motel via Booking.com which stated a cheaper price. When we queried this, we were told by the miserable woman in the stained top who finally appeared that she would make a note of the mistake and to bring it up with her colleague as they "have to honour the prices stated on Booking.com"... Not so, the next morning we spoke to the 'colleague' who we found to be rude, aggressive and dismissive regarding the over-payment. She refused to give us a partial refund as "with the prices stated on Booking, they can't make ends meet!" Maybe it's worth asking then, why they don't advertise a higher price on this website?! It would certainly have saved us a visit!

3. Poor value for $.

4. The very limited kitchenware supplied needed a second wash.

5. The broken cold water tap in the bathroom which literally snapped in two halves when we tried to use it.

6. The shower has mismatched taps and cuts in and out, often unexpectedly spraying you with hot water.

7. The dirty, stained sheets and towels.

8. The broken oven (a fire hazard as the door didn't close) and hob.

9. The motel is EXTREMELY loud at all hours. Locals have told us it has a reputation as a party place which we found to be true. Doors were banging all night and kids were constantly running up and down and crying in the corridors. Our room was by the stairs; we heard people laughing, screaming and traipsing up and down the whole time and were regularly woken.

10. Due to the discrepancy regarding payment, we felt unable to use the room cleaning service as there was no safety deposit box.

11. A call from the front desk at an odd hour as they'd dialled the wrong number.

12. The yellow tap water.

13. The grunt from the rude staff member as we left just added insult to injury.

The only positives I can think of is that it's within a half hour walk of the ferry/Via Rail terminal and that there's an Overwaite grocery store right across the street.

At this point, it might be worth noting we are backpackers and not picky in the slightest. Take our advice, safe yourself a bother and book a room elsewhere. Any place run like this deserves to go bust and quickly!

Room Tip: If you do pick this place, don't stay in 269 as it's opposite the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatEmmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The toiled bowl had several lines of urine that went all the way down to the floor. The coffee maker was horribly dirty, and the fridge besides being totally rusted was filthy, causing a major threat to anybody's health. I washed the sink of the mini kitchen and a lot of unrecognizable kind of dirty came out. The soap dish from the shower was beyond rusted. We could hardly think of sitting on the bed covers for they all look disgusting. I noticed one night that the coffee can that they serve ( not breakfast despite false advertisement) was on the floor of the staff kitchen totally open and remained open on the floor the following day along with all the trash, the towels that they will eventually put in then rooms and the dirty dishes form the staff. Ah, and they want you to wash your dishes otherwise they will charge you $10 dollars. I SHOULD have charged them form my cleaning to be able to survive such disgust.
The staff seemed friendly but with all that dirty who needs a friend?

Room Tip: stay away from this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prince Rupert hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I didnt get a fridge but it only came to 105$ cdn incl tax for 2 beds and they accept my great dane no problem no dmg deposite. Nothing special but its clean and quiet. Near stores and a Overwaitie grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_buddy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I regularly make trips to Prince Rupert for work, covering my own hotel expenses. Being in the transportation my arrival and departure times are often out of the norm, and have to maintain a flexible schedule.

I have been staying at the Aleeda in Prince Rupert for the last two years, and have always found them to have the best value for dollar, and excellent customer service.

It is a small motel in an out-of-the way town. I have always found the rooms to be clean, and some even have kitchenettes. Although I have not had any problems, some colleagues of mine staying on the back side of the motel have complained about some noise when the bar at the neighboring property closes.

The owners have always been great to deal with, and very accommodating of my weird arrival times. The desk is staffed 24 hours per day, although if needing something out of the ordinary, it is best to arrange it during normal business hours.

Some of the added bonuses I have had include:
1. Free wi-fi, although sometimes you pick up the hotel across the street better...
2. When joining a ship for a job, they have happily held my baggage for me without charge
3. When traveling, I have had documents sent to the motel and always received them at check in
4. The offer a corporate rate, or for regular travelers and Stay 5 nights, 6th night free program.

It is not the fanciest place in town, but when you compare it to the options - $150/night or more for the Crest, or around $60+tax for a clean comfortable room where I have the options to cook my own meals (and there is a grocery store right across the street). I'd choose the Aleeda any day.

Many of my shipmates and colleagues are now staying here too, finding it much better value than other properties in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed for four nights. The room was smelly and the tap water was dirty. Although the price was okay, but the comfort was missing. The cleaning crew also missed our room twice in 4 day stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in this motel whilst biding our time to catch the ferry to VI. Initial acces to the office and subsequent rooms is up a series of steps which for people carrying cases is difficult - it is not disable friendly.
The room was large with a kitchenette containing stove, frig, microwave. We had two comfy queen beds. There is a writing table and another table and chairs if you wish to cook (there is a supermarket just across the road)
It is well situated in walking distance to restaurants (weather permitting which I am reliably informed is not often in PR)
Check in was flawless and the check in person polite cheery and helpful. If you are on a budget this place is reasonably priced for the facilities it provides.
It does allow dogs witnessed by the one that barked a lot in a room near us!!!!
There is free wifi and parking and the rooms were nice and clean however there are some down sides as follows:-
1. The fan in the bathroom sounded like a helicopter taking off
2. When neighbours walked through their room we could hear thump thump on the floor
3. When the neighbour flushed their toilet or took a shower it sounded like Niagra falls - very noisey.
4 Some of the rooms across the hall were smoking and the smoke smells permiated the hallway
5. It seems the locals think that 3rd ave is a testing track for every car/motor cycle with loud exhaust and even louder stereors. It is a busy street all hours of the nights

Overall the rooms are good but the various noise issues made it uncomfortable

Room Tip: Allright for one night stopover
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Four of us & a dog stayed one night. For a change, we try to go Prince Rupert once a month & we always stay at the Aleeda. Great price & they are always very friendly with us - they love our Doberman. We always get a kitchenette. When we told them it was our anniversary, we got another discount. The motel is old, but clean & they have been upgrading the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerge07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
Prestige Prince Rupert Hotel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Highliner Plaza Hotel & Conferen...
#10 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aleeda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleeda Motel

Property: Aleeda Motel
Address: 900 3rd Ave West, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1M8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Prince Rupert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aleeda Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aleeda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aleeda Hotel Prince Rupert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing