We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, exterior halls and steps, but clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera City Centre Inn
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Reviewed June 16, 2009

If you are planning to drive between Jasper and Prince Rupert, and overnight in Prince George, the Best Western City Centre is an OK place to stay.

The advantages of the hotel:
1. The hotel is right on the Yellowhead Highway. You are probably three - five minutes from the eastern edge of town - going southwest, it's a bit more as you pass through the congestion at the intersection of 16 and 97 and the College Heights commercial area.
2. The rooms are clean.
3. There is an in room refrigerator and microwave.
4. The front desk is courteous - they actually called us to see if our room was OK.
5. The hotel pillows are the best hotel pillows I've ever had - honestly. If I had not had a 650 kilometre drive ahead of me, I would have slept in a lot longer to enjoy them.
6. There appears to be free high speed internet. At least, I found a wireless network to access at no cost.

Disadvantages:
1. The physical appearance of the hotel is offputting. It appears to be stuck in the 1960's.
2. Many of the parking spots are out of eyesight of the hotel office or rooms.
3. There is no restaurant or continental breakfast. There is a Tim Horton's and a White Spot across the way, and a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, but on Sunday mornings, at least, that restaurant does not open until 8:00 am. However, as I noted there is a refrigerator in the room. So, we went to the Save On Foods supermarket two blocks away and got food for an in room breakfast.
4. The bathroom and room itself are small.
5. The room is air conditioned. The wall fan is effective but a bit noisy. I dubbed the two fan speeds as hurricane force and tropical storm force. With the fan on, outside noise will not be a problem.
6. If you have a room on the second floor, the steps are an adventure. At the east end, there is a half step at the bottom that can really mess you up if you are not careful, and the north steps on the west end have one loose step. I'd recommend you ask for a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this allocated motel for one night (mid June 08) as part of Jonview's fly drive package tour of Canada.

The rooms are the basic motel style, nothing to write home about. It looks to have been refurbished recently. It’s not the best, Best Western that we have stayed in, but it’s certainly not the worst. About average. The pool looked clean, although we didn’t use it. We did suffer from noisy neighbours until the early hours, as the walls are not that sound proof.

There is no on site restaurant and we ate dinner in the White Spot nearby, which was good. There is a De Dutch Pancake House on the site, where we had breakfast, which again was good but we couldn’t understand why there had to be a full salad on the plate, with eggs and bacon and toast !! They serve lunches but then close at 3pm.

We were a bit disappointed in Prince George as a whole, but this was just a stopover for one night, before moving on.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

old, in need of major renovations, dark rooms. no breakfast available on holidays until after 8:30 am

positive: air conditioner worked, receptionist smiled.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Agforguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2005

Great for Buisness travelers. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The new managers were very friendly and helpful, they offered free faxing and copying and their wireless internet services were also free (you can't beat that). The pool area was very clean as well was the fitness room. The hotel is about 40 years old but well worth the stay. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and convention centre is only half a block from the facility.

Stayed: December 2005
4  Thank hoosty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2005

We stayed one night in August as part a two day train trip on Via Rail's Skeena from Jasper to Prince Rupert. The rooms were small and the air conditioner (which you need in Prince George in the summer) was old and rattled loudly all night. The rooms were in desperate need of renovation. It was not an expensive room, but I would have expected a brighter and more modern hotel from Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrienblanc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danish D, Front Office Manager at Riviera City Centre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank pitcholina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince George hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#3 of 23 in Prince George
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#5 of 23 in Prince George
296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Prince George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera City Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera City Centre Inn

Address: 910 Victoria St, Prince George, British Columbia V2L 2K8, Canada (Formerly City Centre Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prince George
Price Range: $50 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera City Centre Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riviera City Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prince George
Prince George Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing