We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton North Ranch Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

On an extended discovery trip, we found, through Trip Advisor, this treasure! Located a little outside Prince George (thank goodness) in rural north country, the Norton Ranch offers travelers a taste of why this part of Canada is so special. We stayed one night in the Cowboy Cabin and knew immediately that we should have stayed longer. Dagmar is the perfect host and the cabin, though the smallest, was so well thought out. We enjoyed the 2 horses who graced us with their company in the evening at our back door. The night sky was beautiful, the quiet wonderful! We opted for the breakfast in the morning, which was brought to our cabin. Dagmar thoughtfully provided enough for us to have a picnic lunch on our drive to Jasper. We have stayed in so many B&Bs but this one will be forever one of our favorites and we hope to see these wonderful people again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
56
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Norton Ranch as part of a 2 week trip aroundBritish Columbia. I admit that our expectations were possibly higher than normal (simply because of the good reports already on TA) but, when we arrived we soon realised that others had only reported on what they had found.... A great location not far from Prince George, with privacy, good clean accommodation and cinnamon rolls to die for! This welcome treat from our host Dagmar was wonderful! We had arranged for breakfast to be supplied in the mornings and, for what was a very reasonable surcharge, had a feast delivered which not only covered us for breakfast, but pretty much looked after lunch as well.

For our stay we had chosen The Old Logbarn, which is the first unit you pass as you arrive on site. It is secluded and totally private with nice views over the surrounding area. To say that it is fully equipped doesn't really cover it. We had everything from washing and drying machines to a fully equipped kitchen, DVD player, TV, CD / iPod docking station and so on... Even a selection of books and DVD's were on hand. For those who just can't disconnect from the outside world there is also free WiFi which works all over the accommodation.

We have all stayed in hotels where you get the complimentary little bar of soap. The Norton Ranch takes travellers comfort to a completely different level. We literally had a basket full of toiletries, both for him and her. So if you have forgotten anything fear not it's probably in the basket!

If you want some real peace and quiet, do yourselves a favour. Book this place, stop off on your way there, buy some steaks and wine and then relax. And if your feeling energetic, take a walk around the fields... If your lucky, a neighbouring Ranches Collie dog (Max) might keep you company!

Highly Commended accommodation, and puts many so called "top class" hotels to shame. They could all learn a lot from this place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Cowboy cabin and were delighted with the pet-friendly amenities. Our dogs were greeted with a bowl of treats, fresh water and a blanket to sit on, while we were treated to delicious cinnamon buns fresh out of the oven. The horses were waiting for us just outside our back door. The cabin was cosy and inviting.and we felt right at home. The ranch is about 20 mins from Prince George but that shouldn't faze anyone. We did have to call and confirm directions because it was getting dark and it was raining and we thought we had overshot it. It's away from the highway which means it is peaceful and relaxing. There was a hot plate in the kitchen and a small fridge-enough for our short visit. We were able to bbq and enjoy dinner outside, take a walk, admire the sunset and just have a wonderful time. Dagmar makes sure you are well taken care of. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVenutos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed one night in the Cowboy Cabin and it was absolutely beautiful and a great experience. The cabin was well equipped with a hot plate, fridge, microwave and all the necessities. There is a deck out front with a bbq and picnic table facing west to enjoy the sunset. Feeding the horses their carrots at the back door was really neat. But don't worry about the horses bothering you - they are very quiet and respectful. This location is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to relax. The cowboy cabin does not have a seating area other than the large kitchen/dining room table. The cowboy on the pillows were a nice touch and help to make you feel at home.

Dagmar is a wonderful host making sure of all the little extra details to make you feel welcome (i.e. your name on front of cabin, welcome sweet treat).

Dagmar also showed us Corral Cottage; we look forward to staying here the next time we visit, which we will. The Norton North Ranch absolutely deserves the high praises from the other reviewers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StandingOnTheBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port vila
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here only the one night on our BC tour but the cabin was super warm and cosy and very comfortable! Dagmar was our amazing host and she had prepared some delicious cinnamon buns for our arrival! The cabin was very well equipped with all necessary amenities available. We played the wonderful classical CD in the cabin whilst enjoying a fine wine on the outside deck. Dagmar's two horses roamed right next door and came to visit the back door of the cabin for a carrot or two! The ranch is very quirky with unusual artworks in the fields and some lovely walking tracks around the property. Dagmar has built an incredible outdoor pool on site which looked inviting but we opted for the much warmer hot tub!! I agree with other reviewers that you need good directions to find this place but it is well worth the trip off the beaten track. Overall a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebellePortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Except for overshooting the drive way and having to backtrack, the stay was great. Dagmar had cinnamon rolls on the table for us, and her breakfast was so plentiful and varied that we put a lot of it in our cooler and had it for lunch later that day on the road. We stayed in the Cowboy Cabin and loved the fact that the horses could come right up to the door. The ranch pool is rustic, and we were sorry we didn't have time to try it out. We did take a hike and relieve some bushes of their berries. The cabin was spotless and felt like the cowboys had just vacated. Felt like a working ranch. Dagmar also let us bring my Guinea Pigs that I was hauling to Alaska for my grandson. I would recommend using Google maps, it was the only one that recognized the address and was able to map it. Well worth the trip out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely cabin on the ranch. It was spacious, and immaculately clean. The lavish and delicious breakfast was the best we've had at any b&b. Dagmar is a magnificent chef.
The ranch is a bit difficult to find, so make sure that you get clear directions from Dagmar, as my GPS couldn't find the addrress.

Room Tip: we loved the cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince George hotels
10.6 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
805 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
10.5 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#3 of 23 in Prince George
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#4 of 23 in Prince George
551 reviews
9.8 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#2 of 23 in Prince George
284 reviews
10.7 mi away
Travelodge Prince George Goldcap BC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton North Ranch Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton North Ranch Cottages

Property: Norton North Ranch Cottages
Address: 6505 Lower Mud River Rd | Chilako, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 5C3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton North Ranch Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Class unique COTTAGE Accommodation close to town and University (UNBC) on 300 acre former cattle Ranch. Full kitchens w. DW. SAT/DVD, WiFi, BBQs, pool in summer. Cozy, ultra clean, safe and private. Weekly rates, Pet friendly. Life is better on the Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norton North Ranch Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing