We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norton North Ranch Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norton North Ranch Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I loved this gem of a place, Dagmar and William the hosts were gracious and helpful and fun. There was everything we needed in the cottage, full kitchen, utensils, pots, tea, coffee, nothing was left out, even umbrella and irons were thought of. An idyllic spot, it will be hard going back to a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshwabbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
51
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

The two of us and our little dog booked in for 2 weeks in the Cowboy Cabin "The Livery" from July 1st. Unfortunately we had to leave 2 days early due to weather nearer home. We all absolutely loved our stay, especially Wookie who got to go off-leash for the first time and made new friends of Diego and Junior, the resident dogs. Dagmar is a superb hostess and she and William made us feel very welcome. The place was very clean and well-equipped with a lot of little extras that made the visit special. We especially enjoyed the home-made cinnamon buns and wonderful "Sunday treats". The kitchenette in the Livery was fine for the two of us but might be a problem for a larger group or a family who like to prepare substantial meals. For them, the "Little Muddy" would likely be more appropriate. If you really want to spoil yourself, check out the "Old Logbarn" which has everything you could want (including a washer & dryer, full stove, and full-size fridge!). The cabins are set well apart and all give lots of privacy. The walking trails are great, whether just for peace & quiet or for exercise. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Cooking facilities will probably be the deciding factor. Read the descriptions of the cabins careful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeshasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

When I found the North Norton Ranch on Trip Advisor I was sure this was the place for me. But when I went to Dagmar's website I knew it was. I emailed her right away and she wrote me back just as fast. We booked the Corral Cottage, we had Two adults, three kids, a dog & a cat. When we pulled into the Ranch Dagmar came out and make us feel so much at home, we even had fresh pie & german beer waiting for us. I can't tell you how much we appreciated her kindness, We had a very bad experience with a hotel in another town, so this was a breath of fresh air. The cottages were clean, quiet and comfortable. We only stayed on night and didn't want to leave, next time we come here we will be staying long ! Thanks Dagmar & North Norton Ranch!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airborneswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

The week of May 2nd, I had occasion to work in Prince George. Because Norton Ranch is pet friendly, I was able to book one of their lovely cottages for myself and my dog Rosie. The amenities, privacy and beauty were all beyond expected. I was able to leave my dog at the ranch while I worked, as Dagmar included her in several walks a day with her own, Dagmar also cooked a delicious, multi-course meal for myself and guests at a very reasonable cost, which allowed me to socialize with ease. The week's experience at Norton Ranch made for my best visit to Prince George ever. Should I be required to return, I will unhesitatingly choose the Ranch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson's Hope, BC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

A fantastic little gem. Peace and tranquility only 30 minutes from all the shopping and activity in Prince George. Dagmar's attention to detail is a rare find, from our name on the door to the doggie treats. The cottage was very elegant but cozy with all the amenities you could possibly require and more. I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaSchulenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstclasscottages, Owner at Norton North Ranch Cottages, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
thank you soooo much ! fantastic photos. We love the Champagne glass on the fence post. It's proven again, we get rewarded with the nicest guests. Fritz misses Erica. Diego misses running with Isabelle. Hope to see you soon again, Warm Regards from the entire Norton Ranch lifestock :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver/UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

My father and I were only passing through and spent just one night. On our 2 week trip the accommodation, albeit unique and quirky, was by far the best and Dagmar went out of her way to look after us. We stayed in the more basic cowboy cabin and it was great, I can only imagine how fancy the Corral cottage is. A great find, especially if you like the wilderness, horses, great service and something a little different.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

we looked for a place for eight of us because of a hockey . I would along we the other 7 really recomend this place. It is so quiet the hospatality is great and they treated us like kings.They couldn't do enough for us. The rooms where very clean. The only thing that we regret is that is so far from where we live or we would be there every year just to visit as a group. We all said that it was very nice and everyone else that visit us from the team all wished they could of stayed there.Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cops1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince George hotels
10.6 mi away
Coast Inn of the North
Coast Inn of the North
#1 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
9.7 mi away
Prestige Treasure Cove
Prestige Treasure Cove
#4 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Prince George
Ramada Plaza Prince George
#3 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Riviera City Centre Inn
Riviera City Centre Inn
#2 of 23 in Prince George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
9.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Prince George
9.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Prince George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton North Ranch Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton North Ranch Cottages

Property: Norton North Ranch Cottages
Address: 6505 Lower Mud River Rd | Chilako, Prince George, British Columbia V2N 5C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Prince George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Prince George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton North Ranch Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Class unique COTTAGE Accommodation close to town and University (UNBC) on 300 acre former cattle Ranch. Full kitchens w. DW. SAT/DVD, WiFi, BBQs, pool in summer. Cozy, ultra clean, safe and private. Weekly rates, Pet friendly. Life is better on the Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Norton North Ranch Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing