We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOL CLOSED for months (false advertising)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“POOL CLOSED for months (false advertising)”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Sandman Signature in Prince George on two prior business trips without complaint. I was unimpressed this time. Not only is the pool still "broken" but there is a sign outside advertising Chops which doesn't exist. In my books that is false advertising on both counts since that pool has been "broken" for over six months. I learned on my first stay that the restaurant sucks, so I don't eat there. Aside from that, I was unimpressed with front desk in particular this trip.
I booked online and got a confirmation e-mail. Two days before my trip, I got a re-confirmation from Sandman reservations. I arrived at the hotel after a long day or flying and working to have the front desk tell me there was no reservation for me. I pulled up the reservation confirmation on my phone and she said maybe it was reserved at the other Sandman and proceeded to phone them even though I specifically said I reserved the Signature and I pointed to the hotel name in the confirmation e-mail. She told me the hotel name on the reservation was not their name because they are not the Sandman SIgnature Hotel & Suites. She still couldn't find the reservation and she said there were no Signature King Suites available for the night so she said she would upgrade me to the loft suite for the same price. I confirmed with her that the "upgrade" had the full kitchen just like the room I reserved and she said yes. Imagine my dismay when I discovered that the room had just a kitchenette and perhaps the worst room layout I have ever seen. A toilet on a different floor from the bed is not my idea of luxury. One closet to hang clothes - right at the door, rather than where the bed is and where one might get dressed. The room had a broken dresser handle too. I went down to the front desk to let them know I was not happy and asked to be moved. They said they could move me in the morning if I would pack and leave my bags at the front so that they could clean the room. No offer was made to reduce the room rate for the hotel's screw up - I paid $20 extra to have the full kitchen, so I'm unhappy about that. In the morning when I went to drop off my bags they told me there was a King Suite available and gave me keys so that I could go right in. This was at 7:15 in the morning - there are no housekeepers that are so good as to be able to clean a check out that early, so the only possible explanation is that the room was available and front desk just didn't try hard enough to find me what I reserved. The icing on the cake came this morning when I got an e-mail from Sandman reservations thanking me for reserving online and asking my opinion.
The experience has made me unlikely to book the Sandman again for my next trip. The rest of my experience was fine and the beds are really pretty comfortable..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    127
    50
    25
    18
See reviews for
66
73
12
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. James, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as we were in town for a wedding. Was great to have a variety of rooms ...some with kitchenettes so we could have breakfast. It's a new hotel, very nice rooms. As someone else's review said, the workmanship in the hotel is not great. Can see it not staying NEW for very long. Overall, was a modern hotel and we had a wonderful stay! Oh...pillows were too puffy too! Other then that, it was fine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

First visit to this Signature hotel and it will be my last. For the price of the room and the "Signature" status, this place sucked. The workmanship in the hotel room is awful. Gotta love the strategically placed bath mat to hide the hole on the side of the bath tub. Staff where not friendly either.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. A little overpriced for the stay. Staff seemed tired. Just the kind of people that should not be working in customer service. There were small issues with the room, just cosmetic though. Like a piece of wood ripped out of the door, a really poor caulking job on the tub. Bumps and dents in the walls of the hallways. Its just getting used a lot and not a lot of fixing being done. Pulled the lamp table back to plug in my phone and found plenty of garbage, along with a used condom wrapper. You would think that cleaning staff would pull that stuff out once in a while. Oh well another hotel, another disappointment. For the price you would think there would be some kind of continental breakfast but alas no. There is a coffee machine around the corner, grumpy morning guy grunted at me. So plan to eat breakfast out.

Room Tip: Stay at the casino across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here on December 8, and was first impressed by the friendly staff and decor.
Checked into our loft suite and found either finger or toe nail clippings in the tub and around the base of the toilet, after a late dinner was ready for bed and went to pull the top blanket down and discovered a white bodily discharge dired onto it!!! Housekeeping staff really need to start paying attention to detail and actually start cleaning the rooms!!!
Would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights- very comfortable good value for what I got. Fitness centre sparse bit functional and wifi was intermittent. Best- the bed was so comfortable. Staff was friendly. Would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sallywind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

After a delayed flight out of Vancouver I arrived in Prince George only to find that my car rental had not been made. Oh wait it had been made just budget didn't have the right paper work and the CSR at the airport was rude and made me feel unwelcome. But upon arrival at Sandman Signature the CSR Tasha treated me with respect and curtesy. She with a smile gave me the keys to my room and wished me a good nights rest. I have stayed at the coast inn and four points. But nothing beats Sandman Signature, thanks Tasha for making me feel at home.


Sincerely,
Nick from Vic

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince George hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
804 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#4 of 23 in Prince George
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#2 of 23 in Prince George
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
1.6 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Address: 2990 Recplace Dr, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 0B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, intriguing and an entirely unique concept in modern elegance, Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel offers guests an impeccable hotel experience set in the heart of beautiful Interior BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Hotel And Suites Prince George
Sandman Hotel Prince George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing