We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Host and Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pillsbury Guest House
Ranked #6 of 12 Prince Rupert B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The view from the master bedroom is breathtaking and the historic rooms are very nice. I stayed here with my girlfriend and we loved being able to stay in the first house built in Prince Rupert. The breakfast in the morning was a 3 course meal and easily the best B+B breakfast I've ever had. Plus you can get a great breakfast concert as the host serenades you with beautiful songs from Edith Piaf

Room Tip: The master bedroom has one of the best views in Prince Rupert
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very comfortable room with a newly remodeled bathroom down the hall. The house was charming. We learned of it's history from our hostess, Colleen at our gourmet breakfast and were also treated to an Edith Piaff concert by Colleen following our meal. Amassing talent! Great location - could walk almost everywhere. We had a panoramic view of the harbor from our room - just gorgeous!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossella N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Pillsbury House was the first house to be built in Prince Rupert. It is run by a woman named Colleen who has an interating background and sings Edith Piaf songs to you at breakfast. She made us a lunch to eat on the ferry as we only had time for juice, muffins and coffee in the morning. She knows all the best restaurants to send you to for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gwlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Colleen gave us a very warm welcome. She is a very good cook. The house is old and quaint but a very good contrast to the souless hotels we stayed in on our trip across Canada. We had the chance to get to know Colleen and she sang Edith Piaf songs to us at breakfast. Collen is a wonderful hostess and it was nice to learn more about Prince Rupert from her..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights while waiting for the Skeena train to Jasper.
There are steep stairs to the upstairs bedrooms.
There are 4 bedrooms, and all share the one bathroom.
While we were there, they were all full except one night, one was empty.
Sharing (although we knew this ) became a little difficult.at times.
As a heritage building it appeared cluttered, but to others this may enhance the stay.
Colleen was a superb host.
Her breakfasts developed into a commentary of the world,
and she couldn't do enough for us.
She even gave a lunch bag for the train journey when we left.
For the price we paid, this definitely is value for your money.

Room Tip: If stairs and shared bathrooms don't worry you, this is the place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We slept just one night in this beautiful and oldest house in Prince Rupert. Colleen was very kind and we enjoyed our time a lot. Thanks a lot to a wonderful woman. Everything was fantastic - food, talking to Colleen and her entertainment, beds - very nice bathroom.

We found this place on the internet - we are so happy that we met Colleen and that we were in the oldest house in town.

There is a beautiful view to the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our hostess, Colleen was wonderful on our very short stay. We arrived by the Skeena train and took a cab to Pillsbury House ($10). They parked the train for the night about 200 yards from the B&B! Our room was small, with two twin beds, and the only electrical outlet was an extension cord (this is an old property). There was a bit of noise from the north with people talking late at night. Unable to stay for breakfast, due to having to catch the ferry, Colleen was up early and provided us with a gigantic bag lunch specifically with my wife's dietary restrictions in mind (lactose and gluten intolerant). She even called the cab company when they were late to pick us up.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prussik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Rupert hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn
Pacific Inn
#5 of 10 in Prince Rupert
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle Bluff Lighthouse Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Totem Lodge Motel
Totem Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Prince Rupert
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
Tall Trees Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Prince Rupert
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Rooster Guesthouse
Black Rooster Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Prince Rupert
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crest Hotel
Crest Hotel
#1 of 10 in Prince Rupert
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillsbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillsbury Guest House

Address: 1 Pacific Pl, Prince Rupert, British Columbia V8J 3H8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince Rupert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Rupert
Price Range: $60 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pillsbury Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pillsbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing