We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy with great food!”
Review of Nancy O's

Nancy O's
Ranked #1 of 233 Restaurants in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: No Minors Allowed
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trendy with great food!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nancy O's has the rustic charm of a Bistro, with absolutely wonderful food and generous portion sizes. So many great sandwiches to choose from, it's always hard to make a choice. We attended the Comedy and dinner night and the pasta was the very best we had ever had in a restaurant!!! Nancy O's is one of the few restaurants in town that I recommend to all my friends!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    112
    31
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prince George BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great place to spend an evening out. Owners are present which make for a memorable experience. Great live acts....especially the comedy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pgcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch downtown”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped in about 1pm. Order food at the bar, take a seat & they will find you. Food good. If ordering a salad, choose the large size for a lunch meal as the small size would have been a dinner side. Sandwiches were good. Service is fast. Staff friendly. This is also a pub so no minors are allowed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Look4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Prince Gastronome”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Once again Amigo’s is stuffed beyond capacity. Once again I wander the city looking for a new location. Then I remember a recommendation a friend had made, and I find Nancy O’s.

This was one of the most unusual fusion restaurants I’ve been to recently. Instead of erasing any sort of rustic charm in favor of trendy uniformity, this place oozes personality through every opening—holes most likely caused by various slivers from the copious amounts of wood. I think two redwood sequoias were sacrificed to make this place. From floors to tables to chairs, Nancy O’s features stained solid wood to the extent of rough textures and uneven corners. Although resembling a restaurant, it’s more akin to a café, as you must order from the bar…at least in the lunch service. The supper reverts to a traditional waiter staff. From taupe walls, coarse stone tiles, and brushed wood floor, Nancy O’s gives the impression of a comfortable location that can flip depending time and whim between hysterical revelry and subdued silence. Featuring occasional evening bands, the former appears the dominant trait.

The menu offers a variety of sandwiches and salads, with surprisingly few burgers to pad the selection (odd that the dinner menu lists several). Some of the selections include pulled pork, philly cheese steak, and a chicken & brie, the latter I ordered (with garlic mayo, lettuce and tomato). The side was upgraded to chilly cheese fries—and never before has two dollars been more justified. The sandwich is good, repeating my compliment of those fries. At $14 dollars, it’s good value. If there was a complaint to be had, it would be that the bun was inconsistently toasted.

Being a strange hybrid of café and restaurant, you pay in advance and wait for your meal to be delivered. There’s a tip option on the debit…that’s rather confident, having a tip option before having your meal. I tipped just in case…turns out it was deserved. The food came quickly and the experience was pleasant. My timing was convenient considering the swarm of orders that came in following me.

I was told the chili was renowned amongst the frequent patrons. I don’t know about that, but when that chili is spread over fries, it’s brilliant. The pulled pork is advertised as “slow cooked for 14 hours on a fresh Kaiser with mozzarella.” I’m fairly certain a comma is required there, otherwise that would be a might dry Kaiser.

Nancy O’s is located across from Kalo Donair, placing it nearby a variety of other places I have tried during the course of this project. This is some stiff competition, but I think Nancy O’s has a leading edge in this battle. With an open and relaxing atmosphere, original presentation, and good food, I can see their popularity only going up. I browsed the website and after reading the listing of upcoming musicians, I believe repeat patronage is fated. This is how you build a local restaurant.

Did I mention how good the chili cheese fries are? I should again.

Food: 4/5
Service: 3/5
Presentation: 5/5
Value: 5/5
Recommendation: 5/5

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“ALWAYS GREAT!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff, service, food and entertainment is always top notch. I have never seen a beer menu like that in PG. If you are visiting from out of town, make sure it is on your to do list! You wont be disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy O's also viewed

Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 
Prince George, British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia
 

Been to Nancy O's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing