We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prince Rupert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tides Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Prince Rupert B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights after a rail trip on the Skeena and prior to boarding the ferry to Port Hardy. Janess has only one booking at a time, you have the entire upstairs of her lovely house while breakfasts are waiting for you downstairs. Fresh baked goods in the oven and fresh coffee, juice, and fruit set on the table for you. The views out to the Bay through the tilting roof windows are exceptional. There is a computer upstairs for your use. Janess was very friendly and helpful but was usually away at work. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank60616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for The Tides Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

Janess only has one guest at a time, you have the whole of the upstairs of her lovely house. Great views over the ocean, stunning sunsets,we were lucky with the weather! and a lovely 30 minute walk into town along the water's edge.
Home-baked pastries every day for breakfast, a great start to the day. Janess was very friendly and helpful and we would love to be able to go back one day, its a long way from England!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithiml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We visited Prince Rupert in October last year and chose The Tides B&B both based on Tripadvisor reviews and on the basis that the the B&B has just one room offering a degree of privacy.

We were due to stay two nights in Rupert but were delayed arriving by 24 hours due to adverse weather. The owner, Janess, was really understanding about the delay and didn't charge us anything for the missed night which we thought was very reasonable of her.

When we did finally arrive in Rupert Janess was also kind enough to pick us up at The Crest Hotel where we'd been having lunch with friends - a perfect start to our stay.

The B&B is in a residential property on a quiet suburban street on the outskirts of Prince Rupert. The house itself is beautiful, set in nice gardens. Inside, the property is nicely decorated and guests have access to the kitchen and lounge. Janess took time to show us around the house and to make suggestions as to how we could make the most of our short time in town. The deer playing in the back garden added to the welcoming party!

We had command of the entire top floor of the house including a small landing area with a computer, internet access and plenty of local information. There is a large bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed and a luxury bathroom with a huge walk in shower and a jacuzzi bathtub. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The location is a little out of town - it took us around 15 minutes to walk to the downtown area - but a cab cost just $8 if you prefer not to walk. It is handy for the ferry terminal which was roughly the same cost by cab in the other direction.

Breakfast was served in the dining area adjacent to the kitchen and on the morning of our stay the sun was streaming in giving the house a lovely warm feel. The breakfast was simple but delicious - tomatoes and cheeses, fresh coffee and warm pastries.

Overall we would not hesitate in recommending The Tides - we had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately it was all too short and we didn't get to see much of Janess whilst we are there.

We hope to visit for longer some day!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basu122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We truly enjoyed our stay. We found our host friendly, extremely laid back and she basically gave us the run of the place. We spent our day exploring the local sites and retired to a lovely room with a huge bathroom, jetted tub and dual shower. There was a window in the room that opened completely and gave a full view of the harbour. Our breakfasts were wonderful baked goodies paired with excellent coffee, juice and fruit. The Tides Bed & Breakfast is in a great location in a quiet residential area. We stayed for a number of days and loved our experience at the B&B and in Prince Rupert, if we are out that way again, we'd love a return stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteelersNationCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed here for two nights after the long ferry ride from Port Hardy. The accommodation was simply amazing, taking up the entire 2nd floor of the home, with a spotlessly clean (and huge) bathroom complete with walk-in shower and large jacuzzi tub. Great location just a few minutes from the ferry landing and only a 5 minute drive into the town. Excellent bed. Good quality breakfast. Very attentive hostess. In short everything we look for when we travel. Enjoyed it very much and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This is an excellent bed & breakfast and possibly among the most top-quality accommodations in Prince Rupert (there are not many) in one of the best neighborhoods. You will have the entire upstairs (large bedroom with feather bed cover and pillows, large windows overlooking the harbor, very large bathroom with shower and tub, and small office space with free Internet access computer). For breakfast you'll have full access to kitchen and dining area downstairs. Janess goes to work early and leaves fresh bakeries warming in the oven for you. If you do not have a car, a call to the local taxi company will have a taxi at your doorstep within 5 minutes. Overall an excellent experience although restaurant quality was mediocre. Ask the locals for recommendations and don't follow the guidebooks on this!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed for two nights after travelling on the Skeena train from Jasper (wonderful trip on VIA train for two days with stop over in Prince George). Janess was very welcoming to her home and you are her only guests and have the top floor of the house. It has been done to an exceptionally high standard with every amenity (with the exception of tea and coffee in your room) but you have full use of the kitchen of the house for this if you wish. The bathroomis beautiful and has a double shower and vanity unit and even a jacuzzi bath tub. There is a hairdryer and even an iron and ironing board set up in a little alcove for immediate use if you require it. A computer for your use in an area just off the bedroom. The bedroom has a king bed with the best quality linen and a comfy sofa and tv area. Very nice breakfast served in the dining room and you are left to your privacy to enjoy this. We were catching the ferry to Port Hardy early and Janess kindly packed us a carry out breakfast of fruit and muffins. You couldn't find better anywhere and with a such friendly but unobtrusive host .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAN53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
1.0 mi away
Moby Dick Inn
Moby Dick Inn
#7 of 10 in Prince Rupert
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#2 of 10 in Prince Rupert
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#3 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Prince Rupert
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eagle Bluff Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2043 Graham Avenue, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 1C9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Rupert
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing